The Right Opinion

Liberal Hypocrisy

By Burt Prelutsky · Nov. 12, 2012

We all know that when it comes to hypocrisy, the Left holds the copyright. For instance, take Hollywood. If there are two things that those in the entertainment industry are always ready to promote, it's public education and the sanctity of unions. In truth, however, none of them have their kids in public school. If they even thought about it, their friends and colleagues in the industry would accuse them of child abuse. Speaking of education, I found it fascinating that in a recent poll, 93% of Chicago's public school teachers rated themselves superior or excellent. This is in spite of 45% of students dropping out of high school. I bet Chicago's kids wish the teachers graded them as generously as they grade themselves

As for unions, why do you think so many movies and TV shows are shot thousands of miles away from Hollywood and Vine? The obvious answer is that they pack their bags in order to keep the costs down by shooting in Canada and in right-to-work states. But, then, even Michael Moore, who passes himself off as a proud member of the proletariat, avoids hiring union members to work on his movies, thus saving more for Moore.

Pinheads like Juan Williams, aka Barack Obama's bitch, took umbrage when Newt Gingrich suggested that food stamps provide Democrats with a convenient way to buy black votes. Liberals inevitably point out that more white people than black ones dine on the taxpayers' dime. However, the 800-pound gorilla they choose to ignore is that while 78% of the population is white and only 12% is black, the number of whites receiving the stamps is only twice as many. In other words, if the percentage of whites was equal to the percentage of blacks, instead of 46 million people dining on the taxpayers' dime, there would be close to 80 million freeloaders at the trough.

Last year, when the Democrats were trying, as usual, to raise taxes, they kept trying to embarrass Republicans by asking if they would agree to a deal if for every dollar in additional taxes, they, the Democrats, agreed to cut spending by $10. It was all a scam. For one thing, no self-respecting left-winger would ever actually agree to cut taxes. For another, a question I never heard asked is why if you cut spending, there's any reason on earth to increase taxes.

Five weeks before the presidential election, a Pennsylvania judge ruled that the state's law requiring a photo I.D. was constitutional, but that it couldn't take effect until after November 7th. Judge Robert Simpson, just possibly Homer's idiot brother, said it wouldn't allow people enough time to get the photo. I wonder how long he thinks that takes. He also didn't explain why if Pennsylvanians really cared about voting, they hadn't taken care of business long before now, knowing, as they did, that the law had been passed and might very well take effect before the election.

This boneheaded decision merely confirms my prejudice against people who get to wear their bathrobes during working hours.

Yet another recent example took place in Massachusetts, where a judge ruled that a convicted murderer was entitled to become one with his inner woman by having the state pay roughly $40,000 for a sex change operation. On Fox, perennial ditz Lis Wiehl, yet another schlemiel with a law degree, weighed in to say she agreed with the decision because to deny him the operation would be a violation of the 8th Amendment, constituting cruel and unusual punishment. Coincidentally, that pretty much describes how I feel every time I see her pontificating on The Factor.

Mitt Romney came in for a firestorm of criticism for suggesting that 47% of Americans paid no taxes and, moreover, regarded themselves as victims. By inadvertently including those who depend exclusively on Social Security, a program into which all of us have to contribute, he slightly over-estimated that number. But that doesn't contradict the fact that 58 million people receive more in benefits than they have ever paid in, and, moreover, I'll wager the ingrates regard themselves as victims of the system.

It struck me recently that this administration continues to act the role of a befuddled middleman, borrowing billions of dollars from the likes of China in order to pass it along to our sworn enemies in Egypt, Pakistan and Afghanistan. If they're going to be that casual with our money, I suggest we follow their lead and write the IRS an IOU next April 15th.

Speaking of money, two black guys in Illinois were arrested a while back for stealing $50,000 from Team Obama's slush fund.

Although I don't make it a rule to defend thieves, I think it's a gross miscarriage of justice to prosecute them. The way I see it, Willard Elam and Jessie Adams were merely taking a page out of the Obama playbook and redistributing the wealth.

Appeal_patriots_day_6
45 Comments

M Rick Timms MD in Georgia said:

The left media seems to enjoy pointing out that Obama is the first president to be re-elected with unemployment over 7%..What is so hard to understand?

Obama is also the first president to pay people to be unemployed for up to two years, (92 weeks I believe) and don't bother having to look for a real job, or go to the unemployment office to pick up the check. Have the media not made that connection yet, or would reporting that tidbit make them appear to be biased? Would not want that to happen !

And speaking of unions. Do the union electrical workers in NJ/NY have the power back on yet? Didn't think so. Next time the Alabama boys won't waste the gas driving up there to try and help.

