The Right Opinion

The War on Christianity

By Burt Prelutsky · Jun. 7, 2010

When I read that Americans had responded to the earthquake in Haiti by donating over a billion dollars to relief efforts, I was amazed once again at the generosity of my fellow citizens. Even though they, themselves, are suffering through an economic meltdown, they once again opened their purses, their wallets and their hearts, in order to help out suffering strangers. Even though at least half of the donors were conservatives, those very folks that left-wingers deride as bigots, the recipients were black men, women and children.

Speaking of bigotry, I have no idea if I’ll be supporting Mitt Romney in 2012, but I do wish that everyone could get past his religion. Those people who have a different faith should understand that the tenets, symbols and traditions, of every religion appear odd, to say the least, to outsiders. In some cases, they can seem absolutely daffy. But this is America; we’re entitled to be odd or at least appear that way to others. But unless someone is an Islamic fundamentalist or a Satanist – or do I repeat myself? – one’s religion shouldn’t preclude a decent person’s being elected president.

That brings me to the current resident of the White House. I am still somewhat mystified as to how someone who climbed out of the sewer of Chicago politics by standing on the shoulders of Bill Ayers, Tony Rezko and Jeremiah Wright, ever made it to the Oval Office. Granted, Hillary Clinton was caught flat-footed and John McCain ran such a terrible race that if he’d been a racehorse, they would have had him undergo a urine test.

Still, in what parallel universe would a guy who boasted that the high point of his career was that he’d been a community organizer be elected the leader of the free world? After stating that the trouble with the U.S. Constitution and the Civil Rights movement was that they didn’t deal with the redistribution of the nation’s wealth, I wonder how is it that he got a thousand votes, let alone 62 million. He was also the chowder-head who, after saying that America was the greatest nation on earth, insisted that it was his mission to radically transform it!

Frankly, I think it was a classic case of Pygmalionism. Americans, thanks in great part to the most rancid media this side of China, were mesmerized by the mantra of Hope and Change. Voters were encouraged to think of politics in terms of a fairy tale, as if Obama was Prince Charming and that empty slogan was code for “And they all lived happily ever after.”

The more Obama talked, the more, it seemed, poor, ugly men were lulled into thinking they’d become rich and handsome, while homely women came away believing they’d become beautiful and be pursued by rich, handsome men.

Pygmalionism, as you probably guessed, is the state of being in love with an object of one’s own making. These days, it’s also known as Obamaism.

The confounding aspect of all this is how so many people who regard religion as a sham, and who have nothing but contempt for Christianity and Judaism, continue to believe that Obama is the messiah.

That brings us to Rev. Franklin Graham, who was first invited to address the Pentagon on the National Day of Prayer, and then was uninvited after a couple of Muslims complained.

I am not a Christian and I have never met Rev. Graham, but I was outraged after hearing about this. Since when does the intolerance of a few nullify the wishes of the many? This is not to suggest that a minority should be deprived of their say, but nowhere is it written that they are entitled to the final say.

From my vantage point, it appears that even after the Pentagon’s cowardly policy of political correctness led directly to the murders of 13 innocent Americans at Fort Hood, the military still hasn’t learned its lesson.

Under Bill Clinton, homosexuals in the service were advised not to tell and the brass was ordered not to ask.

Under Barack Obama, it seems that the policy is still in place, except now it’s being directed at Christians.

(Don’t miss Burt’s book, “Liberals: America’s Termites” – signed copies are available at the Patriot Shop.)

Appeal_patriots_day_4

View all comments

19 Comments

ths said:

1. It is Jewish social liberals, not Muslims, who complain the most about Christianity in the public sphere. 2. ---Wait...so being an Islamic fundamentalist is to be equated with Satanism, but being a dispensationalist evangelical - at least as devoid of humanity as Islamism as you look forward to provoking the end times - that is okay. Being a tribal Orthodox Jew - where helping an non-Jew makes you "unclean" - that is okay. Being a Hindu - polytheist with barbaric traditions - that is okay. Being an atheist - also, I guess, not so bad.We see your bias...don't take your Slavo-Jewish name and lecture me about Americanism and religion.

