The Right Opinion

Ben Carson Owes No Apologies

By Star Parker · Feb. 18, 2013

According to Cal Thomas, well-known nationally syndicated columnist, Dr. Ben Carson owes President Obama an apology.

Carson spoke at the National Prayer Breakfast in Washington, DC this past week – a bi-partisan annual event held since 1953, attended by members of Congress and usually the President.

President and Mrs. Obama were present this year and Thomas feels that Dr. Carson was out of line for including in his remarks comments about areas considered public policy – our national debt, our tax system, our publics schools, and health care.

According to Thomas: “Our politics have become so polarized and corrupted that a president of the United States cannot even attend an event devoted to drawing people closer to God and bridge partisan and cultural divides without being lectured about his policies.”

Dr. Carson is an African American physician, Director of Pediatric Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins Hospital, who rose out of poverty in a ghetto in Detroit. He was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Bush in 2008 and is a role model for every American of every background.

I'm also proud that he serves on the national advisory board of my organization, CURE.

Although Carson did mention these various aspects of how we manage – or mismanage – our national affairs, he never once referred to the president or associated his comments on these issues with any political party.

To the extent to which President Obama might have taken Dr. Carson's remarks as personal criticism, it would only be in the sense of “If the shoe fits, wear it.”

To the contrary, Dr. Carson began his remarks with citations from Proverbs and Chronicles, and tied the issues he spoke about to his broader theme about the moral crisis of our nation today. He talked about the moral decay of ancient Rome and how “they destroyed themselves from within.”

And he then expressed optimism about Americans being able to solve our problems because “we are smart” and that “we have some of the most intellectually gifted people leading our nation.”

No, if President Obama was offended by Dr. Carson's penetrating remarks, it is because the president had to be the one losing perspective of the moral tone of the event and Dr. Carson's observations.

What seems to offend Cal Thomas is that Dr. Carson has not fallen victim to the Washington disease that Thomas himself seems to have contracted as result of too many years in our nation's capital.

Carson noted the vital importance of freedom of expression in America and how “political correctness keeps people from talking about important issues while the fabric of the society is being changed.” He warned that “we can't fall for this trick.”

What, after all, is the point of a National Prayer Breakfast, “devoted to drawing people closer to God,” if the core issue now dividing us is whether we are indeed a “nation under God” and whether this means that His Word, as revealed in scripture, is even relevant to our national life and how we conduct our affairs.

This Word has already been banished from our public schools and increasingly from all our public spaces. Now apparently it's even off limits at the National Prayer Breakfast.

If anything, Dr. Carson was forgiving to not mention the moral disaster of abortion legal under any circumstances and 55 million murdered unborn children -supported by our president. Nor did he mention our president's endorsement of same sex marriage and today's collapse of the American family.

The prophet Isaiah admonished, “To what purpose is the multitude of your sacrifices to me? says the Lord…..even when you make many prayers I will not hear: your hands are full of blood….cease to do evil, learn to do good…”

Religious ritual devoid of content is pointless and destructive. This was Isaiah's message 2800 years ago.

This is Dr. Ben Carson's critical message for America today. Certainly nothing to apologize about.

Appeal_patriots_day_5

View all comments

26 Comments

veritaseequitas in Fightertown, USA said:

I have to disagree with Cal Thomas this time. At least Ben Carson has the guts to speak up against the policies of the worst president in the history of the US and to do it publicly and directly in front of him and his miserable wife. This being America, Dr. Carson does still have the right to speak his opinion. The fact that he did so in a manner that was without malice, speaks volumes about Dr. Carson's character.
After observing how The Obama family has to be forced to go to church (the look on the faces of the "First Family" tell it all), and will not admit that this nation is a Christian nation, and praises Muslims at every opportunity, I would say he has no business at a prayer breakfast anyway. The meaning of the event is meaningless to him, and it is nothing more than a political photo op for him.
Barack Obama dishes out disrespect and animosity toward his opponents on a regular basis. Surely, being the smartest, bestest man in the room, he can take it when it comes back his way.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 9:02 AM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

"Surely, being the smartest, bestest man in the room, he can take it when it comes back his way."

