The Right Opinion

Obama's Big Trayvon Lie

By Ben Shapiro · Mar. 28, 2012

The facts of the Trayvon Martin case are still unclear. But that hasn’t stopped the all-knowing, all-seeing President Obama from voicing his opinion of the situation. “You know,” said Obama, “if I had a son, he’d look like Trayvon. All of us have to do some soul-searching to figure out how does something like this happen.”

Leave aside the fact that Obama’s race is completely irrelevant to the situation – when French Jews were killed in Toulouse last week, Joe Lieberman didn’t see fit to announce that those Jews looked like his relatives. Leave aside the media’s insane portrayal of Trayvon as a saint, despite his record of graffiti, probable jewelry theft and violence, and drug possession. Leave aside the fact that while Obama’s theoretical son may have looked like Trayvon at age 12, he would likely look nothing like Trayvon at age 17, what with the tattoos and gold grill.

Focus instead on the last part of Obama’s statement: “All of us have to do some soul-searching.”

No, Mr. President. We don’t.

Obama implies that we all share some collective guilt for Trayvon’s killing. And this is a favorite tactic of the left: We all created the “climate” that led Trayvon Martin to bang George Zimmerman’s head on the pavement and led George Zimmerman to shoot Trayvon point blank. The “climate” argument allows for all sorts of political maneuvering and situational exploitation. It allows MSNBC hosts to go on the air and blame Rush Limbaugh. It gives leeway for congressmen to invite Trayvon’s parents to the Hill to pander to minority members of Congress about Florida’s “stand your ground law” – a law that had nothing to do with the killing if Zimmerman is really as guilty as his opponents suggest, and a law that may have saved Zimmerman’s life if the situation went down as Zimmerman and witnesses suggest.

But, of course, none of this actually has to do with Trayvon Martin’s death. The death was either the fault of Zimmerman or Martin or both. It wasn’t the fault of my 82-year-old Jewish grandmother recovering from eye surgery. It had nothing to do with the Vietnamese family in Downtown Los Angeles trying to keep a grocery running. Neither Trayvon nor Zimmerman were Rush Limbaugh listeners. This absurd “we’re all guilty” mentality is just another way for liberals to escape the bottom line conclusion: individuals, not societies, are responsible for the acts they undertake.

But as Rahm Emanuel might put it, in every tragic death lies a liberal opportunity. When Communist Lee Harvey Oswald assassinated JFK, liberals quickly blamed it on a supposed “climate of hate” – Jackie Kennedy even said she was disappointed that the assassin was a “silly little Communist.” When nutcase Jared Loughner shot Gabby Giffords, the left quickly suggested that it was overheated rhetoric that had led to the shooting. When Islamists riot in the Middle East, President Obama suggests that it’s all our fault for backing Israel. Every bad act has a culture-wide root cause, and that root cause is almost invariably conservatism – even when the facts show that the root cause was Communism, degraded pop culture or hatred of the West.

Which truly means that the left doesn’t care about the individual bad acts. The left didn’t care about Lee Harvey Oswald. They cared about all the conservative opponents of JFK. The left didn’t care about Jared Loughner. They cared about Sarah Palin, who had nothing to do with the sick freak. The left doesn’t care about George Zimmerman. They care about everybody who opposes President Obama and the liberal agenda – which is why Obama inserted himself into this story in the first place.

President Obama’s rhetorical flourish was far more than a rhetorical flourish. It was an active attempt to change the narrative, to magnify the Trayvon situation into an “America is racist, and you’re part of it” meme. What’s the cure for that ill? Why, voting for every liberal line item, including the Obama re-election, of course!

Obama’s words are an injustice. They are unjust to Martin and Zimmerman, who deserve a full factual inquiry rather than racial grandstanding. They are unjust to the Florida police, whose jobs are complicated by having to worry about national unrest over this individual case. And most of all, they are unjust to Americans, who have nothing whatsoever to do with Martin’s death – but whom Obama can milk for political gain so long as he blames them at large for every bad act under the sun.

