The Right Opinion

'With All Due Disrespect...'

By Burt Prelutsky · Feb. 25, 2013

If there's one term I would like to see retired in 2013, it's the one so much favored by politicians and other hypocrites: “With all due respect.”

Has anyone in the history of the world begun a sentence with those four words that didn't immediately evolve into the equivalent of calling the other person a charlatan, a thief or an ignoramus?

Recently, we had Hillary Clinton open her remarks to Sen. Ron Johnson with those words just before going into her well-rehearsed rant about nobody needing to know whether Ambassador Stevens and his three colleagues were killed by members of al Qaeda or by some guys taking a nighttime stroll in Benghazi who suddenly decided to kill Americans.

If my Aunt Hilda had said something that stupid, it would only matter to her husband, my Uncle Morrie. But this is the woman who, in her mid-60s, still has her eye on the White House. It's hard to believe that she had four months to come up with a response, and that bit of hammy stage craft was the best that the Secretary of State and the spin merchants in Obama's White House could come up with. Heck, even I could feign moral outrage better than that.

Isn't it odd that nobody in this Second Amendment-bashing administration ever said, “Who cares what kinds of guns were used in Newtown? Isn't it enough that 20 little children were murdered by a loon?”

If there's one thing you can count on from Obama and his minions, it's that they're always ready to take responsibility, at least so long as neither self-sacrifice nor punishment is involved. Instead, whether it's Eric Holder or Mrs. Clinton, their defense always seems to be that they didn't bother reading memos, whether they came from the ATF regarding weapons being delivered to Mexican gangbangers or from their ambassadors begging for their lives.

What I find the most distressing is that Mrs. Clinton, has never displayed anything special when it comes to intelligence, wisdom or personal character. In fact, aside from arrogance and naked political ambition, I can't come up with a single human quality I could easily attribute to her. In spite of that, she has a 59% approval rating among American voters a scant four years before the next presidential election.

Inasmuch as even in the wake of his re-election, Obama's own rating is barely 50%, it behooves Republicans to start getting the truth out about this combination of Michelle Obama, Evita Peron and a rabid weasel, and the sooner the better. And let's not have any of that “with all due respect” malarkey; ridicule is the best weapon to use on the terminally pompous.

The only reason that these left-wing boobs get away with the stuff they do is because we have a media that views its mission to be Obama's first line of defense. The depths to which the MSM has sunk can be seen in a recent piece written by John Dickerson. Titled “Go for the Throat,” the article advises Barack Obama to declare war on the GOP. In the course of the piece, he employed such verbs as “destroy” and “pulverize,” in spelling out exactly what Obama needs to do during his second administration if he's going to fulfill his destiny.

Although he was merely parroting what the likes of Bill Maher, Jon Stewart, Joy Behar and David Letterman, say every day on TV, what sets Mr. Dickerson apart from those other shills is that he is the political director of CBS News, whose motto these days should be: “Delivering the News: Unfair and Unbalanced.”

At least he wasn't guilty of hypocrisy. He didn't pretend to be engaged in civil discourse. He leaves that swill to politicians, especially those of the Republican persuasion. Considering that we conservatives despise most of our politicians nearly as much as liberals do, you would think they might at least consider changing their tactics. When our party leaders speak respectfully to or about the likes of Harry Reid, Charles Schumer, Henry Waxman and Nancy Pelosi, it reeks of cowardice. Our side kowtows to them, and they return the favor by labeling our representatives a bunch of fascists, yahoos and racists.

When conservatives constantly insist on taking the high road, they merely invite more contempt from liberals. If any conservative in the House or Senate actually voiced an honest opinion of those blockheads on the other side of the aisle, the chances are that even Mr. Dickerson would be forced to air it on the evening news. The high road isn't just the road less travelled, it's a road that no liberal would ever set foot on.