Only if that room is a port-a-potty.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 9:59 AM

Jordan in Tennessee said:

First of all, I highly respect Cal Thomas. I immensely enjoy his opinions and he's one of my favorite columnists to read. However, I have to admit that I was surprised with that column he wrote on Dr. Carson. What Carson did was speak in moral terms. The problem we have today is that we AREN'T putting these issues in moral/biblical terms. Kudos to Dr. Carson for finally having the guts to say what many others won't.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 9:14 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

Dr. Carson spoke the truth and the Washington crowd to include Cal Thomas are not used to anyone being plain-spoken. They are used to folks talking around the issue and really saying nothing at all to address the issue. It hurts when the truth is told and politicians, administration idiots, lamestream media, and the low-information parasites who voted for Odumbo simply can't handle a black man having the unmitigated gall to speak out about he wrongs he sees in this country. I am just waiting for some so-called journalist to find some woman or women to accuse Dr. Carson of inappropiate sexual behavior. Nothing is to low for the lamestream media these days to protect their Messiah.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 10:01 AM

Fred in Oregon said:

Cal Thomas, is a good example of why we are in so much trouble.Smuck, to the 10th power.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 10:46 AM

GeorgePA in PA said:

King Barry never passes up a chance to lecture the rest of us, it's certainly fitting that someone - anyone - takes advantage of the opportunity to lecture him.

And I don't even think that's what Dr. Carson did, unlike the Lecturer-in-Chief.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 12:14 PM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

Excellent points, Star Parker. Cal Thomas and Bob Beckel both want apologies from Dr. Carson. He did nothing but speak the truth. Any preacher worth his salt would have made the same salient arguments. There is hope for America as long as there are true patriots like Dr. Carson who tell it like it is.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 12:17 PM

JDB Esq in CA/VA said:

Everyone, if you haven't, get the movie about Ben Carson, titled, 'Gifted Hands.' Dr. Carson is an excellent example of the Providence of God. And, if anything, it's Obama and those who voted for him who owe the apologies.

Coram Deo

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 12:22 PM

Kerry in Eastern Alabama said:

How did we end up with a country where the government is the boss? We pay them! They work for us! We hire them to handle certain annoyances under the rules laid out in the Constitution so we can live normal lives! And when your employee screws up every day for almost five years your employees need an ass chewing, and Dr. Carson deserves respect for being nice about it! I can not say what I would have said on that podium. I would owe God and America way more than an apology if I was given that podium.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 12:32 PM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

I just don't get Cal, whom i respect, saying that. With ears as big as O'Zilla's you'd think he would be a good listener, but NOT!

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 1:36 PM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS said:

Fantastic article Star. Dr. Carson is a wonderful example to us all! God Bless!

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 1:59 PM

HP in Kalispell, MT said:

Cal has lost any respect I had for him. Until he apologizes to Dr. Carson, I'm finished reading any more blather from OCal.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 2:52 PM

Linda in Florida said:

Dr. Carson owes no such thing......since when does telling the truth need an apology? I have always enjoyed Cal Thomas and his commentaries, but this time I think he's wrong. If more people would "speak the truth in love", our country might not be in the mess we have right now. Dr. Carson wasn't rude or obnoxious, he spoke quietly and with great conviction. Shame on Cal Thomas....maybe he should apologize to Dr. Carson!

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 3:11 PM

billy396 in ohio said:

Barack Obama owes Dr. Carson and ALL American citizens a huge apology for trying to tear this nation apart in order to take over complete control. We do in fact have a Constitution and it is the highest law of the land. Obama's conceit and disdain for the Constitution makes him think that he owes no respect to his oath of office or to the American people. Americans of all faiths must rise up and rid our nation of this would-be dictator.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 3:23 PM

JTG in Indiana said:

Obama's the last person I'd want to attend a National Prayer Breakfast. I think he's done more to destroy the good that religious faith brings to our everday lives than any other person in recent history. Carson got it right and made his point. Nothing wrong with that.

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 4:57 PM

William in Florida said:

We are fortunate that there are some people out there not afraid to speak the truth. Dr. Carson is indeed a American we can all be proud of and if Obama or anyone else had an issue with the content of Dr. Carson's speech simply prove him wrong!!!! Since when is it bad timing to protect our freedom that even our founders admit to giving a god credit for!!! My opinion "It was perfect timing".

Monday, February 18, 2013 at 9:05 PM