The Right Opinion

I Like Gary Johnson

By John Stossel · Sep. 19, 2012

All political candidates call themselves freedom-lovers, but they are not. Neither major party really opposes government control of the economy or of our personal lives. I'm a libertarian because I see the false choice offered by political left and right: Democrats talk about personal liberty; Republicans talk about economic freedom. But what they do once in power belies their words.

I say we're best off if government just leaves us alone to our peaceful cooperation with whomever we please. Let politicians advocate moral behavior. Let them give to charities. But leave government – which is physical force – out of it.

That's why I like Gary Johnson, the former Republican governor of New Mexico. He's the Libertarian Party candidate for president. As governor, Johnson vetoed 750 bills, and yet he got re-elected in that blue state.

I asked Johnson what it means to be a libertarian.

“Fiscally responsible, socially accepting … more liberal than Obama on several issues, more conservative than Romney on several issues.”

Johnson proposes to cut federal spending by more than 43 percent:

“Balance the federal budget now. I think that unless we do that, we're going to find ourselves in a monetary collapse.”

To do that, he'd go where the money is. He'd cut the big programs that will soon bankrupt us. That includes Medicare. Conventional wisdom says what he's proposing is cruel and, for a politician, suicidal.

“Look, we've got to slash Medicare spending. If we don't, we're going to find ourselves with no health care whatsoever. Medicaid, same thing. Military spending, same thing.”

The left claims that without social spending, people would starve in the streets!

“This is the exact reaction that I got as governor of New Mexico, having vetoed all that legislation. … Kids were going to starve, all the worst things were going to happen, and none of them did. And I got re-elected.”

Who would decide what part of Medicare to cut?

“Give this up to the states. Fifty laboratories of innovation and best practice … (instead of) Washington top-down, Washington-knows-best – that's what has us in the situation that we're in right now.”

Johnson also says, “End the wars.” Won't a pullout of our troops mean the terrorists win?

“We have hundreds of millions of enemies … that, but for our military interventions, we would not otherwise have. So let's take military spending back to 2003 spending levels. Start out with the premise that we should provide ourselves with a strong national defense. But 'defense' here is the operative word. Not 'offense' and not 'nation-building.' We're building roads, schools, bridges, highways and hospitals in other countries, and we have those needs here in this country.”

In one of Johnson's campaign ads, he compares the U.S. Constitution to the U.S. tax code.

“One is simple and about equal rights for all. The other is extremely complex and anything but equal rights for all. It's crony capitalism in a nutshell. It's the root of evil. Individuals, groups, corporations pay for loopholes. Both parties sell those loopholes. Eliminate the IRS. Abolish income tax (and) corporate tax.”

How will government get money?

“With a national consumption tax. I'm embracing the Fair Tax. … Adopting the Fair Tax would issue pink slips to half of Washington lobbyists.”

Johnson would also legalize marijuana.

“Control it, regulate it, tax it.”

I like Johnson's message: Let no one be coerced by government beyond the small amount needed to fund a limited government that keeps us safe. Do not let government forcibly take other people's money. When in doubt, leave it out – or rather, leave it to the market and other voluntary institutions.

But sadly that's not how most people think. Most people think problems are things that are solved by laws. They assume it's just the laziness or stupidity of the “other” side's politicians that prevents government from solving our problems.

But government rarely solves problems. Government is inefficient. There's almost nothing government can do that we cannot do better as free individuals and groups of individuals working together voluntarily.

Without big government, our possibilities are limitless.

COPYRIGHT 2012 BY JFS PRODUCTIONS, INC.
DISTRIBUTED BY CREATORS.COM

Appeal_patriots_day_6

View all comments

118 Comments

Army Officer (Ret) in Kansas said:

To paraphrase the brilliant (and sometimes nutty) Ayn Rand: many of our problems stem from the reaction most people have when they see something they don't like: "There ought to be a law..."

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 12:23 AM

Christy in Costa Mesa, Ca said:

John...you are right on! Gary Johnson should be looked at. What he did in New Mexico is inspiring. We need someone who is a gosh darn leader and will make the tough decisions...for once. He should be included in the debates and let people make up their OWN minds instead of pigeon holing us with just 2 choices!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 2:47 AM

sarah Yarbrough in Canton Ga (former Albuquerque) replied:

IT WASN'T TWO CHOICES...where was everyone during the PRIMARY? IF they had worked hard then THEY HAD LOTS OF CHOICES. Romney was my last choice, absolutely...besides OBAMA...and that is TRULY MY LAST CHOICE...but if he wins the FINALS (general election) I AM STUCK WITH HIM!!! Romney in this TWO MAN FINAL gets my vote.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 8:00 AM