For that matter, in the war over guns, why hasn't a single Republican dared to point out that nearly all 506 of those gun-related killings that took place in Chicago last year were committed by young blacks, and they were mainly using hand guns. Even Mayor Rahm Emanuel understands that nothing Barack Obama, Joe Biden or Dianne Feinstein, has proposed would have prevented any of those murders. But there isn't a single big city mayor – virtually all of whom are Democrats – who would dare declare war on those who have turned “urban” into a synonym for “killing field.”

Speaking of Obama, although it got scant attention, in the course of his inaugural address, he promised “Peace in our time.” Although liberal pinheads have compared His Fatuousness to Abe Lincoln, Franklin Roosevelt and Martin Luther King, perhaps he feels a special kinship to Neville Chamberlain. After all, it was he, the umbrella-wielding prime minister who returned to London after meeting with Hitler in Munich, to announce “We will have peace in our time.” Much to his chagrin, and not too many people's surprise, Hitler invaded Poland a few months later.

Ever since then, “peace in our time” has come to represent those who foolishly and dangerously subscribe to the belief that dictators can be trusted to abide by treaties, and that pacifism is a perfectly legitimate basis for a nation's foreign policy.

Finally, in the wake of the inaugural, much was made of the fact that Beyonce lip-synced the National Anthem. I didn't object, though. For one thing, I think she looks better than she sings. For another thing, even if she wasn't performing live, that was actually her voice.

What I take exception to is the sort of lip-synching Juan Williams engages in during his all too frequent appearances on Fox News. I see his lips flapping, but all I ever hear is Barack Obama.

NOTE: I have been approached to host an internet talk radio show. The only hang-up is that it requires a certain level of sponsorship in order to get started. If you own a company, sell a product or provide a service, or if you know someone – preferably someone dedicated to conservatism – who owns a company, sells a product or provides a service, who would be willing to consider sponsoring my show, please contact me at BurtPrelutsky@aol.com, and I will be happy to answer any and all questions. In the meantime, you will all be alerted once I get airborne. Best of all, if the show does well, I will be able to quit dunning you folks for donations to the Fund to Keep Burt Prelutsky From Pursuing a Life of Crime!

Appeal_patriots_day_2

View all comments

71 Comments

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

Burt, for once I would have liked a republican (small r) Senator to refer to the Hero of Chappaquiddick as "the murderer and sex pervert from the once great state of Taxachussets." I am not hanging by my thumbs waiting for a republican big shot (you can't call them leaders) to ask where is the birth certificate, how come a CT social security card, lets see the college transcripts. Burt and don't say they would lose that way, who lost in 2008 and 2012 without saying it? I would loved to have seen the Admiral say to Hank Johnson (of Guam tipping over fame), you are an a##hole. Or a senator say to Feinstein, you are a hypocrite for wanting to deny everyone else their Second Amendment Rights when you have a carry permit.

Want to kill Barrycare? Just have a few republican congressmen and senators keep saying how come it does not apply to you or us? If it is repeated often enough even the great unwashed may wake up and scream. Or maybe quote from Animal Farm, "All animals are equal but some animals are more equal."

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:44 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: Someone should also ask Mrs. Feinstein what ever happened to her vow to get to the bottom of those security leaks to the NY Times. Funny how quickly she lost interest when she realized that the only person who could have been responsible was Barack Obama.

But the Orwell quote ends with "some animals are more equal than others."

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:49 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Have to check it out, as I have not read Animal Farm in over 50 years. This memory thing is getting to me.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:07 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt, the full line in chapter 10 is, "All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others." So it seems we were both partially correct. So on a present day English literature course we would get A+ with honors.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 12:56 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA said:

Burt, I know you know, that being conservative is pursuing a life of crime to this administration.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:48 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

enema: And crime is one thing this administration knows something about!

