The Right Opinion

Guns and Piers Morgan

By Larry Elder · Jan. 3, 2013

CNN's Piers Morgan writes that the pro-gun crowd's anger toward him stems from anti-British bias: “This gun debate is an ongoing war of verbal attrition in America – and I'm just the latest target, the advantage to the gun lobbyists being that I'm British, a breed of human being who burned down the White House in 1814 and had to be forcefully deported en masse, as no American will ever be allowed to forget.”

Scads of “in-sourced” Brits appear on our telly without us Yanks calling for their deportation. Hell, we just let a Brit play Abe Lincoln. Fox's Stuart Varney seems to escape this anti-mother country xenophobia.

Maybe, just maybe, it's the way Morgan – as well as much of the guns-kill-people-crowd – holds “debates” on the matter.

Take the treatment of Larry Pratt. Respected in circles that Piers “I-have- fired-guns-only-once-in-my-life” Morgan chooses not to hang out with, Pratt heads a pro-Second Amendment group called the Gun Owners of America. Pratt, on Morgan's show, attempted to explain that the “gun control” big picture requires understanding something: Hundreds of thousand of Americans, every year, use firearms for self-defense.

Morgan's response? He called Pratt “an incredibly stupid man” and denounced “idiots like you.” Then came this: “You don't give a damn,” Morgan said, “do you, about the gun murder rate in America? You don't actually care.”

Morgan offered no study, expert, number – nothing whatsoever – to counter the claim. That anyone with a moderately functioning brain could find an upside in owning, let alone using, a gun simply astonishes Morgan. Defies common sense!

Is it true, as claimed by Florida criminalist Gary Kleck, that 2.5 million Americans each year use a firearm for self-defense? Is it true that, of that number, 400,000 people believe that, were it not for the gun they used, they would have been killed? These are questions and answers the anti-gun crowd ignores, chooses not to think about or considers irrelevant.

“How many Americans are alive,” I once asked a pro-gun control police chief, “because they used a firearm in self defense?”

“I don't know the answer to that,” he said.

“You know the exact number of people murdered because of guns,” I said, “but you don't know how many people are alive because of them?”

“No, I don't.”

“What if I told you of a study that said 2.5 million people use guns every year for self-defense – and that of that number 400,000 believe had they not had the gun, they would have been killed?”

“I don't believe that.”

“What's your number?”

“Don't have one – and it doesn't matter. We have too many guns in this country.”

At least the police chief admitted that however many more people are alive than dead because of guns, he nevertheless wants guns even more restricted.

What's Piers Morgan's excuse? He simply refused to believe the data.

What about the 2.5 million number? Pro-gun-control law professor and criminologist Marvin Wolfgang, of Northwestern University, examined Kleck's data and methodology. Just how pro-gun control is Wolfgang? He wrote: “I am as strong a gun-control advocate as can be found among the criminologists in this country. If I were Mustapha Mond of 'Brave New World,' I would eliminate all guns from the civilian population and maybe even from the police. I hate guns – ugly, nasty instruments designed to kill people.”

But of Kleck's claim that 2.5 million Americans yearly use guns for self-defense? Wolfgang wrote: “What troubles me is the article by Gary Kleck and Marc Gertz. The reason I am troubled is that they have provided an almost clear-cut case of methodologically sound research in support of something I have theoretically opposed for years, namely, the use of a gun in defense against a criminal perpetrator. … I do not like their conclusions that having a gun can be useful, but I cannot fault their methodology. They have tried earnestly to meet all objections in advance and have done exceedingly well.”

The Oscar-winning Michael Moore says America possesses “too many guns” because of racism. For my pro-Second Amendment documentary, “Michael & Me,” I “ambushed” Moore. The anti-gun Moore, by the way, was surrounded by security and coming into a venue a back way to avoid the very “ambush interviews” in which he specializes. Three times I asked Moore how often Americans use guns to defend themselves. Three times Moore deflected the question, merely repeating “we have too many guns.”

Morgan is right. Per capita, we have nearly 50 times the gun murder rate compared to the gun murder rate of England. But look at all murders, whether by knife or baseball bat. Rather than 50 times the rate, it is less than five – not 50 – times higher than the murders committed by any means in England. For my documentary, I interviewed Joyce Lee Malcolm, author of “Guns and Violence.” She said the same murder rate discrepancy – five times the British rate – existed between New York City and London for two centuries, and during most of that time neither city had any gun control laws.

This must make Malcolm “an incredibly stupid woman.” Debate over.

COPYRIGHT 2013 LAURENCE A. ELDER
DISTRIBUTED BY CREATORS.COM

Appeal_patriots_day_5
23 Comments

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY said:

I perhaps shouldn't say this, but it is my hope that every anti-gun proponent find themselves staring down the barrel of a criminal, and they themselves are without the means of self-defense. I'm sure the criminal will get a severe tongue lashing before he pulls the trigger.

Just out of curiosity, with all these buy back programs once again popping up, I wonder just how many gang bangers, drug cartels, and other assorted miscreants have turn in their weapons?