Nick Dunbar in Stafford replied:

While we are all required to pay for it, not everyone is allowed to participate in primaries. In order to participate in Republican primaries you must first join their party. I do not subscribe to Republican values. I am a Libertarian, not a conservative. Your position seems to indicate that if I do not associate with and support a party I consider to be wrong (and corrupt), then I should just hold my nose and follow you.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 8:42 AM

George Whitfield in Seoul, Korea said:

Gary Johnson is a breath of fresh air in this stifling Presidential campaign. He is a clear choice to restore America to peace, prosperity and liberty. Live free.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 4:07 AM

Robinius in Broomfield, Colorado said:

So What? Gary Johnson is not going to be President of the United States. Even if elected, Congress would not allow him to do what he says needs to be done. Congress controls the purse strings, remember? You can throw your vote away on Gary Johnson or you can vote for Mitt Romney. Obama must be stopped!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 10:07 AM

Ben in Ohio replied:

If I asked you which candidate supported government health care, had a solid anti-gun track record, led the country from a center-left viewpoint, and flip-flopped on a bunch of issues, which candidate would you think of?

In an election where Romney is not very different than Obama, picking a candidate that is actually good is the right thing to do. If Obama is elected, he'll at least have congress and the senate to shoot down his socialist policies. If Romney wins, he'll simply repeal and replace what Obama did - and the replacing part being just as egregious.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:08 AM

MIResident in Michigan replied:

Ben,
We've had this situation since 2010 - and Obama continues to write executive orders and his regulatory minions continue churning out mountains of bad regulation - regulation that Congress did not vote on.

An Obama 2nd term, even w/ Republican Congress (minimal the House still), is still bad.

I agree alot w/ Johnson - however a vote for him is a vote for Obama. With a due respect, we can't have a 2nd Obama term.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 1:11 PM

Shannon in Indiana replied:

The thought of voting for someone, Romney, who is so blatantly against what I believe, is sickening. Obama is just as bad, the only redeeming feature he has that Romney lacks is his stance on reproductive rights and his lack of championing for "protection of marriage.' If you think Romney is going to win this election, you are seriously more delusional than anyone I know voting for Johnson. Every time that man opens his mouth, he loses more voters. I would rather vote my conscience and help the Libertarian party achieve the 5% needed for automatic ballot access in 2016. If Obama wins, so what. Either one of them are going to be terrible for this country but at least Obama will only be there for 4 years.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 2:56 PM

Catherine Stephens in Bernalillo replied:

You Tell them Shannon,i agree with you 100 %.Gary did a fabulous job here in New Mexico and he can do a Fabulous job for our Country.He is a smart business man and he is not in the pockets of the powers that be.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:51 PM

Anonymous Anonymous in Anonymous replied:

He has my vote also, only downside is that since he isn't bought yet, he either will be, or they'll disqualify him, just like they did to Ron Paul and his delegates (omnipresent 'they' being the whole government system, not just republicans)

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:10 PM

Sue in Boston replied:

Shannon--this is one of the best things I can tell Republicans who don't like him but are considering voting for Romney out of some sense of obligation or fear of Obama. You are so right--at least Obama is out of there after 4 years. The Republican party has lost its way, and maybe this election will show them that they need to treat the Ron Paul contingency with more respect or risk letting their party lose relevance. There is only one sane choice in this election. I am voting for Gary Johnson.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:09 PM

chris in va replied:

Amen

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 10:08 PM

Craig in Minnesota replied:

Kevin, I agree alot w/ your comment - however if every person with your view ACTUALLY voted for Gary Johnson and not the "lesser of two evils", Johnson would win!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:45 PM

Nick in New Jersey replied:

How has voting for the lesser of 2 evils been working out for you lately?
Fact: Romney and Obama both support the NDAA which allows any president to indefinitely detain any US citizen in military prisons without a trial, lawyer, judge, or even a formal charge for simply being labeled as a belligerent. US citizens can also be tortured and assassinated using this law. Hitler passed a similar law before he rounded up the Jews. How anyone would vote for the 2 headed one party system justifies Einstein's definition of insanity. Doing the same thing repeatedly and expecting a different result.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:34 PM

Amy F in Near Reading, PA replied:

I completely agree. I have been enlightening everyone to the fact there is another option! Everyone is shocked. People need to know who he is and where he stands. Majority of the people that I tell are voting for one mainly to oppose the other. He needs to be heard!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:38 PM

Kevin Stephens in Hershey PA replied:

A vote for Johnson is NOT a vote for Obama. It is a vote for true change in a country that desperately needs it.......... i personally think a vote for Romney is a vote for Obama because they are both from the same "2-headed evil beast" that has been ruining this country for years. Plus, besides from a few social issues that they differ on, they are pretty much the person because they agree on everything else. Its time to stop the insanity!! Have some guts and take a stand before its to late.................JOHNSON ALL THE WAY!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:15 PM

Kevin Stephens in Hershey PA replied:

"INSANITY....... DOING THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AND EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS!"