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:51 AM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

Hillary is the second biggest hypocrite on the national stage right now. It will be hard to eradicate 40 years of brainwashing of the liberals and their kids. We must try, however. She is a lousy actress, a lousy politician, a lousy mother, and would make a worse than terrible president. As far as the list of rotten politicians, Rahm Emanuel is certainly in the top ten. He knows full well the black on black gun crime in Chicago is preventable by facing the truth of moral decay and family destruction. One last thought, today I watched Gandhi for the first time. I was reminded how civil disobedience can sometimes be the only solution and we should apply it to Obamacare. If every committed patriot refuses to cooperate with this impossible set of laws we can defeat it.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:10 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

ODR: Civil disobedience requires a foe who retains a moral compass. Fortunately for Gandhi, the English did. He would not have prevailed against Hitler, Stalin, Hussein or the ayatollahs.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 11:45 AM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV replied:

You are right, any people who would endorse some of the principal players on the world stage could handily ignore civil disobedience. Peace at any price in alive and well in most liberals hearts.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:29 PM

DaneChile in Unknown replied:

Hhear, hear! Civil disobedience and passive resistance will not work. We must be more aggressive. Yes, I am "going there".

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 9:03 PM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

Old Desert Rat; it may have been Burt who observed that most politicians are lawyers who turned to politics when they discovered they didn`t like working for a living. I say, :right on:. I also add that it`s not a difficult transition since they don`t have to change their ideology or morals. Instead of being hired to steal and lie, they just become elected steal and lie.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:55 PM

HardThought in Kansas said:

This "woman" Hillary, is a political opportunist of the worst stripe. She contrives to tell us to be good little socialists and co-dependents on the State while she and her husband squeeze every nickle they can get out of the dupes willing for them to pontificate for a fee at a podium.

She and others of her ilk are reprehensible and best and downright revolting at worst. God only knows why she is well thought of by any thinking person.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 2:16 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Hard Thought: She isn't well thought of by any thinking person. Those people are represented in the 41% who don't admire her.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 11:47 AM

Jennie Maroney in Framingham said:

I have two new heroes, in a world devoid of heroes. Burt Prerlutsky and Dr. Benjamin Carson. I would vote for either one should he decide to run for president, but they would never make it. They're both way too honest.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 8:48 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Jennie: Thank you. I did write a fan letter to Dr. Carson. I hope he doesn't think I was just angling to be his Vice-President.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 11:50 AM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS replied:

AMEN Jennie!!! I too would vote for either of them in a heartbeat!!!

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:11 PM

Dick Belmont in Fergus Falls, MN said:

Great column! I have wondered every time I hear the words with all due respect that those people don't deserve any, and it rings hollow. If it weren't for a complicit media Obama, Holder, and others in his administration would be impeached.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 9:15 AM

Mindblown in Flyover USA replied:

Dick, I'd rather hear conservatives start their comments to lib/dems with the southern ladies expression of "Bless your heart." It has about the same meaning -- boiled down to "you're an idiot, a liar, a hipocrit, full of sh*tand don't have a clue." And it can be used multiple times during a question or statement. Love to see the reaction the first time that's used.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 10:22 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Dick: And if it weren't for a brainless population, we would never have heard of either of them.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 11:51 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

Just like the term "due respect"; the term "due process" has become contorted by Liberals. Oftimes, for the non-elite, not connected, and poor: due process has come to mean determination of how much Bail, Fine and/or Incarceration is Due. Trouble is the term "due respect" is not a Constitutional term, whereas "due process" is.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 2:03 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

enema. A reminder of that cartoon depicting a lawyer and a prospective client. The lawyer's question is, "how much justice can you afford?"

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 8:02 PM

DaneChile in Unknown replied:

Oh, but you need to view it logically. The phrase does not mean "you merit respect"; it means "with the respect that you merit". Could be a lot or could be none.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 9:06 PM

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY said:

"Ever since then, "peace in our time" has come to represent those who foolishly and dangerously subscribe to the belief that dictators can be trusted to abide by treaties, and that pacifism is a perfectly legitimate basis for a nation's foreign policy.'

Burt:

It is my belief that this dangerous policy stems from the left's ideology that the behavior of people can be legislated. That even "bad or evil" people can be brought to an "understanding" through diplomacy, without teeth.

