The Right Opinion

Beware Large Groups of People

By Burt Prelutsky · Jan. 3, 2013

I have known a great many terrific individuals in the course of my 72 years. Some of them have been teachers, some have even been lawyers. But once you stick people in a group, my advice is to watch your back and hang on to your wallet.

Take the United Nations. Please, as Henny Youngman used to say about Mrs. Youngman. As you probably know by now, the U.N. recently voted to grant the Palestinians non-member state status. In reality, it doesn't mean much. But in this world, perception, more often than not, trumps reality. It so happens that the United States opposed the measure. But in spite of getting a great deal of money from us taxpayers, the Palestinians ignored our wishes. What's more, there were only eight nations that supported our position: Canada, Israel, the Czech Republic, Panama, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palou. There were 41 nations that abstained, who simply couldn't bring themselves to choose between what we wanted and what the blankety-blank Palestinians demanded. Among them were many of those we had presumed to be our allies: Australia, Germany, Poland, South Korea and the United Kingdom.

The Palestinians, who are good for nothing but making trouble, garnered 139 votes.

If someone can please explain why we continue to literally house the U.N. and pay at least 25% of its expenses, I'd appreciate a call.

Another large group of ne'er-do-wells are to be found in the liberal arts faculties of colleges and universities. They're the self-righteous numbskulls who regard themselves as elitists for no other reason than that they managed to survive endless years of boring lectures.

A recent study confirmed what most of us already assumed: those with the most education have the least exposure to those holding conflicting opinions.

It's no secret that these academic boobs hold themselves in extremely high regard and hold those who don't see eye-to-eye with them in contempt. But what does an advanced degree actually amount to? What does a PhD in French literature of the 19th century or ancient Chinese ceramics actually prepare you for beyond parroting what you've been taught to those who have an equally narrow field of interest and, of course, boring the pants off the other guests at dinner parties?

These are the same louts who are always yakking about diversity on the college campus, by which they merely mean a diversity of pigmentation, the very difference that the rest of us are supposed to ignore. When it comes to real diversity, even when it's merely opinions voiced by students in their classroom, they are about as open-minded as Cotton Mather and Chris Matthews.

Consider, if you will, the political contributions of Ivy League professors. Between the eight schools, $1,211,267 was donated to Obama, $114,166 to Romney. At Brown, 129 faculty members kicked in to re-elect Obama, only one contributed to Romney. At Columbia, the score was 652 -21. At Harvard, 555-30.

Another group the world could well do without are politicians. The other day, the County Board of Supervisors informed my wife and me that in 2013, we would be charged a fee of $54 for clean water. The notice invited responses. I sent them the following:

“Between taxes and fees, as if there's a difference, you folks are bleeding us dry. And by you folks, I'm referring to the whole over-paid, over-pensioned, gang that includes supervisors, councilmen, mayors, assemblymen, state senators, governors, congressmen and senators.

"We once had a revolution over taxation without representation. The next one will be set off by taxation with over-representation.

"The Department of Water and Power is already charging us an arm, a leg and a kidney. What's next, an additional tax for air?

"It's time you guys learned to tighten your belts instead of our nooses. Our weather is good, but it's not that good.

"Is it any wonder that people are leaving California by the tens of thousands? Keep it up and soon the only residents will be those who depend on federal and state handouts to survive; namely, illegal aliens and you politicians. Sincerely, Burt Prelutsky.”

Generally, when people refer to human creativity, they're talking about inventions and works of art. But I recently discovered that it can manifest itself even when it comes to committing suicide. The chances are that most of us, if asked to make a list of means, would start scratching our heads after gunshot, pills, gas, rope, poison and leaping off bridges and tall buildings. But it seems that people have actually done themselves in by swallowing spiders; drilling into their own noggins; sticking hot pokers down their throats; injecting peanut butter into their veins; crushing their necks in vises; choking on underwear; and hurling themselves into vats of beer.

A few of those things smack of fraternity hazings that simply got out of hand, especially those involving spiders, underwear and beer. But even in my darkest hour, I can't imagine contemplating swallowing that red hot poker and not deciding to keep on living, even under Obama.

Finally, some guy took exception to my suggestion that with America as polarized as it is between those who favor big government and those who are sane, the only rational solution is secession.

He wrote to say that divorce is no answer. I wrote back to say that divorce, while sometimes tragic, can often be the only civilized way to right an unfortunate wrong.

After all, I concluded, people, especially young people, are far likelier to marry for a really dumb reason than they are to divorce for an equally stupid one.