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 9:48 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Doktor, many of the anti-gun politicians have carry permits. Do as I say not as I do. I would like someone to ask an anti-gun politician (think BloomingIdiot) at a news conference, "are those rather large police officers with you armed". Do you remember a few years back when one of the security guys for the Hero of Chappaquiddick was trying to get on a plane with a Uzi (BTW, it is a full automatic).

Also we don't have cable as we are in rural Wyoming and do not have satellite either so we don't get the Communist News Network. I have never seen Piers Morgan, it just breaks me up that I never seen him. My time rearranging my sock draw was time well spent

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 6:07 PM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

Howard, We have satellite TV, but I still don`t watch Morgan. I can`t stand the British bastard`s snarky face. I cannot for the life of me understand what makes the ignorant boob think he has any business coming over here and lecturing us on our gun laws. Apparently our first skirmish with the Brits didn`t sink in too well. I do see that a group in England has a petition begging us not to deport him back to them.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 7:15 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Richard, remember if it wasn't for guns we would have a queen instead of a king (oops dictator, oops President, now I have it). Some sort of uprising occurred on April 19, 1775 in Massachusetts (before it became Taxachussets) and it involved firearms. This was before the days of underwater driving.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 7:36 PM

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY replied:

Understood about the politicos and I agree. I should have clarified it by wondering how many useful idiot type anti-gun folks would feel about my above statement.

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 8:47 AM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS said:

As usual - people make a mountain out of a mole hill and have a knee-jerk reaction instead of looking at the REAL facts! Guns DO NOT (repeat - DO NOT) kill people - PEOPLE KILL PEOPLE!

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 9:52 AM

wjm in Colorado said:

Morgan should be locked away with the rest of the marxists fools. He should be asked to explain why Chicago is the murdur capital of the world, more dangerous than our current combat zones, with nearly 4 times the death rate than in Afghanistan or some Africal realms. Ask this piece of British insanity why the most restrictive gun laws in America result in the highest murdur rate? Like most liberal filth, facts always frustrate and they must deflect, deny, counter accuse or childishly forment inuendo and fabricate groundless insults.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 10:48 AM

JJStryder in Realville said:

Piers really thinks that our American education system allows for the War of 1812 to be taught and that anyone gives a damn about the sack of Washington by the British nearly 200 years ago? He doesn't visit our public schools does he? Socialist educators are more interested in progressive indoctrination and self esteem than historic perspective. Might stumble upon the failures of communism and Marxism along the way. Can't have that!

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:00 AM

rab in jo,mo said:

Who is Piers Morgan and why does anyone give a rat's a$$ what he thinks?

If he doesn't like it here in the US, I suggest he choose another place in which to reside - I'd like to suggest North Korea, where he can experience true xenophobia and the only people with guns are police and military. I hear it's a wonderful place!

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:41 AM

Army Officer (Ret) in Kansas said:

"This gun debate is an ongoing war of verbal attrition in America -- and I'm just the latest target, the advantage to the gun lobbyists being that I'm British, a breed of human being who burned down the White House in 1814 and had to be forcefully deported en masse, as no American will ever be allowed to forget." - Piers Morgan

Never allow to forget? Given the current state of American public education, most of them never knew in the first place!

Most Democrat voters would not even be able to place the War of 1812 in the correct half-century.

I'm amused by the obsession some Britishers seem to have with the War of 1812. Most Americans don't even know there WAS a War of 1812. If you asked the average American who we fought against in the War of 1812, few would know that it was the British.

The only reason Brits care about it is that it was the last time they conquered an enemy capitol without our help (except for the occasional third-world hell-hole they were so fond of capturing).

The day red-blooded Americans need advice from lily-livered Europeans is the day Hell freezes over.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 11:43 AM

Dioneikes in Colorado replied:

Army Officer (ret) - as a fellow veteran I am sending you this link and advising you to copy it, paste it into your browser and read the article. It is written by someone who's experienced government gun control. Good intell!

http://english.pravda.ru/opinion/columnists/28-12-2012/123335-americans_guns-0/

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 12:11 PM

RPM in Pittsburgh PA said:

One question, why do all of you who are gun right supporters seem to go nuts when someone voices a different opinion? Isn't a free society about the open exchange of ideas? Besides a amendment on firearms there is one abut free speech.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 12:00 PM

Dioneikes in Colorado replied:

Please copy and paste this link into your browser - http://english.pravda.ru/opinion/columnists/28-12-2012/123335-americans_guns-0/.

Read the article and you will know why we "gun rights supporters" get a little touchy when someone talks about gun control. Hint "its not about guns - its about control and who has it."

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 12:36 PM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

"Besides a amendment on firearms there is one about free speech."

Exactly and the 2nd PROTECTS the 1st.

Actually, all you people who don't want to use or even own a gun, I don't have a problem with that. Just don't try to take away 2nd Amendment Rights from the rest of us. In fact I'll even help all of you go gun free. Go here:

https://patriotpostshop.com/products/31

and purchase some Gun Free stickers and place them around your home. Walk the talk and leave the rest of us alone to protect ourselves and families as we see fit.