Reagan understood, that the road to peace, lay in the military strength of the nation that truly wanted peace, as opposed to one that needed the strength of a strong military to secure totalitarianism designs and ends. When the former dealt with the latter, and showed that it would honor treaties, but likewise stated that all bets were off IF the latter party broke it, it did so with the knowledge that it was well within it's power to deal the enemy a butt whooping it wouldn't soon forget.

For the left, peace in our time means submission....

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 10:22 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Doktor: You're correct. The Left believes that morality can be legislated. They also believe that when their children misbehave, the way to deal with it is to send them to their rooms, which, in case they hadn't noticed, look like an outlet for Toys R Us. It's like tossing B'rer Rabbit in the briar patch.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 11:54 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt, my parents never sent me to my room, which I shared with my brother, it was a smack across the head or worse.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 4:29 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: Or worse?! Amputation?

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:08 PM

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY replied:

Burt:

The term "time out" comes to mind. It is my opinion that the only thing time out accomplishes is giving the misbehaved child time to plot his revenge.....

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 5:01 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Doktor: That's certainly how I would have spent the time, but, then, I didn't have $15,000 worth of toys and electronics in my bedroom.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:09 PM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

John Kerry is certainly the correct choice as Secretary of State to attain the goal of 'Rest in "Peace in our Time" '. & BURT, references to Bre'r Rabbit and the briar patch are Not PC. Though I have been fortunate to find a volume of Joel Chandler Harris "Uncle Remus Stories". I enjoy reading it, and would like to see the Disney cartoon of it again, last time it was broadcast was 55 years ago- at least.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 2:40 PM

rab in jo,mo replied:

I loved that movie "Song of the South". I found a copy on DVD ~10 years ago, alas, it was lost in the tornado in May 2011. Most people today could not tell you that was the movie that spawned the song "Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah".

I have a complete edition of Harris' Uncle Remus stories. Used to read from it to my daughter every night. Even now at 13, she still likes to hear me read her the story of ol' Br'er Rabbit and the Tar Baby.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 4:02 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

enema: Years ago, I mentioned Uncle Remus in a newspaper article and got a fan letter from Mrs. Chandler. You're thinking of "Song of the South." They probably burned the negative of it back in the 50s or 60s.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:11 PM

Cowboy in San Antonio said:

What does it matter who killed our ambassador and staff? Despite all arguments to the contrary, I guarantee that a jury would find gross negligence, at least, and perhaps even criminal intent, in the apparently complete failure to act upon the pre-fiasco worries expressed by the ambassador and staff in Libya. When someone yells "Fire!", you do not sit on your rear end and yawn. You carry out reasonable and logical responses, such as evacuation of at-risk persons and gear, or you grab a hose and start spraying water, etc. You do not roll over and go back to sleep. It matters a hell of a lot whether something is an accident, or an intentional attack. Our international honor and integrity are at stake. I can guess that the rest of the world, after seeing over four years of non-response, no longer have any confidence in the United States to intervene when powerful bad guys oppress weak good guys. Ah well, none of the great civilizations lasted more than 400 years. Our experiment in freedom, decency and honor, engaged in by the founders in 1781, is clearly hard onto the rocks, with the hull busted open. I see no possible reversal.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:09 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Bo: You're even more depressed by the present state of affairs than I am, and that's going some.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:13 PM

Mike McGinn in People's Republic of Maryland said:

"I will be able to quit dunning you folks for donations to the Fund to Keep Burt Prelutsky From Pursuing a Life of Crime!"

But Burt...didn't you realize that by starting a business, you'd be making yourself into a criminal in the eyes of our government? ;-)

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 12:36 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Mike: No, it's not that. At my own site, BurtPrelutsky.com, my articles used to carry a plea for donations from readers who get 12-14 articles a month for free. Lately they've carried the plea for sponsors so that I can begin conducting an online talk show. Once I get the sponsors, I'll go back to pleading for donations.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:15 PM

GeorgePA in PA said:

"It's hard to believe that she had four months to come up with a response, and that bit of hammy stage craft was the best that the Secretary of State and the spin merchants in Obama's White House could come up with."