Appeal_patriots_day_1
27 Comments

WTD in AZ said:

The fact that we continue to harbor that bloated, ineffective, expensive conglomeration of unfriendly, self-serving countries and individuals called the UN is somehow related to the fact that after 4 years of a demonstrably disastrous regime here, we're now saddled with more of the same.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 12:31 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

WTD: No question about it, insanity is contagious.

Burt

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:40 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

"If someone can please explain why we continue to literally house the U.N. and pay at least 25% of its expenses, I'd appreciate a call."
Burt, it is simple, many of the crooks and/or mental midgets in Washington are CFR members. So what better to push the New World Order than the Ultimate Foreign Entanglement. A list of who's who in Washington reads like a list of CFR members includes Kissinger, Gingrich, Cheney, Bush the elder, George Schultz, Elliot Abrams, Haley Barbour, Erskine Bowles, Clinton, Ruth Ginsburg, Teddy Kennedy, etc. to name a few. Notice it is Democraps and RINO's. And if you think they are of no concern, who do you think is pushing Agenda 21? Even here in Wyoming the City of Cheyenne adopted Agenda 21 through their building code. It hasn't affected me yet as we are in the county.

Burt you nailed it on liberal college professors. Other than Engineering, medicine, physics, chemistry, etc. what use is college. I may be a little biased here as I am an Engineer and my daughter is a DVM (for those that went to govmint skools that is a Vet, oops better keep it simple animal doctor).

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:38 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: I don't fear a group that includes both Gingrich and Ginsberg. Those two couldn't agree about what day it is. As for the U.N., we are no closer to a one-world government now than we were when that other inane organization, the League of Nations, was around. The idea that Russia, the U.S., China and the Muslim nations, could even agree about what to have for lunch is beyond belief.

As for colleges, until they get rid of those first four years, nothing will improve. After high school, people should go directly to trade schools, whether they wish to pursue a career as a mechanic, a plumber, a lawyer, a doctor or an engineer. The way things are set up now, those first four years do nothing but impoverish parents, put students in debts and waste everyone's time, simply in order to fill the pockets of administrators and under-worked, overpaid professors.

Burt

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:48 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt if you had to live under the Agenda 21 building codes you would fear the CFR. It pretty much does away with the concept of private property. And then there are the smart meters they are pushing.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 2:03 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Howard, I'm convinced that we really don't own our property. When you take into account the number of ordinances that require you to get a permit to do anything on your own property you don't really own anything. When government can comdemn your property for public or private use your really don't own it you just pay for the priviledge of living there. Government at its finest!

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 7:03 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Old Sarge, as far as I am concerned building codes violate the Fourth Amendment. If a building inspector shows up at your door ask for his search warrant signed by a judge. A women business owner did this to an OSHA inspector a few years after OSHA was formed. The case went to the Supremes. They ruled OSHA needs a warrant.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:12 AM

Cooneye in North Carolina replied:

If the governments that run (ruin) our lives, Fedral, State, County, City, Town, etc.) could figure out a way to put a meter on our noses we would be paying for every breath we take.

I had doubts about posting this in fear of some government official would start figuring out how to accomplish this..

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 8:27 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

also, to indoctrinate the feeble minded to embrace the marxist ideology.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:27 AM

tdrag in South Carolina said:

I once heard an African despot make a statement about the UN. He said that he liked the UN because he could appoint his biggest political enemies to the UN and he didn't have to worry about them ever coming home and he didn't have to have them murdered. I think that sums up the UN nicely.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 9:30 AM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS said:

Another great article Burt! I too can't contemplate putting a hot poker down my throat or trying to hurt myself - even with these trying times. Yet.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 9:44 AM

JJStryder in Realville said:

Burt:
In the restaurant business their is an axiom "the intelligence of a group drops in direct proportion to the number in the group'. That is why most restaurants charge an automatic gratuity for large groups. Ann Coulters' book "Demonic" is a case study in the dangers group think. Think French Revolution and the Democrat party.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:17 AM

Robert in NEW Mexico said:

We host the UN because, as the saying goes, you should keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:22 AM

Brian in Newport News replied:

Sorry Robert. Posted my comment before reading to the bottom. Beat me to the punch you did.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:38 AM

JJStryder in Realville replied:

Unfortunetly, the U.N. representaives aren't the enemy, only the mouth pieces. Why can't we listen to our enemies lie in say Sri Lanka not at the Trylon and Perisphere.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:52 AM

Brian in Newport News said:

Here is one thought from centuries ago: "Keep your friends close, and your enemies closer." What better way to keep an eye on enemies & friends than to have the UN as a neighbor?