"You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality" Ayn Rand

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 1:04 AM

India in GA replied:

"The left media seems to enjoy pointing out that Obama is the first president to be re-elected with unemployment over 7%.."

Dr. Timms, I have noticed that the very best liars and manipulators can't help but brag about their skill. Maybe they lack the moral foundation to understand that they should actually be ashamed, not proud.

So why doesn't it occur to the left media that they should be *ashamed* of 7% unemployment?

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:46 PM

Honest Abe in North Carolina replied:

Perhaps the reason Obama was elected twice was the same reason as his winning the Nobel Peace Prize. It is not for anything he has done, just what he would like for his minions to think he will do.

Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 9:11 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

' I suggest we follow their lead and write the IRS an IOU next April 15th.' Burt: the problem with this is we need enough people to do it, sort of like the original Tea Party. They can't put all of us in jail. BTW, the IRS can not impose a fine or even compel you to even show up at their office or even answer a letter. "In the case Schulz v. IRS, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan ruled:
... absent an effort to seek enforcement through a federal court, IRS summonses apply no force to taxpayers, and no consequence whatever can befall a taxpayer who refuses, ignores, or otherwise does not comply with an IRS summons until that summons is backed by a federal court order. … [A taxpayer] cannot be held in contempt, arrested, detained, or otherwise punished for refusing to comply with the original IRS summons, no matter the taxpayer's reasons, or lack of reasons for so refusing."
Wouldn't be interesting if enough of us followed the court's ruling and told the IRS to go pound sand. Their was also a similar ruling concerning the EPA. On March 21 the U.S. Supreme Court issued a major decision affirming the due process rights of property owners who are forced to deal with the Environmental Protection Agency. At issue in Sackett v. EPA was the agency’s use of so-called administrative compliance orders, which were essentially government commands not subject to judicial review. In its unanimous ruling, the Court refused to let these EPA actions skirt the constitutional requirements of due process. As Justice Antonin Scalia’s majority opinion put it, “there is no reason to think that the Clean Water Act was uniquely designed to enable the strong-arming of regulated parties into ‘voluntary compliance’ without the opportunity for judicial review.”
So if the IRS or EPA show up at your door, tell them they are trespassing and get off your property.

Sorry for such a long post, but citizens should be aware of their RIGHTS.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 1:23 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Howard, I'm with you on the IOU next April. I didn't know about the two court rulings and want to thank you for sharing that with us. More of us need to start researching some of these issues so we know what our rights are. Too long have we allowed the State and Federal governments to use administrative orders or ordinances to control our lives and our "so-called" property. Time to fight back!

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:02 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: And among those rights was the right to vote for Romney last Tuesday, but two million people who had trekked out to vote for McCain decided to stay home. May they roast in Hades!

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:42 PM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

My wife and I helped another carpenter, in Gerritsen Beach, gut his flooded ground floor. Two guys from Marlboro NJ were also helping, along with the son-in-law. Frank said his place looks like it did 40 years ago, when he first moved in. We also saw the Red Cross, Army refueler truck, con ed, verizon, disaster relief, independent contractors, etc. Neighbors helping neighbors. Sorry I'm off topic today, Burt and other Patriots.LOL

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 5:48 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Todd, No need to apologize! That is what goiod Americans do. Helping our neighbors in need has been a long tradition in this country. It's the parasites that we have no use for. Bless you and your wife for helping the gentleman with his home.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:05 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Amen.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:43 PM

India in GA replied:

Todd, we are praying for the people in your area, and helping in ways that we can. God bless you!

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:18 AM

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY said:

Burt:
It is about to get very interesting as prices of groceries begin to soar and the general cost of living rises substantially. Do not think for one moment that the moochers will be content with having to live on what they receive currently. There WILL be demands for increases in food stamps, and other subsidies to make sure living on the dole is still as easy as summertime.

I have long suggested a taxpayer revolt. I'd go further than sending an IOU, I advocate not even filling. Imagine the IRS when they find that 1/2 of the population hasn't even sent in a form?. Not sure if it would work, or even be possible, but it would be interesting.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 9:23 AM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS replied:

ooooooohhhhhhhhhhh... I like it Doktor! It would MOST certainly be interesting!

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 9:37 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

Another thing- don't pay any bills from the day before Thansgiving until after January 3. Starve the economy cash flow except essential food & fuel, purchase at POS in cash only.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 8:25 PM

India in GA replied:

Hmmm.... I WANT to obey the law, just like most people. But the folks in the federal government don't listen to my opinion regarding the amount of taxes I pay, or how my taxes get spent. It's starting to feel an awful lot like "taxation without representation", wouldn't you say?

