The Right Opinion

Ringing in the New Year

By Burt Prelutsky · Jan. 12, 2013

In the same way that whoever is elected president in 2016 will be fortunate because he or she will be compared to Barack Obama, the worst person who has ever disgraced the office, 2013 will only need to be better than 2012. And considering that we suffered through 10 months of non-stop electioneering only to re-elect Obama, 2013 should have a pretty easy time of it.

The other tragic events of 2012 involved the massacre of Ambassador Stevens and three other exemplary Americans in Benghazi, and the murder of 27 people in Newtown, CT. Predictably, the administration, with the help of the media, lied about the first, and then used the second in order to promote their endless assault on the 2nd Amendment.

At the risk of sounding like Michael Bloomberg, I don't see the need for citizens to own automatic or semi-automatic weaponry. But, then, I also don't see the need for anyone to own a Hummer or for Will Ferrell to continue making movies. But I don't think my opinion counts for anything in these matters. I also don't believe that it's the government's business what law-abiding citizens own, use or smoke. These puffed-up bureaucrats are constantly yammering about people with guns, while we're supposed to overlook the fact that all of them are protected by people with guns. Obama, himself, is protected by enough guns to arm Syria's insurgents.

The other fact is that for all the talk about gun control laws, the places with the strictest – namely Chicago and Washington, D.C. – are the nation's murder capitals, whereas those places where citizens are allowed, even encouraged, to carry their own firearms are among the safest places to live. None of which comes as any surprise to people who are sane and logical, which naturally rules out politicians and liberals.

Some people insist that nobody should be committed to an asylum until they finally explode violently, but I contend there is a big and easily identifiable difference between youngsters who try to appear slightly eccentric in an attempt to appear at least mildly interesting to members of the opposite sex, and those, like Jared Loughner and Adam Lanza, who are so obviously non compos mentis that they might as well have “Dangerous Lunatic” tattooed across their foreheads.

Until society starts taking insanity seriously and proactively begins hatching its boobies, no gun law is going to make the slightest bit of difference.

All you have to do is look around the world to recognize that it's not guns that create violence. It's inevitably young, single males, be they in Gaza, Paris, Athens, Chihuahua or Los Angeles, who are constantly throwing rocks and Molotov cocktails, tipping over cars and setting tires ablaze. So if anyone is really interested in doing away with violence, I suggest keeping the guns and getting rid of the 20-year-olds.

Another issue that calls for my sort of solution is abortion. Ridicule is the answer, not government funding. I mean, just how stupid does someone have to be in 2013 to still be getting unintentionally pregnant? When every eight-year-old has been told how to prevent it, there is simply no excuse for Planned Parenthood to exist or for Sandra Fluke, either, for that matter.

When it comes to rape, it should be a capital crime, as should child molestation. Both crimes destroy lives as surely as murder does, and there is no possible excuse for allowing the perpetrator to continue living.

What's more, no politician, even one who has received the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval from some misguided Tea Party, should ever try to break rape down as “legitimate” or “illegitimate,” and nobody should ever suggest that rape is ever a part of God's plan. If it were, what would there be left for Satan to do besides lie around and work on his tan?

As of this writing, it remains unclear whether criminal charges will be brought against the two Australian DJs who made the crank call to the English hospital to check up on Kate Middleton's condition. There's no way that Mel Greig and Michael Christian could have ever imagined that the nurse who fell for the crank call would hang herself a day or two later. But I would still toss them in the clink for a month or so, if only as a warning to all the other half-witted radio teams who muck up the airwaves with the juvenile hijinks they try to pass off as humor.

Finally, a word to the wise for firemen and cops: Stop letting school teachers ride your coattails when it comes to negotiating new contracts. We actually need you folks to fight crime and put out fires, whereas members of the teachers union can't even describe themselves as “educators” with a straight face. Although there may be a few exceptions to the rule, the mere fact that they choose to belong to such a loathsome group, comprised in the main of under-achieving, over-paid and over-pensioned, louts, destroys your own hard-earned credibility.

