The Right Opinion

Where Have Our Cojones Gone?

By Ben Shapiro · Dec. 7, 2011

Last week in Boston, a seven-year-old boy named Mark got into a fight with a bully. The bully put his hands around the boy’s throat and began to squeeze. That’s when Mark fought back; he kicked his aggressor right in the family jewels. In a normal society, we’d celebrate Mark. Throw him a ticker tape parade or something. Bullies need a sharp kick to the testicles. That’s how you convince them that bullying is wrong.

But in Boston, Mark was charged with sexual assault.

Just to get this straight: Massachusetts Democrat Barney Frank’s gay lover can run a homosexual prostitution ring from his apartment and Frank will not be prosecuted. But a boy kicks a bully in the berries and he faces expulsion from school.

It’s not the bully who lost his chestnuts. It’s our country.

At some point in the recent past, America moved from the Gilded Age to the Gelded Age. It’s no longer considered polite to beat up bullies – that’s simply not “tolerant.” All this chatter from the left about the problem of bullying – Lady Gaga is visiting the White House this week to tell her subordinate, President Obama, what to do about it – is so much nonsense. The left has no idea how to solve the bullying problem. They treat all violence as equal – Mark and the bully are on the same moral plane – and so they recommend counseling and training, as though a little classroom instruction can solve boys' basic biological urge toward aggression.

Have these people ever met little boys?

Apparently not. Lady Gaga has only met her “little monsters,” androgynous pantywaists with no distinguishing sexual characteristics. She thinks that homosexual boys are “born this way,” but bullies can be changed by a few sensitivity training sessions. The sad truth is that biology can only be overcome by real conditioning, not by nattering. And in the case of bullies, conditioning equals physical violence.

But in our country today, that solution is considered as bad as the problem. The left has instead come up with an alternative solution: eunichism. If male biology drives violence, we have to wash that man right out of the young boys' hair. We will train them not to use toy guns but to play with dolls. We will teach them that heterosexuality and homosexuality are equals, since all sexes are the same. We will teach them that fighting bullies is the same as being a bully. No wonder the left isn’t all that upset about female genital mutilation in Muslim countries, they’re busily removing the testes of our young boys right here at home.

There’s only one problem with this beautiful new world of asexualism: It’s idiotic. All we do is train good boys to be pansies; bullies, meanwhile, continue to be bullies. Jerry Sandusky wasn’t going to stop raping little boys based on taking a few seminars – but Mike McQueary was going to avoid reporting that rape to police if he was trained into spinelessness by the surrounding culture. The Muslim Brotherhood isn’t going to stop its aggressive pursuit of worldwide Shariah if we offer its members free Lady Gaga tickets and a shopping spree at Sephora. But Western civilization will let them do it if we spend enough time decrying our own aggressive instinct.

The fact is that males' aggressive instinct is good for the world, if channeled properly. Without it, Hitler goes unpunished. Without it, millions continue to starve in the Soviet Union. The key to the aggressive instinct is training it to act along proper moral lines, not eradicating it.

The American people know that down deep. A few months back, a video went viral of a young Sydney boy, Casey Heynes, being bullied by a younger attacker, Richard. Richard punches the much larger Heynes in the face. Then he punches him again. Finally, Heynes can stand it no longer: He picks up Richard and body-slams him to the ground. Richard gets up and wobbles around, off camera. End video.

Elites of the world decried Heynes' behavior. “We don’t believe that violence is ever the answer,” said John Dalgleish, head of research at Kids Helpline and Boys Town. But tribute sites went up on the Internet to Heynes; videos celebrating his heroics became common fodder. As everyone who has ever faced down a bully knows, the only way to stop a bully is to show him that physical force won’t get him anywhere. The only way to show him that is to beat the hell out of him.

We live in a world of bullies. So long as we continue to psychologically castrate our own boys, the bullies of the world will continue winning. We will continue asking why they hate us, and they will continue choking the life out of us. Only if we re-learn to kick them in the cojones rather than removing our own will we emerge victorious.