The problem is, most people have families to protect---if they are alone in steppping out in disobedience to the law, they lose everything with no benefit to the country. How can we guarantee a relative amount of "safety in numbers"?

I wonder if a tax protest could be done state by state through state governments, even? Many of us live in states with conservative legislatures and governors. Imagine if several Secretaries of State sued the the feds on behalf of the citizens of that state. It might offer some protection for citizens who would not be paying federal taxes in protest to, say, a debt ceiling increase; or not until a flat tax is instituted.

I have some other (perfectly legal) ideas, but I wonder if it's wise to post them here.

I don't know. I know I sound like a tin-foil crazy, but I think we are charting new territory, here. Wanna know something corny? Every time I have ever voted, I have walked into my polling place grinning like a jackass because I am so proud of America and the Democratic process. I just can't help myself. But that voter registration card in my wallet doesn't seem to wield much power anymore.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:50 AM

Orf in Pennsylvania replied:

India said, " Every time I have ever voted, I have walked into my polling place grinning like a jackass because I am so proud of America and the Democratic process"

Every time I walk to the electronic voting machine I wonder who will get those binary charges that I can't see behind the glowing screen. How often have I voted for a Republican when that little electron dodges and twists to the Dumbocrat column. The voting machine in my area did exactly that until someone came and "fixed" it just before I got there. I wonder if "fixed" means to get the visual display screen to show what would satisfy me while still sending that little electron to the other column.

When we cannot trust the voting process any longer, we no longer have a republic. In Florida I just read that Rep. Allen West is still not satisfied with the partial recount that was done. Here are his reasons:

1. The voter turnout was 141 percent.
2. West was 2,000 votes ahead of the Dumbocrud at one point, then 35 minutes later he was over 2,400 votes BEHIND his opponent.
3. Officials from the Dumbcrud candidate were allowed to watch the partial recount, but West's officials were not permitted to watch.

I wonder how widespread this kind of behavior was. Why were there no recounts in several states that had very close counts? Who really won this election?

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 1:27 PM

murphelec@aol.com in Delaware replied:

The local news today reported that in 59 Philadlphia, PA voting precincts there was not one vote for Romney. Imagine that not even one of the 19,000 "voters" hit the wrong button. The newscater called it a statistical impossibility

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 3:01 PM

Cosda in PA replied:

Even a "rigged voting machine" couldn't be that good.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at 11:20 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

The Supreme Court in GorevBush2000 that the entire jurisdiction must be recounted for tany recount to be validated as accurate, or some such similar wording. Meaning that then the entire state of Florida had to be recounted not just the Miami metro,or counties, so in Allen West district, all precincts must be recounted together, & West should insist upon just that.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 8:44 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

India: They didn't know how good they had it when there was taxation without representation. It has gotten very much worse ever since the federal government has expanded and we are faced with taxation with over-representation.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:34 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Doktor: When the riots begin in America, and inevitably they will,, they will make those in Greece look like a summer picnic.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:45 PM

jblack@nctv.com in sc said:

Why do you think His Highness has ordered the DOJ to buy the prison in Illinois for $165 million??? Don't think it is for Gitmo transfers---probably see a lot of our fellow Patriots there.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:09 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

SC Jo: Does the place have tennis courts? Prison may be the safest place to be once the riots begin.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:47 PM

jblack@nctv.com in sc replied:

Jeez Burt, after reading your wonderful columns and books, I'll bet you would get put in solitary so you can't continue to 'agitate', get only bread and water a couple times a day, have a metal slab for a bed hanging from the wall with a thin pad, a paper-thin blanket and have a hole in the floor for 'necessities'. Forget a tennis court!!!! You should be so lucky if the thugs have their way.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:28 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

SC Jo: When the rioting begins, jail might be the best place to be.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:35 PM

India in GA said:

"Pinheads like Juan Williams, aka Barack Obama's bitch...."

BWAHAHAHAHAHA!!

Thanks, Burt. :)

(You must be feeling the same way I do right now. I've caught myself slipping up with an unusual amount of four-letter words lately.)

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:13 AM

jblack@nctv.com in sc replied:

Go for it India---won't correct any of the horrible problems we are going to face but it helps to relieve some stress---and we are surely going to need a LOT OF HELP in the next few years.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:18 AM

India in GA replied:

I cannot @#$*ing BELIEVE that the American people have fallen for this *&^#!!
How the *&#% did this happen?! What the #$%% are we supposed to do now? Has the whole *&#$ing country gone crazy?!