COPYRIGHT 2012 CREATORS.COM

Appeal_patriots_day_5

View all comments

19 Comments

PDK said:

American black ideology blames whitey for what ails blacks the way Islam blames the Jews for Islamic faults.White liberals will stoop lower than the belly of a snake to keep blacks on the democrat plantation.For a black parent to name their son Trayvon immdiately jumps out with an air of suspicion, there is a lot in a name. Trayvons picture was of a 12 or 13 year old exuding innocense as that age does. The truth is on line his monica was no-limit- ni(gg)a. He had the gold teeth grill, two tatts, was on suspencion for marijuanna, was a suspected drug dealer, his friends would tweet him in need of plant. He had recently sluged a bus driver and he wore his hood up. This was the innocent young boy walking through a foreign gated community, where no one had ever seen him before, and therefore could not recognize him as friend or foe. He would have drawn my eye of suspicion. The black leaders are mouths in need of racism, and if there isn`t any racism then simply manufacture one. The truth isn`t as important as racist ideology. However what came out was black racism. All the blacks who fell for this malarky, hook, line and sinker did so because they harbor ill will for whitey. It is easier to blame whitey for black failure, than to blame themselves for not trying hard enough to succeed. IMHO, Trayvons parents failed and because they failed Trayvon went looking for it and he found it. Thank you.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 5:06 AM

wjm in Colorado said:

Deflect, Deny, Counter Accuse, the liberal playbook. This is what they do, facts just don't enter the picture. A vote for a Democrat is a vote to destroy America.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 9:51 AM

Dioneikes in Colorado said:

If I were in Zimmerman's shoes, which I'm not, I would probably have done the same thing. If someone is beating your head against a sidewalk, they have every intent on killing you whether they mean to or not. How many hits does your head have to take before the body shuts down? The water sac that cushions your brain from the inner wall of your skull is only a quarter of an inch thick at the most, so it's really no protection from damage being inflicted from one's head being slammed against a concrete sidewalk. So if what the witnesses and Zimmerman says is true, then he was justified in shooting Martin. Let the courts sort it out, or let him walk - stop convicting him in the media."Self defense is a primal law of nature, which I have not surrendered by caveat to any other entity nor would I if I could." - Author unknown.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 10:00 AM

Retired Marine said:

If I had a son... He would look just like Seal Team Six that ran up the ladderwell and double-tapped the trigger into bin Laden. Oh. Wait. I DO have a son. He is on his fifth deployment, currently with a Route Clearance Company (he deliberately looks for IEDs). (My daughter has two, so between them, now they have as many as me.) My son looks like he wears full battle rattle. My wife chewed MY ass when she saw a photo on Facebook of him pulling an artillery shell out of the ground. (He has since quit posting, thanks a lot, Son)I respectfully disagree with the President. If he had a son, then that son would not look like he was in the wrong place at the wrong time (because he was supposed to be in a Miami high school, but he was on suspension) wearing a hoodie. The President's children would look like ones who go to private schools and vacation in France, Hawaii and Martha's Vineyard. That so what Obama's kids look like.Thanks for letting me rant.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 11:24 AM

Deal Is Real said:

Retired Marine...You can rant all day and all night as far as I'm concerned. Your last line is awesome. I'm getting so sick and tired of all of this, of what our country and politics has become. I'd rather watch the decline and destruction from afar. This place is becoming increasingly inhospitable and uninhabitable. What a damn shame. Blessings on you and your family.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 11:47 AM

Cowboy in San Antonio said:

I find it interesting that racially active blacks and Democrats are not bothered by facts, what they are or what they might be. Having grown up in the south and had the occasional brush with blacks, I can attest that I did absolutely nothing to start any of the conflicts. No comments, no actions, just happened to be the nearest small white guy. Neither the news media, nor Sharpton and company, have bothered to wait until all the facts have been thoroughly explored. Apparently the law enforcement folks, and the prosecutor, as yet do not have sufficient evidence to charge Zimmerman with being the aggressor. Zimmerman turned himself in. Trayvon Martin is a petty criminal, perhaps easing up the ladder of crime into battery, a serious felony. Trayvon Martin's problem came when he found suddenly the other guy was armed, and neutralized Martin's aggression. It is always nice to gather all the information you can before convicting someone. Apparently democrats and most blacks do not subscribe to the protections built into the laws of our states. But they will cry the loudest when someone black is convicted on less than eyewitness testimony, such as fingerprints, DNA, etc. But in this case, they will not grant the same for Zimmerman. They even stretch the racial thing as a white on black when it is clear that Zimmerman is at least half Hispanic. Hate crime? Ridiculous. Lawful self defense? Most likely.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 11:53 AM