A vote for Johnson is NOT a vote for Obama!!!!!...... it is a vote for hope and real change which this country desperately needs. I personally think that a vote for Romney is a vote for Obama. Why???? Because besides from a few social issues that they differ on, they are pretty much the same. They both are from the same "2-headed evil beast" that is ruining this country. Have some guts and take a stand. Gary Johnson is the only way!!!
Orrrrrrr, you can just sit there and baaaaaahhhhh w' the rest of the sheep!!!! Peace

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:32 PM

Jeremy in Tacoma, Wa replied:

Kevin,
Truer words were never spoken. I'm tired of hearing everyone complain about politicians and the government and when someone comes along who is actual different and would bring about change those same people say no. People need to quit voting out of fear and start voting for someone worth a damn. Gary Johnson in 2012!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 8:23 PM

c4lcncpls in Charlotte NC replied:

The RNC needs to be destroyed and rebuilt. They are corrupt to the core and as a long time Republican, I would rather vote for Obama than see this corruption continue. The RNC has no integrity whatsoever. They are the true enemy of liberty and justice for all. By re-electing Obama, the Elephants will be turned into Woolly Mammoths! Extinct! And that is very much needed.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:15 PM

Michael in Ohio replied:

Kevin you are the problem with this country not a part of the solution. He is an article written just for people like you who use the excuse a vote for ( enter name) is a vote for ( enter name). Enjoy http://www.examiner.com/article/arguments-against-third-parties-and-how-to-counter-them

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:56 PM

Jeff in Urbandale, IA replied:

A vote for Obama is a vote for Obama. A vote for Johnson neither helps nor hurts Romney or Obama...the thinking that a vote for a 3rd party is a vote for Obama is ridiculous. Nothing will ever change if we keep voting for the lessor of two evils. Get some courage and vote your conscience...or you can feel dirty for the next 4 years.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 2:03 AM

sarah Yarbrough in Canton Ga (former Albuquerque) replied:

ONE TINY state that wanted universal health care is NOT the USA. To say one of the most LIBERAL STATES in the USA is representative of Romney is just nonsense. He was the GOV OF A LIBERAL STATE! He did what the majority wanted. He wasn't KING! He is a fiscal conservative and he will appoint CONSERVATIVE JUSTICES...that is the most important issue now. We also have to have a Republican Senate to approve him/her. We aren't appointing a KING! Of course unless Obama wins :-) Dems always use misdirection. The issue for Romney isn't him wanting Health care and he has promised to rescind Obama/Hillary care. Give him a CHANCE don't believe the Dems and media. Gary doesn't have a chance.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 7:56 AM

Rand in San Diego, CA replied:

Robinus, it is not the libertarians and independents who are in a state of denial, it is you. Sure, because of the power structure in this political landscape, it is unlikely that Johnson will ever win. But that is not the point. We are in the mess we are in because people like you vote for who you think will beat the evil party's candidate, not who has the best proposal for giving liberty back to the people. Romney is no more likely to return liberty back to the people and reduce the size of govt than Obama. His track record as governor of MA and his campaign remarks show that. The only difference between Obama and Romney is who they want to control. Johnson has a two-term track record of holding the line on out of control state govt growth, reducung the size of state govt, and finishing his term of office with a solid state surplus. Can't say that for Romney and you certainly can't say that for Obama.

The libertarians and people concerned with their rights and freedoms are committed to voting for candidates who advocate for freedom or we don't vote for anyone. No longer will we fall for the fallacy of voting for the lesser of two evils because it NEVER gives us more freedom, but only determines how fast we fall into the pit of authoritarianism.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:18 AM

MIResident in Michigan replied:

There is a world of difference between Obama and Romeny, and Biden and Ryan.

