The Right Opinion

Make the Democrats Own the Obama Economy

By Ann Coulter · Nov. 29, 2012

One bright spot of Barack Obama's re-election was knowing that unemployment rates were about to soar for the precise groups that voted for him – young people, unskilled workers and single women with degrees in gender studies. But now the Democrats are sullying my silver lining by forcing Republicans to block an utterly pointless tax-raising scheme in order to blame the coming economic Armageddon on them.

Democrats are proposing to reinstate the Bush tax cuts for everyone … except “the rich.” (Why do only tax cuts come with an expiration date? Why not tax increases? Why not Obamacare? How about New York City's “temporary” rent control measures intended for veterans returning from World War II?)

Raising taxes only on the top 2 percent of income earners will do nothing to reduce the deficit. There's not enough money there – even assuming, contrary to all known history, that the top 2 percent won't find ways to reduce their taxable income or that the imaginary increased government revenue would be applied to deficit reduction, anyway.

Apart from Obamacare, it's difficult to think of a more effective method of destroying jobs than raising taxes on “the rich.” This isn't a wealth tax on useless gigolos like John Kerry – it's an income tax on people who are currently engaged in some profitable enterprise. Their business profits, which could have been used to hire more employees, will instead be used to pay the government.

But Republicans are over a barrel. Unless Republicans and Democrats reach an agreement, the Bush tax cuts expire at the end of the year. By pushing to extend the tax cuts for everyone except “the rich,” Democrats get to look like champions of middle class tax cuts and Republicans can be portrayed as caring only about the rich.

And when the economy tanks, the Non-Fox Media will blame Republicans.

The economy will tank because, as you will recall, Obama is still president. Government rules, regulations, restrictions, forms and inspections are about to drown the productive sector. Obamacare is descending on job creators like a fly swatter on a gnat. Obama has already managed to produce the only “recovery” that is worse than the preceding recession since the Great Depression. And he says, “You ain't seen nothing yet.”

The coming economic collapse is written in the stars, but if Republicans “obstruct” the Democrats by blocking tax hikes on top income earners, they're going to take 100 percent of the blame for the Obama economy.

You think not? The Non-Fox Media managed to persuade a majority of voters that the last four years of jobless misery was George W. Bush's fault, having nothing whatsoever to do with Obama.

The media have also managed to brand Republicans as the party of the rich, even as eight of the 10 richest counties voted for Obama. And that doesn't include pockets of vast wealth in cities – Nob Hill in San Francisco, the North Shore of Chicago, the Upper East Side of Manhattan and the Back Bay of Boston – whose residents invariably vote like welfare recipients. Seven of the 10 richest senators are Democrats. The very richest is the useless gigolo.

Republicans have a PR problem, not an economic theory problem. That doesn't mean they should cave on everything, but seeming to fight for “tax cuts for the rich” is a little close to the bone, no matter how tremendously counterproductive such taxes are.

Yes, conservatives can try harder to get the truth out, but as UCLA political science professor Tim Groseclose has shown, media bias already costs Republicans about 8 to 10 points in elections. Try arguing a year from now that Republicans' refusal to agree to tax hikes on the top 2 percent of income earners – resulting in an expiration of all the Bush tax cuts – had nothing to do with the inevitable economic disaster.

Republicans have got to make Obama own the economy.

They should spend from now until the end of the congressional calendar reading aloud from Thomas Sowell, Richard Epstein, John Lott and Milton Friedman and explaining why Obama's high tax, massive regulation agenda spells doom for the nation.

Then some Republicans can say: We think this is a bad idea, but Obama won the election and the media are poised to blame us for whatever happens next, so let's give his plan a whirl and see how the country likes it.

Republicans need to get absolute, 100 percent intellectual clarity on who bears responsibility for the next big recession. It is more important to win back the Senate in two years than it is to save the Democrats from their own idiotic tax plan. Unless Republicans give them an out, Democrats won't be able to hide from what they've done.

Even Democrats might back away from that deal.