That is the only reason I can think of to keep that useless political body here in the US.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:34 AM

p3orion in Midland, Georgia said:

Burt, what are you still doing in California? You have to know you would be roundly welcomed in the more conservative areas.

Our nation is more politically divided these days that it was a century and a half ago during the Civil War. I believe the only reason that secession has not already taken place it because we are so much more thoroughly mixed geographically.

But we are a much more mobile society than we were in the 19th Century; all it takes is the will to pick up and relocate to an area more suited to one's own political leanings. Once the populations of the red states reach a critical mass of conservatives, we can let California, New York, Illinois and Massachusetts go their own way and try to get along without us.

You, Burt, could set the example! Pull a domestic "Girard Depardieu" and renounce your California citizenship. We'd love to have you.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:50 AM

rab in jo,mo replied:

p3orion, I agree and am one of those willing to relocate. If the Texans ever decide they've had enough, my family and I will follow the Crockett Plan ("the hell with you all, I'm going to Texas!"). If it ever comes down to it, though, I expect Oklahoma to follow Texas' lead (not wanting to be outdone by their neighbors). This would be preferable to me, as the OK border is only 8 miles away. This part of Missouri would probably join with OK anyway.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:33 AM

Tony in Texas replied:

Rab, I wouldn't be suprised that by 2016 Texas will be a blue state. The takers are coming for the current conditions and I see changes daily. Being a border state there's not much hope.
Oklahoma looks better to me.
A older friend was telling me the other day he used to live in a border town that was the largest producer of onions in the world. Eventualy, the workers went to the farm owner and said they wanted to be paid in cash or they would stay home under air condition and watch TV all day. That town is now known as 70% of the people is drug sales (onion farm was shut down).

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:18 PM

wjm in Colorado said:

Burt,
You may have made a mistake in your reply, giving them the idea of taxing air. Your next notice might be a fee for air quality services! Never underestimate the idiocy of the marxists......

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:31 AM

rab in jo,mo replied:

Yep, those are the same people that tried to impose a tax on satellites that transit over California airspace.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:35 AM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

I feel sorry for my grandchildren unless they all move to Texas. At 75, I am starting to think that old people don;t die of old age, they die of disgust for the state of this once great country.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:55 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN said:

"None of us is as stupid as all of us together" - Consider how many stupid decisions we are forced to go along with as a result of our representative collective ignorance. And how many have heard the adage "A camel is a horse designed by a committee"?

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 2:32 PM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV replied:

With this deficit and the unhampered spending the new adage should be, " an elephant is a mouse designed by congress"

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 2:48 PM

MikeEcho in Orting, WA said:

Unfortunately the state of Washington is fast becoming a favorite for exiled Californians. The problem is transplanted Californians don't really shed their skin before they leave, they bring too much liberal baggage and funny ideas with them. Driving through Seattle is like running over a skunk, the liberalism lingers for miles. If it wasn't allowed by the Costitution there would be an effort to create a new state out of western Washington called "Columbia." The idea comes up once in a while.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 3:08 PM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

Just to name three but I would imagine down state Illinois, central Pennsylvania and upstate New York would like to give Chicago, Pittsburgh, Philadelphia and NYC the opportunity to be their own states.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 6:41 PM

Marcus in North Carolina said:

I think that it's remarkable that cells, families, societies, and even countries all go through mitosis. We grow to a certain point and divide. It is unfortunate though that the dividing among people has to be at best uncomfortable and at worst, deadly.
With that said, if secession of states did occur what would we do with the new round of terrorist activity that would bound to take place by our former brethren, the now have-nots? I shudder to think about the consequences.
I think if we are going to have a secession it shouldn't states or regions seceding but age groups.
I think we should secede from the older generation that got us here. Cut off their their citizenship and all their funding. We'll put all those funds toward top notch education, child medical care, child nutrition, parental education, in the form of reducing tax burdens on parents of young children. This way we can help young people save for their own retirements and one of the incentives will be that social security will be eliminated in our new country. Government will be necessarily reduced and when a couple's children are grown that couple's tax burden can then increase for the rest of their working lives which will go toward helping children and their young parents instead of a generation of ancients.
Children are victims of a ridiculously high poverty level in this country. Let's shift the social focus toward them for awhile and see what happens.
Hey Burt, just throwing out some different ideas here, let's see how the tolerant, non-intelligentsia respond to it...

Tuesday, January 8, 2013 at 10:57 AM