Would I prefer a libertarian/tea party candidate like Johnson? Yes. Will Johnson get elected? No. And this year, a vote for Johnson is a vote for Obama - far worse than Romeny.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 1:13 PM

Shannon in Indiana replied:

I absolutely disagree. Obama is no good but Romney isn't one iota better, and in fact, when it comes to personal freedoms Romney is much worse. Not to mention the fact that Romney seems to be foaming at the mouth to start more warfare.
Tell me what the differences are between them precisely. A few of the reasons I won't support either...
NDAA, both support
Patriot Act, both support
Government mandated healthcare, both support
Increased government spending, both support
War on Drugs, both support
A vote for Johnson is a vote for Johnson and saying anything else is just a desperate attempt to try and cover up the fact that the GOP nominated an unelectable cad. It's not like they take add votes for candidate #1 then subtract it from total votes to get Candidate #2s vote. I am sure when Romney loses, the Libertarians will be blamed because that's what happens when politicians can't handle the fact that the people didn't want to vote for them.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 3:01 PM

TONY in SPOKANE replied:

I get so tired of hearing "A vote for Johnson is a vote for Obama".. please. I'm taking my vote from Obama, and giving it to Johnson. I would never vote for Romney in the first place. He is a joke. I can't, oh wait, yes I can, believe the GOP voted him in.... The GOP is making so many mistakes lately in the swing states that it wont even matter. It would be a major upset at this time if Obama didn't win, unless we can get some momentum going Gov. Johnsons' way.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:45 PM

Curtis in Fayetteville, NC replied:

Here's the fallacy with those of you stating a vote for Johnson is a vote for Obama. Fact is, without Johnson, I would personally just stay home, I simply can't vote for Obama or Romney in good conscience. What I find amazing is if all the people that proclaim to like Johnson's message, but feel they have to vote for Romney, would just vote for Johnson, he would actually have a shot at winning. I don't know about you, but I refuse to continue to vote for the lesser of two evils. A vote for the lesser of two evils is still a vote for evil. Have fun with that mentality. I for one am done with thinking this way. I challenge anyone currently thinking of voting for Romney (Obama Light) to seriously look at Gary Johnson and vote your conscience, instead of voting against Obama. Vote FOR Gary Johnson. All of you trying to blame Libertarians and Independents if Obama wins, well guess what? I'll blame anyone that supported an idiot like Romney. Amazing how that shoe gets put on the other foot when the perspective is turned back around. So go ahead, be gutless and vote for Romney, knowing full well he won't be any better than Obama.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:22 PM

Kevin Stephens in Hershey PA replied:

Curtis...... i couldn't have said it better myself and agree w' you 100%!! A lot of my friends and family are saying the same thing...... that they like Johnson but he cant win so why bother and thats why they are voting for Romney. To me this makes absolutely no sense at all. Like you said, if ALL of these people would just vote their conscience and stop voting strictly down political lines, Johnson would definitely have a shot at winning!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:44 PM

Cyric Renner in Washington, D.C. replied:

Try to convince them Kevin. This is the argument that I put forward when I hear this rhetoric. The only "wasted" vote will be one for Obama and Romney, because on major policy issues, there is no different between them. Romney, in fact maybe more dangerous, because knows nothing about foreign affairs and has surrounded himself with Neocon's. He might start a war with Syria and Iran right from day 1. That is how is talking.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 5:57 PM

Ken in Nevada replied:

I agree, stop playing American Idol for the Presidency and show some spine as a people and stand up and vote against the status quo finally and quit whining about Obama or Romney and vote for Gary Johnson and do away with greed and tyranny otherwise its endless wars and bad economy for as far as your eye can see.And as far as freedom goes you can kiss that goodbye.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 9:59 PM

Jay in Tennessee replied:

http://lptn.org/index.php/component/content/article/38-front/277-my-final-answer

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 10:40 PM

Dan in New York, NY replied:

Agree with several commenters - a vote for Johnson is neither a vote for Obama nor for Romney. If I wasn't voting for him I either wouldn't vote or maybe would have dragged myself to the polls to vote for Obama with extreme reluctance - mostly for his social values, because on foreign policy and economics, they're both terrible. The truth is, while very unlikely that Johnson will win this election, if enough of us vote our conscience and he actually has a respectable showing, maybe, just maybe, next election or the one after there's a chance of a third party win.

Sunday, September 23, 2012 at 7:51 AM

Sharon Hansen in Pontiac replied:

Thanks for speaking my feelings so eloquently! I agree with you 200%. If we keep falling for this vote for the lesser of two evils, our country will be destroyed in the very near future. I'd rather take my chances with God and Gary Johnson.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:03 PM

Rod in USA replied:

Stop attacking Robinus: He is speaking practically. I too like most of what Gary Johnson says. There are simply too many "99%-ers" (aka, LOSERS) who fail to think. A vote for Johnson IS throwing away a vote and akin to voting for Barack Obama, just like a vote for Ross Perot was in the 90's. We need to take baby steps. I wish it were different.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:54 AM

Sharon Hansen in Pontiac replied:

And you all keep falling for that line of BS. Vote for the right person and he will win!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:05 PM

Robert Garrard in Douglas County, Kansas replied:

I will vote for Gary Johnson and two other Libertarians who will be on the ballot in my precinct. I will leave the rest blank. If not for Libertarians on the ballot I would not vote.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:47 PM

Daniel Witherell in Redding replied:

Thinking like this is exactly why we are limited to only two choices. Every election cycle people like you will scream that we are wasting our vote if we do not cast it for one of the major party candidates. We need to start somewhere. At some point people need to say NO, I will not be led like sheep, I will vote for who I believe in regardless of party..