As George Bernard Shaw once nearly said: “Those who can, do; those who can't, trash state capitals in pursuit of higher wages for less work, and then have the gall to insist they're only doing it for the kids.”

Appeal_patriots_day_6
52 Comments

Connie in California said:

I disagree, Burt. Rape and child molestation should not be capital cirmes; they should be castration crimes. Then they will not have the balls to do it again.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 12:22 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Connie: I appreciate your amusing take on it, but both crimes have far less to do with sex than with power and violence. So in the spirit of compromise, I suggest these miserable cretins be castrated and then executed.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:44 AM

Stephen in NH said:

The left has three years to find some way of circumventing the 22nd Amendment; ensuring their boy gets a third term as President. This, while the right chooses someone akin to Mitch McConnell or John Boehner to carry their banner.

2016 could very well be just as devastating as 2008 and 2012.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:37 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Stephen: Relax. The 22nd Amendment is not going to be annulled anytime soon. Had Obama lost the election two months ago, he would be going home in about two weeks. You'd be better off worrying about Mrs. Clinton being elected in 2016 than about the Left turning the U.S. into a banana republic.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:48 AM

Stephen in NH replied:

Relax? The People were relaxing while I was out serving my country for 20+ years. And what did that get me? I returned home to a state I no longer recognize. I returned home to a city where violent crime is up over 150 percent since 1985. The list goes on and on. The sad truth is - while I was out doing my job, the people forgot to do theirs, an now the losers are winning. Relax? I have no reason to relax.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 2:32 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Stephen: Okay, don't relax. But at least try to worry about something other than the repeal of the 22nd Amendment. It's not going to happen. At least not in the next four years.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 3:07 AM

Stephen in NH replied:

Burt: You missed the entire point of my comment. Obama, his administration, and his minions don't care what the law [and apparently the Constitution] say. They seem to have no problem bending or stretching the interpretation of laws to suit their agenda. While I used the 22nd as an example of what they might try to do, I certainly don't believe that is all they will try to do over the next for years. The last four years proved that.

As for worry. Worry is the product of giving way to unease or anxiety; allowing one's mind to dwell on trouble and difficulty. I have more productive things to do than worry.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 8:07 AM

Stephen in NH replied:

that would be "four", not "for"

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 8:11 AM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA replied:

What are you Stephen, an educator?

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 2:09 PM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA replied:

I guess I need to pay closer attention, I did not see it was you correcting your own error

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 2:11 PM

Richard J. Abbate of CT in Cheshire, CT replied:

"Worry is a dividend paid to misfortune before it is due." Ian Fleming, in one of the original James Bond novels.

I have tried (mostly unsuccessfully) to live in accordance with that dictum for the past fifty years!!
RJA

Tuesday, January 15, 2013 at 12:40 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Stephen, I'm in the same boat as you are. I served for 22 years and when I retired and starting living outside of the military I could not believe what had become of our nation. The small town where we shopped when I was a boy and as a young man is overrun with drug dealers, welfare queens, and corrupt public officials. I didn't spend all those years to defend the overwhelming stupidity that has now become the U.S..

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 8:39 AM

Alex in NJ replied:

>You'd be better off worrying about Mrs. Clinton being elected in 2016...
Exactly. Why else would her husband carry water for team Obama and go full reverse on his signature achievement welfare bill.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 9:22 AM

Stephen in NH replied:

Why in God's name would I worry about Hillary Clinton? She's a Democrat and she will be nominated by Democrats. Not much I can do about that, is there!

If Republicans have anything to worry about, it's their own party. One more election with the likes of a McCain or a Romney as the Republican flag bearer and it's the end of America as we know it. Now, there's something to be concerned about.

Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 10:55 AM

PH in DE replied:

It's already the end of America as we know it. And my beautiful and intelligent children, at least some of them, voted for the slimeballs and told me "I don't think like you do." As they sit around unable to find a job, and not really understanding that taxes are the government taking away your choice of what to do with what you do earn. Though the oldest is starting to figure out the whole finances and personal debt thing, after years, but not enough yet to realize that we should not be paying for all that we do. And I really wish we could stop letting Obama and his minions run up millions in expenses that we should NOT be paying. If he wants to go on a vacation or eat steak, let HIM personally pay the ENTIRE (millions) cost.

Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 6:33 PM

Connie in California replied:

A difference without a distinction. HRC could be worse than BO, & vice versa. Either way, we are headed down the road to communism.

Monday, January 14, 2013 at 1:31 AM

M Rick Timms MD in Georgia said:

Burt,
It's worse than that. Obama and the left are trying to turn us into the Weimar Republic, and they are doing a damn good job. Destroy the currency, disarm the public and make rich white folks the enemy...piece of cake when you own the media.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 2:41 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Now that's more like it, Dr. Timms. Those are things worth worrying about.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 3:08 AM

L.L. Smith in Savannah, Tn. replied:

Burt: These things are worth being deeply concerned about.They can't be implemented if we still have the means to resist. Semi-automatis rifles, handguns and shotguns are the very best means of self protection besides being fun to shoot and to play with. I have hunted small and big game with them. I don't know what I will do when push comes to shove but I sure would hate to be in my home or anywhere else and be at the mercy of those who have no mercy. I think I will keep mine.They are a way of life here in Tennessee.
Happy New Year!!!

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 9:59 AM

Patriot LE in The People's Republik of MD said:

Mr. Prelutsky, as ever, your columns are my favorite and most-anticipated of the week, thank you for continuing to fight the good fight, even while suffering the surrounding insanity of the left coast.

In an idealized republic, your right, the average citizen would not, necessarily, 'need' to own semi-automatic and automatic weaponry, but the Founders recognized that such an ideal was impossible to realize. They further recognized that to maintain the imperfect, yet as close as has ever been realized to that ideal, republic that they created, the People must be fully empowered to defend, not only themselves from the predations of criminals and lunatics, but also from the predations of tyrannical government.

One of the most commonly misinterpreted aspects of the Second Amendment is the nature of the "Right to Bear Arms," in that the Amendment does NOT confer a previously-unknown right upon the People, instead it prohibits the government from infringing upon a preexisting and inherent right of the citizens of a free republic. Again, the Second Amendment does not grant a right that can be taken away BY ANYONE, it acknowledges that it is impermissible for government to infringe upon that inherent right.

On a further note, I completely agree about the situation with Fire/LE unions leading the way with bad collective bargaining agreements, unfortunately, in states such as mine, my fellow LEO's (Law Enforcement Officers) and I are subject to compulsory enrollment in unions, though many of us would dearly prefer it elsewise. Thanks to the influence of the liberals that control our state government, this appears unlikely to change in the near future, but please note that there are many of us that are true conservatives, even though the people that lead our unions are just more of the same thugs that run the city-state of Chicago.

Shalom,
A Fellow Jew

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 2:48 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Dear Patriot: I have always wondered why the people elected to head up unions are every bit as awful as those elected to run the country. One would think that union members would have a better sense of whom to vote for because they had actually worked with these guys and knew them personally.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 3:15 AM

Patriot LE in People's Republik of MD replied:

One would think that would be obvious, but, much like in DC, the 'good, old boys' or the deeply-entrenched (and even deeper-pocketed) ones with political connections (I know, shocking) who either enter or remain in leadership positions.
Additionally, the union negotiators and upper echelons are often populated by 'professional union leaders', some of whom have little or no experience in the field that they represent, and the only former/current officers are the direct union representatives to individual departments.
In any case, it's the ongoing affirmation of the principle that it is not what you know, it is WHO you know.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 6:47 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Patriot: Sounds a lot like Hollywood.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:10 PM