Why bother coming up with something else? The pathetic mainstream media just lapped it up like mother's milk and praised her for her strong spine. What a joke they've become - you'd think even a few would be embarrassed at the way they're used, but no, they just ask for more.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:18 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

George: The media loons are convinced that Obama is doing God's work...and they're convinced they're God.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:16 PM

GeorgePA in PA replied:

Too true. It's ironic, as most are likely either atheists or, at the minimum, folks who claim there is no place for religion within government. Yet another self-defining situation for libs - their religion isn't religion, it's science, wisdom, common sense, whatever.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 2:40 PM

DaneChile in Unknown replied:

When a tree is diseased you start at the roots to eradicate the disease. In this case it´s the lib media. We must "discover" a way to dissuade the lib media from contributing to this national disease.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 9:13 PM

Paul Couch in N.C. said:

Burt, Rand Paul was the only senator that had the balls to talk to Clinton
straight up.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 1:19 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Paul: I noticed.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:17 PM

sfj in Alabama said:

"If my Aunt Hilda had said something that stupid, it would only matter to her husband, my Uncle Morrie. But this is the woman who, in her mid-60s, still has her eye on the White House." Burt, you still have an Aunt in her sixties or am I reading this wrong?

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 2:13 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

sfj: It is possible to have an aunt or uncle younger than oneself. But in this case, you read it wrong. It's Hillary, not Hilda, who has her eye on the White House

Burt.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:19 PM

BJ in St. Cloud, MN said:

Dick in Fergus,
all due means what they have coming, which as you noted is zero.
Watched Dr, Carson last night on Fox. Wish he could be our guy instead of the turd we have. My wife used to say we'd not be around for the worst of it as she and I see it coming. OOPS, it happened sooner than we thought it would. Bush was bad but toejam pondscum in DC have sunk America to a mew low.

TERM LIMITS-IMPEACH-PROSECUTE-SOON

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 2:54 PM

Patrick in Houston replied:

BJ, with all due respect, that's "Mr. Toe Jam/Pond Scum" to you sir.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 3:43 PM

Joan in Dayton,Ohio said:

The OT Ritual Laws are obsolete but the Moral Laws of the Ten Commandments will always stand. When we place people without a belief in the Moral Laws in leadership positions then chaos follows. The three most evil men in the world since 1900, Hitler, Stalin and Mao Tse Tung were all atheist. Hitler and Stalin were raised Catholic but renounced the church and Hitler was into the occult. It's hard to understand how a Christian nation elected a Muslim President not once but twice. Did you know that Gandhi said, I don't care for Christians but I do like your Jesus?

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 3:31 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Joan: As I recall, Gandhi also said he didn't take sides in World War II. I realize he had longstanding problems with England, but anyone who couldn't choose between the Axis and the Allies is not my idea of a moral arbiter.

Burt

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 6:22 PM

Joan in Dayton,Ohio replied:

Right, Gandhi was Hindu so how could he understand Christianity.

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 2:29 AM

wjm in Colorado replied:

I question the mental acquity of those who see the Divine in a Cow. With that as background, how would you expect him to diferentiate between the intentions of Allied and Axist Powers?

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 1:04 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

wjm: That's just one of the reasons that I avoided "Gandhi." The other was its 19-hour running time.

Burt

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 6:48 PM

WTD in AZ said:

"a scant four years before the next presidential election" Seems like Obummer is already campaigning. Probably has a plan for issuing an Executive Order that anachronistic 2 term thingy doesn't apply to him.

Monday, February 25, 2013 at 7:25 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

WTD: There are terrible things he can do and, fortunately, terrible things he can't.

Burt

Tuesday, February 26, 2013 at 12:13 AM