As for congress, as long as it is divided nothing will get done regardless of the election of Obama or Romney. Our only hope would be someone not afraid to stand up to both parties and who is willing to veto every BS bill they send up to the white house. Only one choice from where I sit. Gary Johnson.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 12:55 PM

MIResident in Michigan replied:

Daniel - Even a Romney/Ryan WH and Democrat Senate (Republicans easily keep or increase their House numbers) is far better. Obama through his executive orders, and his regulatory minions are wreaking havoc - all that stops w/ Romney.

Save your libertarian/tea party vote for local/state elections - and as we recover from this morass, national elections.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 1:16 PM

Bobcat in Utah replied:

George Bush issued one executive order and signing statement after another, and Romney will do the same. Changing from Obama to Romney will do absolutely nothing to stop that practice.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:28 PM

J. Mills in Tacoma, WA replied:

Well, Romney or Obama is going to lose also. Still, we have elections.

Like Romney and Obama, Johnson may not win . . . this year. Reagan also lost a primary to Nixon before winning the presidency. Nixon lost a general election before winning. Bush 1 lost the primary to Reagan before winning after serving as Reagan's VP. Elections are about long-term building of support. You will never get what you want by voting for what you don't want.

Also, are you kidding? Your vote isn't going to decide this election. Your odds of being killed by a falling asteroid on the way to cast your ballot far exceed the odds that you will decide who wins. In the closest election in memory, if you didn't cast 538 ballots in some key Florida primaries, you didn't decide the election. This year is not different. The candidates will decide this election by their behavior. Your ballot won't.

Casting your ballot with the idea your one vote will actually decide the horse-race is the height of absurdity.

And, by the way, if elected the Congress could do precious little over a presidential veto. So, Gary could orchestrate big changes - don't kid your self on that issue.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 1:16 PM

Jay in Baltimore replied:

I agree completely that we shouldn't throw our votes away. I just have a very different opinion of what that really means.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:30 PM

Oshi in Philadelphia replied:

Do not underestimate the power of the Executive Order.

I agree that things are not getting done because Congress will block so many things Obama will try to do. While I voted for him in '08, I would rather not vote for him this year.
However, Mitt Romney, in my eyes, is a legitimately terrible human being. Were John Huntsman, Ron Paul, or Gary to have won the Republican nomination, they would have had my vote in a heartbeat.

Fortunately, one on that list is still up for vote. And the only wasted vote is one for someone you don't believe in, simply to vote against "the other guy."

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:36 PM

Evan in Colorado replied:

It's exactly that kind of thinking that keeps third parties stunted election after election. 5% will make a political party eligible for the Presidential Election Campaign Fund (http://www.fec.gov/press/bkgnd/fund.shtml). Which will send a message at the very least. Possibly this could get the ball rolling to a third party taking larger and larger percentages of votes in each upcoming election. No one who votes is "throwing away" their vote. Just 5% is a win. I'd rather vote for someone I actually agree with and help change the political direction of this country. To me this is a much better option than voting for the lesser of two evils, which is still voting for evil. I'm throwing my vote to Gary Johnson, not away.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:04 PM

Jack in Rochester replied:

Saying a vote for Gary Johnson is to "throw your vote away" is a great example of what is wrong with this country. People will vote for someone even if they don't like him, just to keep the person the like even less from getting elected! How is that democracy?! Our right to vote is rooting in the idea that you cast your vote for the person who you feel will do the best job for the country, regardless of the outcome. You don't vote just so you can go in to work the next day bragging about "your guy" winning. Yet, that seems to be what this country has come to, a "I win, you lose" contest. Which is exactly why we are in the mess we are in. Use your brain, get involved and vote you conscience.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:23 PM

Keith in Escanaba, MI replied:

no friend, it is you who is throwing your vote away by supporting the same 2-party system that keeps its boot on your face.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 8:29 PM

Dan Newberry in Oregon replied:

Romney stands no chance. So a vote for Gary Johnson Makes sense. If all Lukewarm Romney voters switched to Gary Johnson,They would not only get Gary's 5% they would easily pick up independents and lots of latinos plus anti war types from both parties. Republicans, Dems and other have about 33 percent each of the electorate. There are a lot of Obama voters who are voting for the lesser of two evils and the only thing that stops them from voting Johnson is the perception that he can't win. If all of a sudden the polls showed a sharp rise in support for Johnson you might get a
big surprise.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 8:40 PM

RonnieB in Omaha replied:

Problem being though is the polls I've been asked to participate in are purposely only giving Obama and Romney as candidate options. Hard to voice my support for Johnson when the "independent" polls don't offer that choice!