If the 2nd Amendment was interpreted as broadly as the 1st Amendment especially concerning Freedom of Speech and Freedom of the Press then every law abiding citizen would be require to own and learn how to use a gun.

So all you who don't want to own a gun put up the "Gun Free Zone" signs and take the pledge:

"As an American citizen, of my own free will, I do hereby declare myself Gun-Free, never to keep or bear arms in any manner, for the rest of my natural life, under penalty of arrest and felony conviction." Sign here.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:05 PM

RPM in Pittsburgh PA replied:

I never said anything about gun ownership one way or the other. In fact I do own a revolver, although it is a better as a club than a firearm.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:31 PM

rab in jo,mo replied:

Haven't you heard? We're all just bloodthirsty psychotics, bitterly clinging to our guns and religion!

Molon Labe!

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:52 PM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

Piers Morgan is stupid.. I am biased against stupidity. I am biased toward reason and sanity. In short I truly enjoy and agree with your columns. Morgan should go back to England where he will be safer, the dimwit.

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 1:35 PM

BJ in St. Cloud, MN said:

You need to cut the libs some slack, after all, they do know what's best for us. Their objection is that when, as the preppers say, "the s--t hits the fan" they will be the unarmed victims and like all libs they don't want everyone to do well, they want no one to do more well than they do. When the GOP is in power they hate the govt enough to talk about revolution but not when the commie left is in power.
4 years ago this month I stopped a robbery in one of my stores by 2 men just by showing them my Glock .45-and my chocolate Lab. yes I care about the carnage done by individuals with guns-and without guns. But, no one< I repeat, NO ONE, has the right to tell me I can't defend my life with whatever means I see fit.

TERM LIMITS-IMPEACH-PROSECUTE-SOON

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 4:36 PM

pete in CA said:

This is only a start. Last month I received a letter from my HOA telling my some of the rocks and stones I'd decorated my drive with were "in excess of approved size."

Thursday, January 3, 2013 at 7:56 PM

Steve in Macon, GA said:

The SST would get Morgan further from the USA faster. Let's hope he takes one soon.

Here’s another tolerant progressive on guns:

"Repeal the Second Amendment, the part about guns anyway. It's badly written, confusing and more trouble than it's worth. ... Owning a gun should be a privilege, not a right. Declare the NRA a terrorist organization and make membership illegal. Hey! We did it to the Communist Party, and the NRA has led to the deaths of more of us than American Commies ever did. ... Make ownership of unlicensed assault rifles a felony. If some people refused to give up their guns, that 'prying the guns from their cold, dead hands' thing works for me. Then I would tie Mitch McConnell and John Boehner, our esteemed Republican leaders, to the back of a Chevy pickup truck and drag them around a parking lot until they saw the light on gun control." --columnist Donald Kaul

Wow, this Kaul guy gives Mob Rule Democracy a whole new meaning. By all means, let's jettison the Rule of Law and the "archaic" Constitution and hurry straight to Mob Rule tyranny.

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 9:51 AM

Steve in Macon, GA said:

Very interesting… a Russian perspective:

"There is a lot of desire to bad mouth the Tsar, particularly by the Communists, who claim he was a tyrant, and yet under him we were armed and under the progressives disarmed. Do not be fooled by a belief that progressives, leftists hate guns. Oh, no, they do not. What they hate is guns in the hands of those who are not marching in lock step of their ideology. They hate guns in the hands of those who think for themselves and do not obey without question. They hate guns in those whom they have slated for a barrel to the back of the ear." ----Mat Rodina, Pravda

http://lewrockwell.com/orig14/mishin1.1.1.html

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 9:54 AM

Steve in Macon, GA said:

It's not Halloween, but take a walk into the minds of Progressives on Daily Kos as they discuss their PLANS to disarm Americans.

"A national Firearms Owner Identification Card might be good, but I'm not sure if it's necessary if we have a national database. We should also insist on comprehensive insurance and mandatory gun safes, subject to random, spot checks by local and federal law enforcement.

We must make guns expensive and unpopular, just like cigarettes. A nationwide, antigun campaign paid for by a per gun yearly tax paid by owners, dealers, and manufacturers would work well in this regard."

The writer continues:
"We should also segway into an anti-hunting campaign, like those in the UK. By making hunting expensive and unpopular, we can make the transition to a gun free society much less of a headache for us.

I know this seems harsh, but this is the only way we can be truly safe. I don't want my kids being shot at by a deranged NRA member. I'm sure you don't either. So lets stop looking for short term solutions and start looking long term. Registration is the first step."

A bullet to the head of NRA members seems to be a later step in their plans. The idea of people who think differently is just too intolerable. Like Kaul, they are ready to make the "cold dead fingers" thing work.

http://lewrockwell.com/anderson/anderson355.html

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 10:01 AM

Honest Abe in North Carolina said:

Nasty thing, that Second Amendment, especially to liberals. For those who advocate taxing firearms and ammunition should realize the US government cannot tax a right to destroy it. The poll tax was abolished for the same reason.

Friday, January 4, 2013 at 9:56 PM