Common Man said:

As Rahm Emanuel stated, "You never let a serious crisis go to waste. And what I mean by that it's an opportunity to do things you think you could not do before."BTW, I wonder howm much Mr. Obama will get from the Russian government for his reelection campaign?

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 12:33 PM

Tex Horn said:

C'mon guys, Trayvon did look like Obama's son. A punk.Your article is right on the money, Ben. If someone was on top of me, slamming my head against the pavement with the intent to kill me, I'd hesitate not one moment in killing my attacker, "stand-your-ground-law" or not.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 12:43 PM

wjm in Colorado said:

I grew up on the south side of Chicago, and it gets dark out early there, if you know what I mean. In all of my confrontations with dark skined individuals (none of whom were African imigrants), every one was instigated by them. I survived by learning self defense skills, and surprising them with the ferocity of attack, in what should have been overwhelming odds in their favor, the cowards, beaten by a skinny little white guy, avoided further confrontations, and were often heard claiming "He Crazy!!!". They did eventually leave me alone and I they. The emerging facts, conveniently unreported by the ministry of propoganda, paint the liberals as the liars they are. If Obamao had a son he would be a useless occupier, defacating on an American Flag.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 1:00 PM

DavidMac said:

Great article, Ben!Obama's still taking pointers from the book "Rules for Radicals" by Saul Alinsky. We saw that in 2008 when Obama popped up on the national scene. Denigrate your enemies (white conservatives) and blame them for EVERYTHING! Change history simply by saying "I've always said blah blah." It's not a new tactic. Before Alinsky, George Orwell wrote about Big Brother (a euphemism for a totalitarian fascist government) which used the identical method for controlling and defeating the "enemy" of the state.The only question I have is this: Why does ANYONE want to see the Obama regime in power for another 4 years?

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 1:22 PM

JAC in Texas said:

Since Zimmerman is described as a "White Hispanic" by the media, then Obozo should now be called a "White African-American." I wonder how he would like that?

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 4:06 PM

DavidMac said:

JAC, I don't know if Obama would like it (he'd probably prefer "Obama the First One, Emperor For Life of the United Socialist States of Obama"). Personally, I'd prefer he be called a "former one-term US President who aided and abetted the failed attempt by NeoMarxists to destroy the USA".

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 4:26 PM

JAC in Texas said:

@DavidMac:Amen!

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 5:13 PM

p3orion in Midland, Georgia said:

Son of Liberty, Tex, et al-I fully agree, and in fact I don't find this so much of a "tragic death" as Ben puts it. Assuming the witness (who is black, much to the chagrin, I'm sure, of Jackson, Sharpton, and the other usual suspects) is telling the truth, whatever started the conflict, it ended after Trayvon was on top of Zimmerman (who already had had his nose broken) pounding his head into the pavement.They scream they want justice for Trayvon, but it may very well be that justice was served on the spot.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 at 7:30 PM

mrkittykilla138@yahoo.com said:

You know, I find it amazing that in a case like this some of you JUST...CANT...SEEM...to let go of the political agenda! Mr. Obama said we should try to figure out how this siutation happened. He said non of the other stuff that you added on. Its guys like you and Limbaugh that are making me and some of my social circles really wonder about switching parties. Me I'd go indy, but some of my friends are so frustrated with your rhetoric that we feel ashamed to be republicans! A kid was killed for chrissakes. The President, as much as we want him out of office, he has the right to his "all-knowing, all-seeing...opinion of the situation." At least he didn't take a side like most of America's bloggers have done. And most of them have chosen their sides based on race alone. But those racists are better than you because at least race is a factor here. Politics are not. I hope Trayvon's spirit visits your conscience.

Thursday, March 29, 2012 at 12:02 AM