COPYRIGHT 2011 CREATORS.COM

View all comments

28 Comments

Jay said:

Amen!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 9:12 AM

Kathy said:

You are so right - our whole country has been gelded. Maybe the officials in Boston need to be on the receiving end of bullying to see how it feels; I'm betting they would fight back too. Talk is cheap when you're not the one in those shoes.In my opinion, it goes to the 2nd amendment; even kids have the right to defend themselves. Maybe Mark should sue for taking away his rights.Many times in bullying cases the end result is suicide. Is the left okay with that versus self-defense? In my small hometown we've had 3 teen suicides just in the past 2 weeks, and all related to bullying.You're right; it's idiotic. My dad always told us "Never start a fight, but be sure you finish it."

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 9:58 AM

scottydog said:

Our youngest son is 12 years old and a green belt in Shotokan Karate. A year ago, the last bully that picked on him got his 2 front teeth knocked out. The school principle wanted to suspend him for 3 days for violence. I threatened to sue them for failure to provide adequate supervision, and they quickly changed their tune. The vice principle told me that he ought to give my son a good paddling. Our response was; "Go ahead and try, and you'll get your 2 front teeth knocked out also". We haven't heard a peep from them since and by the way, our son hasn't been picked on since then either. The best way to deal with a bully or liberal school administrators is to return the pain double.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 10:09 AM

wjm in Colorado said:

My late father told me, "there is no such thing as a fair fight". Words to live by. One of his lifelong friends was developed when he was assisted by a total stranger who came to his defense against two neighborhood bullies. They triuphed over the agressors, all were bruised and bloodied, but the bullying stopped. I too took my lumps in standing up to a much larger bully, and took advantage of illegal wrestling moves to dispatch him. Life gives us such challenges, roll over and play dead, and the bully will only be encouraged by this action, but a good beating, a swift kick where it counts, and the bully will think twice about repeating his or her actions. Teach childred self defense, right and wrong, and all children benefit.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 10:10 AM

Marcus said:

Not only will the bully think twice if you fight back but so will others. Fighting back is necessary part of letting the world know who you are. Bullies and fighting back against them seem to be the natural order of things. It's always been this way. Bullying must be genetically encoded in a certain small percentage of us. It must be God's way of establishing who are natural leaders. Nobody will follow a bully if someone of correct moral thinking steps up and defeats him.This boy Mark is already showing the signs of strength and moral leadership. I think this is exactly what liberals don't want to happen. They want to continue holding immoral power so they start with ludicrous charges against children to keep them and their parents down.It is sickening that these slimy bastards in Boston have the power to do this to Mark but is is heartening that there is Mark and other like him as well as the folks that support them.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 11:41 AM

agreed said:

BRAVO:"This boy Mark is already showing the signs of strength and moral leadership. I think this is exactly what liberals don't want to happen. They want to continue holding immoral power so they start with ludicrous charges against children to keep them and their parents down."

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 12:19 PM

Jonathan Sipe said:

Have you ever noticed that we did not have a bullying epdemic in this country until Obama was placed in the Oval Office. Except the liberal way of thinking is that something has to be done to provoke the bully so it is the victims fault. It's rediculous how these idiots think. The same thing happens to someone with a Concealed Carry Permit when they actually have to use the firearm, that they have a constitutional right to carry, in a life threatening situation. If they end up having to use deadly force on the perpatrator then the liberal media paints them as murderous monsters carrying a gun and the real criminal is made into a victim because "he couldn't help the situation that society had put him in and he had no choice but to rape, murder, and steal". It's not like he needed money to go by a descent pair of clothes to wear to a job interview. Bullys have been around forever and they have been dealt with the same way forever. The bully picks on the wrong one and the bully gets his clock cleaned. After that everyone else that he tries to pick on knows that he is not invencible and they stand up to him too. That is the solution to bullying and Lady Gaga and the Obamas need to but out and let nature take its course. Ah, the good old days when the circle was formed on the play ground and the bully was put in his place and the teachers looked the other way because their job had just been made easier.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 12:19 PM