COPYRIGHT 2012 ANN COULTER DISTRIBUTED BY UNIVERSAL UCLICK

Appeal_patriots_day_2

View all comments

38 Comments

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

The Blind Sheep 4 SOCIALISM do not see the impending DOOM, Ann, they need to be SHOWN. Here's what LIBTARDS believe; the grass is orange, one plus one equals three, WJC should be on Mount Rushmore, the Constitution was written by racist old caucasions, and Jeremiah Wright is a legitimate Man OF GOD!!! Holy Spirit---sic 'em!!! Rev. Schambach-Tyler TX.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 6:27 AM

The American in Columbus, Ohio said:

Right on, Ann!

Until the masses see and feel the next recession with their own wallets, Republicans, even those well-meaning enough to explain to those useful idiots what's going to happen, they don't stand a chance.

It's much like trying to shake someone up from a deep sleep . . . they don't have any notion that their savior has done something terribly wrong. They don't understand the words coming at them. Now, regarding the first workers out the door, which will likely be those same slobs who voted to keep Obama in office, I think it's only fair that employers check the bumpers on the cars in the parking lot. Those with the "O's" goes!

Back to the deep sleep. Republicans everywhere are having nightmares and no one can wake them up, not for four years, anyway. Therefore, since we, as Conservatives, must simply understand that Obama's economy will tank hard next year and there's not a damned thing we can do about it, so just hunker down and try to stay out of the way.

Remember, Obama said, "We won, you lost, so deal with it!" Obama's people have spoken, they will not listen to reason or even try to understand the math, so I think that Republicans should take a bow, back off, and let the shit storm happen. This is the only way Conservatives can keep clean. There truly is nothing we can do until this administration is gone, so we should simply allow the Left to find out the hard way what happens.

Remember! Hire Right, Fire Left! Sounds like a bumper sticker!

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 8:41 AM

Dave in SoCal said:

Absolutely. I am with Arnold Ahlert. The Republicans should show up in Congress every day and vote present. Nothing more. If they have the opportunity to try to educate the masses by reading a bit of wisdom from those you mention, so much the better, but I think it will fall on deaf ears.

Give the socialists every last bit of what they want. Those on the left are like a raging alcoholic, and the only way we will turn the direction around is after we've reached rock bottom.

Dave

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 8:57 AM

Ct-Tom in NC replied:

Will someone please send this idea to the congressional republicans? They seem to be the only "conservatives" in the country not aware of it.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 12:13 AM

JJStryder in Realville said:

I'm just looking around for the right redoubt to defend when all the goodies run out. Republicans are gutless, democrats are suicidal and most of the country is clueless.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 10:37 AM

Orf in Pittsburgh said:

I agree with Ann and all the rest of those commenting here. But besides voting present in Congress, the Republicans should start doing something else too. The mainslime media is their worst enemy. Whatever the GOP tries to explain will be ignored or distorted by the non-Fox media. The GOP should be going after the FCC for allowing the media to be the propaganda arm for the Obozo administration. If they do not succeed with getting out their message, the propaganda media will still find a way to blame the coming disaster on Republicans. Otherwise we can expect America to be under communist rule for a very long time. Even Pravda has reported that Obozo is a communist carrying out the Communist Manifesto without using that name.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 10:42 AM

Gregory in Yakima Wa. said:

At least Ms. Coulter admits she sees rising unemployment as good news. Unfortunately the model figure for Cruella DeVille has this terrible news to astound her evil hopes. Choke on this Ann: This from today's news "LOS ANGELES — After nearly five years of brutal economic decline, government retrenchment and a widespread loss of confidence in its future, California is showing the first signs of a rebound. There is evidence of job growth, economic stability, a resurgent housing market and rising spirits in a state that was among the worst hit by the recession."

"The index of pending home resales climbed 5.2 percent, exceeding the highest estimate in a Bloomberg survey of economists, to 104.8 after a revised 0.4 percent gain in September, figures from the National Association of Realtors showed today in Washington. The median forecast in the Bloomberg survey called for a 1 percent gain."