Friday, September 21, 2012 at 1:58 PM

Y Timberlake in ALABAMA replied:

WRONG! If we are left only with two bad choices, then Obama is the lesser of two evils. at least he cares about the 47% that Romney says it's not his job to care about.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 9:02 PM

David in St. Louis, MO replied:

@Rob - No president can move congress alone - but the president can set an agenda. Having a third party president would invoke compromise from the other two and move us in a stronger direction both fiscally and socially.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 10:29 PM

Ray in Charlotte, NC replied:

Robinius, do you realize that 750 vetoes in 2 terms is more than all of the presidents since G. Washington put together? Are you aware that of those vetoes only 7 were overridden? However, you are correct in saying Obama has to go. I fear that you are also correct that Gary Johnson cannot win. I don't agree with all of his agenda but he does make more sense than anyone on the ballot and will probably be the reason Obama wins. A vote for Johnson will be a vote for Obama. I honestly think he is the freshest person in politics since Ronald Reagan.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 10:36 PM

Robert Garrard in Douglas County, Kansas replied:

As several people have explained, a vote for Johnson is a vote for Johnson.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:51 PM

RonnieB in Omaha replied:

A vote for Johnson is a vote for REAL CHANGE in the political system this is really the base of the movement imho, the real goal is to get the party onto ballots everywhere, increase Gary's household recognition and get the 5% for Presidential Campaign Funds as well as 15% in surveys to get televised debate invitations. If you don't show support now for a change in the election and government process, don't expect it to be any different 4 years from now.

Friday, September 21, 2012 at 2:02 PM

Robert in Tampa Bay FL replied:

Voting for soemthing you dont believe in is wasting your vote. Even if your canadate will not be elected. Your voice is not heard if you bow to others opinions. I will not be swayed by others...Ever nor will any true Libratarian.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:39 PM

Tom in McPherson Kansas replied:

I will throw my vote away on Gary Johnson, long before I will vote for Mitt the MORON!!!!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:56 PM

Dale Doelling in Sebastian replied:

I disagree! If we elect Gary Johnson it will send a resounding message to Congress that the electorate is fed up with the Status Quo. "Twit" Romney is just the other side of the same coin! If you don't realize that then you simply aren't paying attention.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 8:49 AM

Big Kris Custer in Denver replied:

Romney is the exact same as Obama. What part of that don't you get? Both are funded by Goldman Sachs both are for Obama care, both are for taking away freedom. Both are for war.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 11:56 AM

Matt in FL replied:

Executive orders don't require congress, to sign, or to repeal.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 7:44 PM

Brad Walters in Pasadena, TX replied:

If he will not be elected it is because of people like you without the courage or intelligence to vote for the right thing. True, Congress holds the purse strings. The President has the power to say NO. (It's called the veto). If he says NO Congress in BOTH Houses have to come up with two thirds to be able to say YES and have any effect. That is not an easy thing to do. Consider that the Senate has not even passed a budget for three years...and they are going to get 2/3 vote to overide? Johnson was only overridden 2 times out of 750 as a Republican with a Democrat legislature. Use your mind and don't waste your vote on the status quo taking us to collapse.

Saturday, September 22, 2012 at 11:10 AM

Tom in Colorado replied:

Some people believe themselves qualified to judge what is wasteful for me when they are only qualified to judge what is wasteful for them. There is no one in my life, but my Father/Mother God, who has such a qualification. What you believe for yourself is interesting to me .. your opinions concerning the necessary directions for my life mean nothing. I make all those decisions and do not consider you remotely qualified to make such decisions for me. However, when brought into the arena of what you believe I should be doing with my vote, I find it interesting that I have the same outlook for what your doing with your vote .. wasting it by
voting for a Republocrat and not voting for someone just to prevent
another person from gaining a political voice. Thankfully, I don't face
your dilemmas. In my world, such behavior is the real waste. I'm willing to be bet you'd have no problem with a vote for Jill Stein because it would guarantee a Romney win in your world .. in my world that's just messed up.