Richard Ryan said:

Ben`s post is possibly the best I have ever read on the Patriot Post. I also love every one of the readers comments. We always told all three of our kids not to start a fight, but to never back down to a bully. All three have grown up to be self-sufficient, productive members of society.Our country is being sold down the river by the spineless, Mans`s Country member in the White House. He is a symbol of all that is going wrong with this country. For anyone wondering what Man`s Country is, look it up on the internet. You will not hear about it from the MSM.Richard RyanLamar,Missouri - Birthplace of Harry S Truman

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 1:23 PM

Sleepy Gonzales said:

Brings to mind a similar experience that happened to me in junior high about 53 years ago: A bigger guy took a swing at me, and I ducked and (more by luck than skill) executed a perfect Judo throw over my left hip and he landed flat on his back! Though just as surprised as he was, I took advantage of the situation and proceeded to kneel on his shoulders and said, "Had enough?" He nodded, I let him him up, and he and his buddles slunk away. What I didn't know until later was that the coach saw the whole thing and was laughing behind his hand. Funny thing though, from that time forward, the "bully" became my good friend and never bothered me again!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 2:15 PM

Dutch said:

Si vis pacem para bellum.If you want peace, be prepared for war.Talk to bullies in the only language they understand. We used to understand wisdom; now we deny--or worse, denigrate--wisdom.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 2:37 PM

JTG in Indiana said:

Simply stated, violence is the only answer on occasions where nothing else will work. We all know this and we all would be willing participants when the time nears.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 3:13 PM

Cheryl said:

Terrific article! So very true. The only way I ever convinced a bully to leave me alone was to scare the living hell out of them. Taught my daughter the same thing. Like me, she is very slow to anger but, also like me, you will not like her when she is angry. To steal a phrase from The Hulk! ;)

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 3:54 PM

Monk said:

As an adolescent my family lived in a neighborhood full of juvenile delinquents, many of whom acquired substantial criminal records before their 16th birthdays. Beatings were a routine occurrence with me until my father, a former US Army Ranger (WWII), started giving me nightly lessons in military hand-to-hand, judo, and boxing. Within weeks the attacks stopped, and eventually the smaller, weaker kids started running to me for protection when the bullies turned their aggressions on them. By the time we finally moved away from that neighborhood (I was 9 y/o)I had acquired a reputation among the bullies as the kid one didn't "mess with". And no, contrary to what liberals/progressives would wish to believe, I did not turn into a bully myself, nor was I in any way adversely mentally/emotionally/socially traumatized by the experience. It simply introduced me to the truth of aggressive behavior in humans, and to the wisdom of the old saying, "One sword keeps another in its sheathe."

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 4:03 PM

Tex Horn said:

I'll share what my father told me: "I'd better never catch you starting a fight, and I'd better never catch you running from one."Dutch has it right: If you want peace, be prepared for war. This goes not only for neighborhood or school bullies, but every enemy of America around the world. Strength and the willingness to fight are what our foes should understand about America...except Obama's America, where leading from behind and cowering behind his Muslim beliefs, his socialist viewpoints, and radical liberalism are the norm. Won't the fight for our personal freedoms ever be fought again? We've been robbed of many freedoms, and the Democrats and Republicans could give a darn. So what about us, the citizens? Are we truly a cowardly nation? Indeed, where have our cojones gone?

Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 4:14 PM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA said:

From the beginning of time violence has been with us and will remain so in spite of the head in the clouds liberal opinion. Meet force with superior fire power whether it be fist, foot or firearms. If there is no consequence to violent attack there will be more of it. Let those who would prey on the weak be advised the next person you perceive as weak and attack may result in you enjoying the last few seconds of your life.

Thursday, December 8, 2011 at 3:53 AM