"Gross domestic product grew at a 2.7 percent annual rate, up from a 2 percent prior estimate, revised figures from the Commerce Department showed today in Washington. The median forecast of 82 economists surveyed by Bloomberg called for a 2.8 percent gain. "

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 11:58 AM

Joe in Texas replied:

Greg,

Your main problem is that you read/watch LA news and call it as such. It's propaganda.

I saw a report just yesterday that new housing sales were down more than 5% last month. Housing comeback? Really? Even if the housing market rebounds 10% in CA alone, it's still terrible news...being that it's down more than 50% since 2008.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:33 PM

JAC in Texas replied:

Just wait until the new tax increases the Californians voted themselves kick in. Then, we'll find out about any recovery.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:41 PM

Dave in SoCal replied:

Yes, wait until the CA tax increases kick in. Or should I say higher rates? I suspect that many will manage their taxable income to stay below the thresholds where higher rates kick in, thus denying Jerry and the rest of the looney's in Sacramento any additional funds.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 5:42 PM

Ed in California replied:

Easy now, Sacramento itself votes to the right, Jerry and the loonies have invaded from the south. They wish they could move the Capitol, but I don't think even with all the low life deomocrat support that Californians would go for it. I wish we could split the state, a north/south thing, but that can't happen because the southstate needs the taxes from the north to continue to support the largest single welfare recipient region in the world.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 10:34 AM

Ed in California replied:

Gregory... That good news you tout is not>>> HOme sales are for existng, not new, and the independant first time, single family buer is being pushed out by inveastment firms by group lots from realty groups. That one percent blip is going to fade next year when the taxes take effect from Oslam ya " care and the stupid tax increases that liberal morons have enacted upon themselves. The big problem is that there are so many more persons taht dont have a stake in the process than those that do and the socialist goodies are going to contniue to burden the state into deeper ecconomic disaster. Enjoy the show... I'm prepared, are you?

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 10:26 AM

pete in CA replied:

Greg, if you actually believe things are so rosy down here why don't you relo? Just because shoe hollywierd multi-millionaire over pays for a few mcmansions doesn't change how the rest of us are living.

Tuesday, December 4, 2012 at 1:10 PM

Libertas in People's Republic of Minnesota said:

Ann, once again you're right but I have no faith (that's zero, zilch, none whatsoever) in the Republican leaders to do the smart thing. They may start out on the smart path, but they will buckle (as they always do) and end up doing "the right thing" again, which is actually the wrong thing and will get stuck with the blame - again.

With the losses they've just been handed, they are in no position to waver or dawdle. But they will The media and a large chunk of public opinion is already against them. This is no time at all to "go along to get along" But they all seem to be perpetual losers, perfectly willing to look chagrined and keep collecting their checks and bennies while the country goes to ruin. They've got to go!

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:00 PM

Amy in Denison TX said:

I think that ALL conservatives should just vote "Present" on what-ever the Dems bring. The sooner we hit bottom, the sooner liberals will wake up and understand that you can't keep living high on the hog with no money in the bank. I personally would just rather splat at the bottom and pick our country back up and start again than hit every rock and break every bone on the way to hitting bottom. I may be wrong, but until the disillusioned are enlightened and have no one else to blame but themselves, we will just keep falling...

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:16 PM

JAC in Texas said:

I agree--go ahead and raise the taxes on the "rich." When everyone sees how useless this move is, they won't be able to blame the Republicans. Of course, this assumes the idiots who voted Obozo an extension of his "blame Bush" methods are intelligent enough to get it. Unfortunately, they will believe whatever the media says to deflect blame from our lord and savior, Obozo.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:22 PM

Doug Perdew in Tumbler Ridge B.C. Canada said:

Right on Ann the the GOP has been falling into the trap for the last 78 years that I can remember !