G Dub45 in Lee's Summit, MO replied:

Patriot LE -
May I please ask you a question: When, not if, obuma writes the executive order to confiscate all firearms owned by the citizens, what will your fellow LEOs do? Follow that order or refuse to do so.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 7:15 AM

Patriot LE in The People's Republik of MD replied:

I can only speak for that relatively small number of those officers with whom I work, we view our oath to serve and protect to include protecting the fundamental and inherent rights of our fellow citizens, to include the lawful possession of firearms. Any such directive to confiscate firearms from law-abiding citizens will result in passive resistance at first (in the form of refusal to carry out such a directive) and will escalate to active resistance if local, state, or federal forces attempt to enforce such a directive with violence. I suspect that we will not be alone in our stand.

God Bless America,
Patriot LE

Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 1:52 AM

Mikey in Southwest Idaho said:

Have you considered that the argument of need for a semi-automatic pistol is rooted in the fact that the local thug might have one? Fight fire with fire. Also, It is time for police and firefighter unions to go, too. The unions don't make them better at their jobs and the taxpayers gain nothing from the union contracts. They just substitute "public safety" for "children" when they shakedown the local taxpayers. The cops and firefighters are usually better at their jobs, but that is not because of the unions. Many municipalities are in financial binds because of these contracts.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 10:06 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Mikey: I agree that all public sector unions should be done away with, but, assuming they won't happen in the near future, I still think it's time that cops and firemen stop letting school teachers get a free ride on their coattails.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:14 PM

THOMAS HOAK in BUFFALO NY said:

Burt: Too late now. We have been slowly destroyed by the powers of the Left and their allies in the media. It has now reached the point of no return, and the handwriting is clearly on the wall. I see no point in fighting any longer as we cannot possibly win when so many powerful forces are aligned against us. Our cause is now hopeless, and its time to accept the inevitable. Make the most of the worsening situation and look forward to the next world , because this one is doomed.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 10:24 AM

Merry in Cave Creek, AZ replied:

Thomas Hoak--- Leave Buffalo and your outlook will change dramatically! I did when I hit 18 and I have never looked back. You may wish to surrender but those posting here will not. If not, "may your chains rest lightly..."

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 11:08 AM

THOMAS HOAK in BUFFALO NY replied:

Merry Colin: You cannot possibly be so naive as to think the libturds won t eventually get around to destroying your state also? You just happen to live in a state thats still behind the progreassive curve, and your day is coming soon, too.

Monday, January 14, 2013 at 11:17 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Thomas: I agree that things look bleak. But it makes no sense to give up and make things even easier for the Marxists in our midst.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:16 PM

RLS in Oklahoma replied:

Dear fellow conservatives. A sincere question about giving money: I have good congressmen in Oklahoma whose voting is closely aligned with my principles. Now, I get lots of requests for donations from Patriot Post, Heritage Institute, Rutherford Institute, as well as many advocate organizations for right-to-life, right-to-work, and gun rights. (You can deduce why those are kind of solicitations I receive.) If congressmen approve or block laws that determine retention or loss of freedom then what can those organizations do that congressmen cannot?

I do contribute to organizations such as the first three that keep me informed but there is little information from the last three types that is not duplicated by the first three. Therefore, I have reasoned that donating to campaigns of my congressmen plus Ted Cruz, Greg Bell, Marco Rubio, Don Stenberg, Mark Newman, and Greg Soward and so forth to try to get them elected, is a better investment from my modest retirement income rather than to issue-specific organizations. Maybe I don't know what those organizations do with contributions. Thoughts? Thanks.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 8:42 PM

p3orion in Midland, Georgia said:

Burt, I appreciate your hope that 2013 will be an improvement over 2012, even if it's based more on low expectations rather than any real optimism. But I'm afraid that even that will be too much to ask.