*&%$%!!

*&^$%!!

@#%#!!

Wow, that does feel better.... Thanks, SC Jo! :)

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:36 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

India: Mine had five letters.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 12:48 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

In the old Navy, there was a "What the hell!" pennant in the signal bag. It bore symbols like those in India's stress reduction comment. It would be flown by a senior officer to signal his displeasure over some bone-headed maneuver by a ship in formation. Accepting the inevitable we should hoist it and leaving it flying for the next four years.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 4:49 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

I fly the Gadsden Flag, but upside down. Around here we have quite a few people flying the Gadsden Flag or the Union Jack.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:17 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Oops that should be Navy Jack. I am so upset at the election I can't think right.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 11:20 PM

India in GA said:

"For another, a question I never heard asked is why if you cut spending, there's any reason on earth to increase taxes"

Because, for liberals, math iz veree veree hard.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 1:13 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

India: That must be it. Of course they would say it's to pay down the national debt, but they lie. The best way to do that is to lower the tax rate and do away with ObamaCare, which would free up all those investment dollars. With the inevitable increase in employment, additional taxes would be paid and they could be used to pay down the debt. But the Democrats are so dumb, they think that the way to get out of a hole is to dig a deeper one.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:38 PM

Orf in Pennsylvania said:

Where are the various tea party groups now? We need them to come together to organize a real tea party like the one suggested above -- tax freedom day on April 15. If the Fed can print all the paper money it wants, and leave IOUs in the bank, then we can send IOUs to the gummint. These should be IOUs payable in the year 2112.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 1:33 PM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Orf, I like it! Maybe then the idiots would stop using Social Security Trust funds and putting in IOU'S they can't redeem. Most people don't understand that is the major reason Social Security is in such bad shape. I still advocate that no one file income taxes next year. What a shock that would be to the idiots in Washington. However, we would still have those who haven't paid a penny in taxes filing to get a return. What a great deal if you can get it!

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 3:30 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

"Orf, I like it." It seems to me that I mentioned that notion in the article. Are some of you folks skipping the article and going straight to Comments?

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:40 PM

Orf in Pennsylvania replied:

Burt, You can't just talk the talk, you have to walk the walk. I suggest you be the tea party organizer.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 at 10:14 AM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX said:

Just what in Hell can a teacher to do keep a kid from dropping out of school, Burt??? Social work? Counseling? When, then, is he going to teach that kid to read, write, or cipher (that means "do arithmetic")???
Juan Williams, by the way, is EVERY leftist politician's "bitch."

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 3:41 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

David: Juan is, but he spends nearly all his time defending Obama.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:42 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN said:

According to a very quick internet search, there are approximately 150 Million registered voters out of 208 Million eligible voters, or 72%. According to PuffingtonHost, Obama received 61 Million to Romney's 58 Million. Quick math: 119 Million voted out of 150 Million registered: 79% 119 Million voting out of 208 eligible: 57% So 28% of eligible voters chose not to register, and 43% of eligible voters chose not to participate. Sorry state of affairs for something as momentous as a clear-choice election about the direction of the country. They're not even voting present. The actual percentage is probably higher, because of the illegal aliens and dead pets in Chicago and Philly doing the jobs some Americans won't do.

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 3:53 PM

M Rick Timms MD in Georgia said:

Do you think it would have been possible for a man named "Hiroshito Gitler"
to be elected president in the middle of WWII, with all of his critical personal record s sealed from view. Unbelievable. And Americans have now elected such a man -- Twice!!

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 6:47 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Doc: And what's more, there are millions of Americans who are proud of it.

Burt

Monday, November 12, 2012 at 7:45 PM

Ed in Boulder City said:

Burt:
Writing the IRS and IOU is too mild. It's time for a revolution! A national governors convention should be held wherein it is declared that henceforth all laws and regulations poring out of Washington will be ignored.

Obama was “elected” by voter fraud once again. As M. P. Leahy recently wrote, Romney “lost” by only 333,908 votes in four key swing states. If Romney had the guts, he should have asked for a recount and thus uncovered all the fraudulent votes in the precincts with over 100 % turnout.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012 at 4:37 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Ed: When the same cheaters who counted are doing the recounting, I wouldn't expect different results.

Burt

Wednesday, November 14, 2012 at 2:25 AM

Honest Abe in North Carolina said:

Obama's second election to the Presidency reminds me of the joke about Hitler surviving WWII. When begged by his henchmen to return to a destroyed Germany and lead the Reich to victory, he replies, "Ja, but this time no more Mr. Nice Guy!"

Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 9:15 PM