Sunday, September 23, 2012 at 1:18 PM

joe4liberty in Frederick replied:

If you want Obama stopped, you can't vote for Romney. This election cycle will see as many as 10 tea-party candidates elected to congress. And there will be other "tow-the-line" Republicans elected as well, and Congress will swing to the Republicans. Republicans will never vote against a Republican president, and Democrats will never vote against spending increases and government growth. Romney does not want to repeal Obama-Care, he wants to "replace" it (and remember, he was the first one to pass government healthcare). Romney does not want to cut spending, he wants to expand it. if Romney wins, than government will continue to grow out of control. If however, congress goes Republican, and Obama is reelected, then and ONLY then can you slow the growth of government (you could reverse it by electing Johnson, but Thus, as you point out, Johnson is not going to win). The reason why we need to vote johnson rather than Obama - besides the obvious point of not voting for the socialist, is that the message to the GOP is that in 2016, they had better nominate a small-government candidate, or continue to loose. As long as you will vote for whatever $hit that they give you, you are blind!

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 12:44 PM

wjm in Colorado said:

Johnson has some great ideas, but not a chance at getting elected. We have a choice in a flawed candidate in Romney, who still believes in the Constitution and would be inclined to govern, and Chariman Obamao, who hates America, envies China, and will destroy America so he can RULE. We can start to turn America around, but if Obamao wins, thats it, America is no more.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 10:26 AM

Rod in USA replied:

Concur. I only wish more people had the clarity of mind and angst of heart about this that you and I do; Romney would win in a major landslide and that would be a clear and convincing message.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:56 AM

Rob in Melboure,FL replied:

If everybody tows the Party line and votes for Romney just to get Obama out, then the people on control of the GOP will take that a support of their policies and continue to ignore our smaller government concerns. The only way your vote truly count is it you vote for the candidate the TRULY represents your interest. Both Republican and Democrat party leadership this year show their true colors and overruled their voting majorities at the conventions this year. Why do you think voting for them will change anything.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 12:24 PM

Bobcat in Utah replied:

If Romney believed in the constitution he wouldn't have selected Ryan as his running mate, a man who has repeatedly cast votes for unconstitutional actions. It's not about words, it's about track record.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:29 PM

Dan Newberry in Oregon replied:

Romney loves the constitution so much that he emphatically supported the NDAA and insisted that the president needs the power which he demanded in NDAA. That is he wants to be able to sent military to your house and arrest you without warrant or probable cause and then imprison you anywhere in the world he wants for the rest of your life. Never accountable to any court. The military can't even do that to their own soldiers. Yep. That Romney is quite the constitutionalist.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 8:47 PM

Robert Garrard in Douglas County, Kansas replied:

Scared of Obama? Trade your federal reserve notes for gold and silver coins, plant a garden, buy a good rifle and get ready for the great depression. Don't be scared of Obama. And don't vote for 8 years of Romney.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:55 PM

Anthony Deluca in Staten Island said:

John you are a hero of mine. I must have watched every one of your videos I can find online. I know you gave Johnson some heat on your program for not endorsing legalizing all drugs. Anyway I agree with you on that but think he is obviously mioles above the other cannidates. Hopefully he somehow gets on the debates.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:02 AM

Tex Horn in Texas said:

I'm a Libertarian also, John. But in this case, I agree with Robinious. Gary Johnson is not going to be president. And wjm is right also, in that we can start to turn America around if we can depose Obama. That means a vote for Romney, like him or not (I don't). The most important thing in in this election is to depose Obama. The second most important thing (and it could be argued that it's the first) is to take the Senate. So, while I agree that Gary Johnson has some great libertarian ideals, right now he is just in the way. Depose Obama. Vote Romney/Ryan. Then, let's start cleaning up.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:13 AM

jay in nj replied:

if every one just stopped this nonsense that ill vote for the lesser of the 2. then johnson could win by a landslide. this is idiotic thinking. obama and romney are the same on alot of issues. and romney is not going to start getting us back in the right direction hes just going to tweak things to change the look of sending us down the same path. four major banks equally support both of them equally so they help there crony legislation.
and just to put it out there i am a registered dem. and will be supporting gary he pulls equally from both

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 12:46 PM

Tom in McPherson Kansas replied:

I will be voting for Gary as well !!!!!!!!!

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 12:03 AM

Randy McLeod in Keystone Heights, Fl. replied:

I'm a democrat, but will vote for Gary Johnson. Won't vote for liars.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 7:50 AM

MARY MOORE in SANDSPRINGS OKLAHOMA``` said:

I am a Reg. Republican have been for 56 years. But I can no longer support the antics of my party, I don't support the extremists at all. I can't abide by the under hand way this years nomination and attempt to gain the Presidency at all costs, Plus I do not Like or Trust Mitt Romney. As an Oklahoman Omay not be able to vote for Gary Johnson. But like Mr. Johnson said pick one of those to I'd just have to die. I hope I sonehow get the Priviledge to Vote for the Absolutely Best Man, Gary Johnson..