2013 is the first year that obama does not have to worry about ever being re-elected. As he was caught saying to Dmitri Medvedev last year, after the elections he'd have more "flexibility." And so it has turned out. Look at some of the news from just the two months since the election: tax increases, further Benghazi stonewalling, forthcoming gun bans, trillion-dollar coins..., and we still have 48 months to go!

I think the only reason obama hasn't come out swinging even harder than he has (besides distraction with the so-called "fiscal cliff" and an extended Hawaii junket on our dime) is that he was waiting until all the lame ducks were out of Congress, some of whom might have felt sudden pangs of responsibility on their way out the door.

Surely he must know, though, that there will likely be another backlash at the midterm elections, just as in 2010. So the window of opportunity in which he can act with relative impunity is only the next 18 months or so, before he too becomes a lame duck.

As Bette Davis said, ""Buckle up everyone, it's going to be a bumpy ride."

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 10:52 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

p3: It is always safe to assume the worst about Obama. And while it's true that he doesn't have to worry about re-election, the Democrats in Congress do. They saw what happened to their colleagues in 2010 after they had spent two years following Obama down the Yellow Brick Road. The fact is every president has less power and influence in his second term. That is especially the case when his party doesn't control both houses of Congress

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:21 PM

JJStryder in realville said:

Burt:
We, as citizens, should ban school teacher unions and public schools. It would help in lowering the body count of mass shootings, eliminate the over prescribing of drugs to children by overusing the ADD excuse and raising the intelligence of Americans by reducing childhood exposure to liberal indoctrination .

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 11:49 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Unfortunately, JJ, we don't have the authority to ban public schools. We do have the power to enroll our kids in private and religious schools or to home school them, but most parents prefer to gripe about the education their kids aren't getting and the lousy job being done by the left-wing propagandists who populate the teachers union.

Burt

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:25 PM

Tex Horn in Texas said:

I fully expect 2013 to be one of unprecedented power grabs by Obama. Up first, he'll decide that that he'll use executive power to forever annul the debt ceiling debate. Next, he'll decide what kind of guns you will own and how much ammunition you will own, and you'll be listed in a national database. He will use the military and drones to suppress any kind of uprising. The ultimate goal? A socialist state in which he exerts his dictatorial power. Can't happen? Don't bet on it.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 12:23 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Tex: I know you won our bet on the presidential election, but I am willing to go double or nothing on all of the above. p.s. And when I win, I also won't ask you to pay up.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:27 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh said:

Doesn't all this talk of executive orders and the 2nd Amendment make you long for the good ol' days of presidential top-down limousine parades like they had in the 1960s?

Concerning "legitimate" rape, I am reminded of the old joke, "How do you make a hormone? Don't pay her." She may do a lot more than moan, re the danger of a scorned woman. How many cases of alleged rape really are rape and not the allegations of an angry woman? Without a physical examination immediately after the rape, a woman may not be able to prove the rape in a court of law. Why would this be a fact of life if there were not such things as illegitimate rape?

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 1:56 PM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

So much food for thought, I don't where to start. In Nevada, when a woman goes to the hospital to have her second illegitimate baby, the state ties her tubes. We need to give a free vasectomy to any man who fathers an illegitimate child the second time. People might use a little more birth control.
I don't think even the libs will have the nerve to champion the repeal of the 22nd Amendment. And Hillary will not win the nomination. It will be some other wild-eyed climate-change nitwit who is younger and more photogenic.Biden will laugh himself to death before 2016. Although, I cannot see much mirth in our current morass of events. I pray for justice for the victims of 9/11/2012 but I am not holding my breath.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 3:31 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Old Rat: I like Nevada's approach, but I'm not sure I would wait until the second illegitimate birth.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 5:43 PM

Tex Horn in Texas said:

Burt, with your record of "wins" as relates to what's will happen or won't happen with this administration, I feel like taking you up on your wager once again. It seems like that you are like a lot of establishment Republicans who don't seem to think that Obama is out to destroy this nation, by hook or crook. Mostly crook. Nothing Obama would do would surprise me. The predictions I made? I'm sticking with them. By the way, whose to stop him? The Republicans? What a laugh.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 4:25 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Tex: If the Democrats hadn't had super majorities in the House and Senate, Obama would never have passed the Stimulus or ObamaCare. Not a single Republican voted for them. So I don't get why you are so dismissive of the GOP.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 5:49 PM

WTD in AZ said:

Why should we be surprised that the anti-gun folks think that more gun laws are needed contrary to statistical evidence proving otherwise. After all they're the same geniuses, blind to the damage already done, figured 4 more Obamination years were a good idea.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 5:08 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

WTD: Just for the record, Obama received 51% of the vote two months ago, and most of those people don't really care about guns one way or the other.

In fact, I'm willing to bet that a lot of people who do care about the 2nd Amendment voted for Obama or merely stayed home on November 6th because they are now collecting food stamps or couldn't bring themselves to overcome their religious bigotry and vote for a Mormon.

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 5:53 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

You may well be correct, Burt, but it would seem that those who care about the 2nd Amendment, because they understand the need for it, would not be in that couch potato "gimmee" group. Doesn't the general nature of your readers comments indicate that especially the old familiars?

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 6:23 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Absolutely, WTD. I hold most of my readers in high regard. But there must be a lot of Republicans who either voted for Obama because they are among the 15 million who started collecting food stamps since 2009, are anti-Mormon bigots or fell for the line of BS that portrayed Romney as a unfeeling plutocrat, or they simply stayed home on Election Day. There has to be some explanation for Romney faring worse than McCain, and it's certainly not because he was a worse candidate or would have been a worse president.

Burt worse

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 10:46 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

Not to belabor the point, Burt, I just hate to think that a patriotic, thinking American would slip into that gap group.
Grim thought that it may be a statistical indicator of how the aforementioned have become an impotent minority.

Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 12:03 AM

PH in DE replied:

I think many, most or all of the absentee ballots military members used to vote were not counted, lost or thrown out on specious reasonings. While not all military members are Republicans, and some are independents, there are not many Obama/Biden stickers/signs on military bases. The military is not dumb. They know they are being fed to the wolves so the lazy and the dumb (and I include the Obamas, Reid and Pelosi in that) can live it up on taxpayer money.

Sunday, January 13, 2013 at 6:42 PM

Cowboy in San Antonio said:

Let me explain something. In various jurisdictions, certain lower income females are perfectly happy to engage in sex with whomever, as long as whomever leaves a little grocery money on the table as they leave. If he does not, there is often a phone call to the police alleging that a rape has occurred. The police usually ascertain that nothing forcible has occurred, but that party of the second part quite likely took advantage of party of the first part, at least financially. Police explain to party of the second part that he cannot get the goods without paying the price. That is the difference between "legitimate rape (criminal charge)" and "illegitimate rape (charge)", more legally known as breach of implied contract. Forcible rape should be punished with castration or death, take your pick.

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 7:14 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Bo: Why do I always pick one or the other? Why can't I have both?

Burt

Saturday, January 12, 2013 at 10:48 PM

RyDaddy in Madison, WI said:

OK, I am a bit surprise nobody took offense to this comment, "I don't see the need for citizens to own automatic or semi-automatic weaponry." Maybe because it was followed by the disclaimer, "But I don't think my opinion counts for anything in these matters."
"Semi-automatic" covers 97% of the firearms in use in the USA and simply implies any weapon that loads the next round after firing the first, still requiring a separate trigger pull for each single round.
And automatic weapons are quite useful for battling invasive species. There are a few hunting lodges in Texas where they will take you up in a helicopter with automatic weapons to shoot feral hogs. A semi-auto just can't lay down enough rounds to drop and entire herd of 20-30 invasive pigs.

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 at 2:35 PM