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 6:45 AM

Shel in Alaska said:

ths, what the heck are you smoking? If you don't like the "lecture," then go somewhere else! This is an opinion piece--it's supposed to be biased to the writer's point of view! Burt Prelutsky is a great American who does an excellent job pointing out the absurdities in our country, particularly where liberals are doing the level best to dismantle it piece by piece. His focus is mainly on pointing out how disjointed the thinking of a liberal ideologue is, but judging by your post, you have way too much liberal education and you think you sound smart, but in the end you come across as a first-class moron. Congratulations.Burt, keep up the great work!Sheldon Knudsen

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 8:32 AM

RiverKing said:

I don't want to know what you're smoking, ths. I probably wouldn't recognize it anyway. But I do want to thank you for keeping all those murderously violent Orthodox Jews, Hindus, and whatever other hated groups populate your universe off my back. Makes it easier for me to concentrate on real threats.

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 9:45 AM

g.wegmann said:

The progressive movement has been attacking religion since the beginning of World War I. Now we have the Islamic fundamentalists that are joining the progressives to destroy religious belief other than Islam. Join or die is their mantra!The only criteria for a president in my opinion is does he/she believe the Constitution should be followed and is born in the United States. What he/she believes or does not believe is the reason for our being is personal and I thought we passed the point of religious discrimination when John F. Kennedy was elected.More to the poit of Mr. Prelutsky's title of his article "The War on Christianity".The ecology freaks have replace GOD with a worship of the earth,the PETA followers have placed animals on the same, if not a higher level, than US humans. And it does not stop there. In order to pass laws that allow euthanasia and abortion that are accepted by the voting public, is to destroy peoples belief that we are created by a Supreme Being and life is a sacred gift. This belief is anathama to progressives, "satanists",athiests and all who would like to see the USA become a secular country without religion of any kind. Keep fighting the good fight Mr. "P"!

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 10:13 AM

Dave said:

I read Mr. Prelutsky's opinion a few times, and can't find anywhere where he indicated that he thought it was "ok" to be any of those things "ths" pointed out. He's merely stating some actual facts, as well as his well respected opinion. And, I don't care what "religion" you practice or believe in, if you practice evil actions, you're an evil person, period. I think we're once again talking about the absurd political correctness in our society, pushed by the liberals. Political correctness hides the truth, and invites and promotes a double standard. We all know it's true, even if nobody wants to say it. We're so afraid to say or do anything that is politically incorrect. Why? Where is our freedom? If I'm a bigot or racist, I should have the freedom to say whatever insults I want, as long as I don't infringe on anyone's rights. I should have the freedom to show my own ignorance. I would rather have people feel free to state their opinion. At least that way, I know who I'm dealing with. Look what political correctness is doing to Washington. Do we all want to look/sound like our politicians. How pathetic would that be. Please don't confuse "political correctness" with "common decency and respect". They aren't the same thing.What exactly is Obama anyway? He seems so sympathetic to the Muslim community, and has even indicated that he is/was one. He certainly seems to "understand" them, he even bows to them. But, he was a follower of Rev. Wright, who is supposedly a Christian. He presided at his wedding and baptized his children. He was personal friends with him. When we found out who Wright really was, suddenly Obama claimed ignorance and abandoned his "friend". Either way, Obama is either weak/cowardly for abandoning his "friend", a liar for claiming he didn't know that Wright was anti-American ("God damn America") or he is blind/ignorant for not knowing who Wright was during their many years of "friendship". But yet, he's our leader. How sad.Now my opinion ... It all comes down to morality. Are you good or evil, period. No gray here. It's black and white. The truth is the truth, and you can't change that. I don't care how you try to hide, disguise or redefine it, or attach a religion/name to it. It is what it is, the TRUTH. Do we even know what the truth is today? Really?