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 1:38 PM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

Unfortunately, you can't fix stupid! Even if the Republicans go along with Odumbo and everthing fails there will be people in the lamestream media and the electorate that will somehow find its all the Repubs fault. Blind leading the blind nevers sees the truth. Pun intended!

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 2:11 PM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA replied:

It will be Bushs fault.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 2:33 PM

Kristina Nagin in Yorba Linda, CA replied:

That would be you!

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 8:06 PM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA said:

Give the pukes all the rope they need to hang themselves. Maybe the Republicans should just refraim from voting at all and let the Socialist have their way. I think the result of that policy would make CW one look like a warm up.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 2:32 PM

JHenry in NYSS, USSA said:

Vote present, let the leftists run out of money all on their own.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 3:16 PM

Brent in Portland said:

Ann is one of the reasons the conservative message generally falls on deaf ears. Starting out with the premise that unemployment rates going up is a good thing because it makes Obama look bad demonstrates this complete us or them mentality. Meanwhile the majority of America suffers in the middle of two arguing morons. Let's step back and let it burn...REALLY??? Just gonna take your ball and go home? Let's further polarize America with more idiocy.

The sooner conservatives start behaving like CLASSICAL LIBERALS and take BACK the word liberal, and lose hot air buffoons like Ann Coulter the better. She creates nothing but contention, and eats up the commotion she stirs up..and people keep buying into her crap. Wrapped up and polished crap with some conservative logic is STILL crap. You can't polish a turd.

So I suggest that Republicans in Congress do their jobs and try as best they can to protect the Republic from the socialists and NEVER back down...to include calling out members in their own party that espouse the idiotic principles that socialism espouses. And then they need to quit letting people like Ann Coulter become the voice of "logic" and freedom. She just needs to go away.

While this article is entertaining, is it written by a complete imbecile; and what she proposes is completely destructive to the Nation, to our foundation, and to liberty.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 5:12 PM

Ed in California replied:

I would say Brent that you calling Ms Coulter names in the process of trying to make your non- point proves your individual imbecility. Enjoy your convoluted existence and stay in Oregon, where you make no difference to the rest of us that make this country run.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 10:44 AM

Brent in Portland said:

OH...and to all those that are actually buying into Ann's emotional tirade, pull your heads out of the air she is polluting and start using them. We gain NOTHING by giving up the playground to the socialist bullies. While it may make sense to pat ourselves on the back and justify ourselves for being gutless in the face of a fight, EVERYONE will pay, including those disillusioned fools that voted for socialism in the first place. But is it really worth the price to be able to say,"I told you so?"

We aren't in grade school anymore, and this ploy has a huge price tag.

Thursday, November 29, 2012 at 5:20 PM

Dave in SoCal replied:

Brent, I think you are mistaken. No matter the outcome of the fiscal cliff discussions, the media will ensure the Republicans get the full blame for the result. No matter the outcome, there will still be a significant percentage of the American public who will buy into that tripe and believe that their personal economic salvation lies in more "fairness" thru redistribution and that the FEDGOV should be there to insure them against any and all possible bad outcomes in their lives.

In the end, we will not accomplish a change in direction. Rather, the best the Republicans can hope for is to act as a brake on our decline. Each year that our economy sinks a little further, the media will blame the Republicans. "If only the Republicans would allow us to spend more, to tax more, we could turn the economy around" will be the refrain. It will be presented as though we are talking about two diametrically opposed actions, when in fact we are only talking about a matter of degrees, as in a $1T deficit vs. a $0.97T deficit.

As much pain as I know this will cause, I think the only way out is to give the Democrats EVERYTHING they want. Let the people experience the full affect of those policies while taking away any opportunity for the media to place the blame on the Republicans. ALL of the policy decisions will be Democrat policies. The decline will be much steeper, but the point time at which we can turn this ship around and start moving in a positive direction will come much earlier as well.

Only then can we turn around the hearts and minds of so many of our fellow citizens who have been deluded into believing that the way to growth is to take more from those that have earned it.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 9:58 AM