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:50 AM

Rod in USA replied:

Read wjm above: You're throwing away your vote, and in effect, voting for Obama. It's Ross Perot all over again. We need a Romney landslide to convey the right message.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 11:57 AM

Catherine Stephens in Bernalillo replied:

Don't you think YOU might be the one throwing your vote away ? The same thing can be said about you. I believe if you vote for someone you really don't want then YOU are throwing your vote away.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:07 PM

Robert Garrard in Douglas County, Kansas replied:

A vote for Romney is a vote thrown away. Bush=Clinton=Bush=Obama=Romney.

Thursday, September 20, 2012 at 12:00 AM

MIResident in Michigan replied:

Inversely that means you like the antics of the democrat party. I'd agree w/ you about the Republican party of the 2000-2008. Still too many 'establishment' republicans around, but there are many new faces that are hear to stay - party is changing.

Nonetheless, as others have said, the most important thing period - Obama gone.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 1:21 PM

Lisa in USA said:

If you are not in a swing state and are in a state that is heavily red or blue anyway, I don't see any reason not to vote for Gary Johnson. I live in a heavily red state which will swing Romney no matter how I vote. Why not vote with my conscience?

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 12:16 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Lisa, Wyoming is better than 2 to 1 Republican to Democrap. If two Republicans (a Conservative and RINO) were running the Democrap would come in third. In the election for Governor in 2010 there were three candidates, Matt Mead running on the Rep. line, Taylor Haynes running a write in campaign and the Democrat (forgot the name. The total vote for Mead and Taylor Haynes was better than double the Dem. In most parts of the state the Dem. has no chance of winning. The exceptions are Laramie (it has the University), parts of Cheyenne and the Peoples Republik of Jackson (the morons from Kalifornia moved there). The way I see it, the vote this year is between a socialist and a communist.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 2:50 PM

Josh in Texas said:

To all those who say a vote for Gary Johnson is a vote for Obama. Your mentality is broken. Democrats will tell you a vote for Gary Johnson is a vote for Romney as well. I bet Gary will end up taking an equal amount of votes from both parties. Anyways never in the history of an presidential election has a vote been decided by one vote. So you might as well vote for who you think the best candidate is. A vote for a lesser of 2 evils is still evil. That is all. GOOD DAY

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 5:45 PM

Bobcat in Utah said:

Every vote that Romney takes away from a legitimate candidate - Gary Johnson - is a vote for four more years of Obama. It is absolutely clear from the polls that Romney cannot win. It is time for him to step aside and not take votes away from Johnson.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:32 PM

December in Oregon said:

I had given up on voting, what would be the point to vote for 1 evil against another...then I found out about Gary...I researched, and loved what I found. I will be voting in this election! We need Gary Johnson to help give us back our America!!

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:38 PM

Randy McLeod in Keystone Heights, Fl. replied:

Really in the long run, it's not your vote that (might have) won for the president. It was the Delegate's Vote. U.S.A. should abolish the Delegate's Vote and let the people vote, head up. Just like they do in Canada.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012 at 7:59 AM

Tim Martin in Great Falls, Montana said:

Voting for Gary Johnson is the only sane choice. A vote for Romney or Obama is a wasted vote. Both men have become very rich and powerful under the system that exists right now and they are not going to rock the boat or upset the status quo. A vote for Romney or Obama is a vote thrown away. Both men and those behind them stand to profit a great deal if we argue about the same things every election cycle.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:53 PM

T London in WA said:

All these people who come on here and say people are throwing their vote away are nuts, a vote isn't thrown away just because the person someone chooses to vote for looses, I guess all the people who voted for McCain and Kerry threw away their votes becasue their candidates lost.

What I find intersting is the Prigressive think that someone voting for a third party candidate is throwing their vote away and giving it to Obama, the idiots have constantly voted for the duopoly parties and nothing has changed.

Both oarties appeal to their respective bases, and then basically do the same thing, Obama's foreign policy isn't any different than George Bush's, and his was the same has Clinton's foreign policy, and yesterday Obama got to continue indefinite detention just like George Bush.

Keep voting for the candidates in the two major parties and see change happen. I almost forgot there never is any change really.

Yeah Mittens Romney is going to be a big difference, yeah right!, he'll get right in there do what all his predecessors have done nothing.

I vote for what's best for the country and my conscience, not my party since I don't have a party or just voting for some the same paid for corporate politicians like Romney and Obama.

I'm 54 I haven't seen where either major party has made things better.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 6:59 PM

Rhonda Keiper in Amherst, NH said:

Go to this website and sign the petition to get Gary Johnson into the debates then share with all your friends and colleagues.

http://www.change.org/petitions/open-up-the-2012-presidential-debates

Wednesday, September 19, 2012 at 7:13 PM