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 10:37 AM

Duke of Earl said:

Burt,Have you forgotten Madelyn Murray O'Hair?? She was the primary moving force in the "few over ride the many" scenario.I agree that a few people (of any religious persuasion) should never be allowed to force anyone to be dis-invited(??). The simple fact of this is that the military brass have soft ones (as opposed to brass ones) and fear for their careers more than in following their oaths to the constitution.With the election of BHO I, Emperor of the World and Messiah to the loony's; we have started down that slippery slope to returning to being French and/or European. Let's hope that we can find the brakes on this thing.ths,I must echo the sentiments that have been posted against you. Members of the Jewish faith have the right to lecture about Christianity just as you have the right to your own beliefs (liberalism and progressivism). There is only one organized religious belief today that equates any follower with Satanism; and, that religion is radical Islam. And, by the way, for the record, Jesus Christ was NOT a Christian; He was a Jew. His followers are the Christians.Duke

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 10:57 AM

Dan Weber said:

Here's a good conversation between Franklin Graham and Jon Meacham re: Graham's disinvitation. As Meacham puts it, "I would go to the cross for your right to preach in almost any forum, in any way you want. But I also completely understand the argument that the point of a public religious service, to some extent, is to be as unifying as possible; the place for a sectarian argument is simply not there."http://www.newsweek.com/2010/05/05/safe-speech.html

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 11:44 AM

Stoney in Ozark, MO said:

ths, it is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 11:47 AM

evelynadele@aol.com in Florida said:

Have we forgotten that Israel is one of our greatest supporters? Have we forgotten our support for the Jewish Nation? I am reminded of the Jews saying -- after millions of their people were murdered -- Never Again. And Yes -- Jesus was a Jew. And -- in case anyone is wondering about my support of the Jews -- I am not Jewish.

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 12:07 PM

evelynadele@aol.com in Florida said:

To Stoney -- your comment -- my Dad said that to me when I was very young. I have tried to remember that and think of that advice every time I hear the words of someone who was never told that that is good advice. Thaks.

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 12:11 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA said:

Dear Readers: Because THS was the first to comment, I was getting ready to respond to him. But as I scrolled down, I found that you had all done a much better job than I could have. So thank you very much.I did come up with a few ideas about what his initials might reasonably stand for, but there are ladies present, so I'll keep them to myself.Regards, Burt

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 2:05 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

G.Wegmann don't lump us PETA members with the nut cases out there. BTW, PETA stands for People Eating Tasty Animals.

Monday, June 7, 2010 at 4:15 PM

Awllhattin O'cattle said:

Burt,The end of the first line in you writ says it all for me, as I to am amazed at the generosity of our countrymen and women. But I find myself more amazed at the generosity of those who do struggle financialy on a daily basis, yet find it in their hearts to give of their money to those down on their luck. In my 53 years of country livin',I have witnessed first hand the struggles of rural Catholics raising and loving 8,9,even 15 children in one family,yet these families gave of their money and time when they had little of either to spare. We have a few words for those type of people where I live,and it does'nt have a THS in it! We call them neighbors,friends,and family.In the words of the apostle Paul, “You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God” (2 Corinthians 9:11).Thanks Burt, for reminding me aout all the goodness we have around us.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010 at 8:04 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA said:

Dear Awllhattin: Thank you for remdinding all of us of the Americans who make this country what it is, the folks dismissed by the arrogant leftists as "the people we fly over." Burt

Tuesday, June 8, 2010 at 8:55 PM

Laurie Trlak said:

The reason that the Pentagon is so cowardly is that the military has a command structure that makes dissent impossible, or nearly impossible, if one wants to advance, at least within the officer corps. Unfortunately, that attitude works its way down to the wives and families, even in the enlisted ranks, but political correctness is really just part of our cultural zietgeist anyway. About20 years ago, I was in an AAFES Shopette at Soesterberg Air Base in the Netherlands with my then 5 year old daughter, standing in line to make a purchase. Playing on the store's PA system was Madonna's "Justify My Love." My daughter wanted to know "why that lady was making those sounds." Not wanting to explain sex to her right then and there, I said something about wishing they wouldn't play that kind of thing over the PA system when children might be present, to which a young male airman commented that he had a "right" to hear it! I kept my mouth shut, like a coward. I've been angry with myself ever since (if my husband had been there, he would have said something to that upstart), and I resolved that I would never again be such a wimp.Unfortunately, I've never had the chance to find out if I could live up tohat resolve. Today, I know I would.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010 at 11:48 AM