The Right Opinion

Time for Congressional Republicans to Expose Obama's Agenda

By David Limbaugh · Nov. 30, 2012

We can get back to discussing GOP minority constituent recruitment soon, but in the meantime, we have a fiscal cliff issue that beckons – the real fiscal cliff (America's imminent financial collapse), not the government shutdown molehill everyone is agonizing over.

Congressional Republicans should look at their party's loss in the presidential election as liberating. They surely now understand that the strategy of soft-pedaling Obama's record and agenda doesn't work. They surely grasp that its fear of calling President Obama out on his real intentions and the disastrous consequences of his destructive policies just plays into his hands and enables the advancement of his agenda.

So, how about some bold, straight language from our side? How about telling the American people exactly what Obama is up to? How about drawing a line in the sand right now – before the pseudo “fiscal cliff” negotiations even begin – and announcing there is no point to entering these farcical talks because they don't share the same goals? Republicans want to prevent a national financial collapse, and Obama wants to keep spending and prevent entitlement reform so that he can complete his task of fundamentally transforming America.

Obama is already engaging in doublespeak and deception about his goals in these negotiations, and Republicans, instead of permitting him to control the language and the narrative, should flush his true intentions into the open at the very outset.

Let's start with this fact: Obama doesn't want to raise “revenues.” He wants to raise tax rates on the “wealthy,” a group that includes tons of people who are not wealthy, and a policy that may well not raise significant revenues anyway. Even if you assume tax hikes on those who provide the lion's share of American jobs won't further suppress economic growth and thus revenues, the amount of money they would generate won't make a dent in our annual deficits, much less our crushing national debt.

So Republicans must assert that Obama's uncompromising demand that we raise taxes on the “wealthy” is not about raising revenue, but redistributing wealth and punishing the rich.

Every honest, informed person knows we cannot bring our budget and debt into balance without major structural entitlement reform and real reductions in discretionary spending.

Here again, Obama has made it very clear he doesn't share the goals of reducing spending and reforming entitlements. He not only refuses to restructure entitlements and seriously reduce discretionary spending (except military), but he's salivating over the prospect of spending (he calls it “investing”) any “revenues” the tax hikes generate.

The naked reality is that Obama and his Democratic Party are entering these budget negotiations in bad faith. Republicans must confront Obama, using plainspoken English words as defined in the dictionary. Either he doesn't believe spending and entitlement reforms are essential to balancing the budget and averting a financial collapse, which would make him more obtuse than any president in history, or he doesn't have any intention of addressing our deficit and debt problems. Either way, he has obstructed any serious spending and entitlement reform initiatives for four years and still hasn't put a plan on the table. It's imperative that we conclude he is going to use all his power to prevent such actions going forward.

On those rare occasions when Obama is forced to discuss entitlement reform, he demagogues and lies about alleged reductions in entitlement benefits to the middle class and seniors that would occur under Republican plans. But we have no choice but to institute and manage a reform plan on our own terms, such as Paul Ryan's Path to Prosperity, which does in fact preserve benefits for the most vulnerable groups and causes as little pain to others as possible. Otherwise, our exploding expenditures are going to force reform upon us the hard way, with an ugly Grecian-style financial collapse that will make 2008 look like child's play and show us what real pain is.

If the GOP acts forcefully and boldly, it may still prevent this collapse. But if not, when we are hurtling toward the Earth together, we can do so knowing we did all we could to save this great nation for our children. Or we can reminisce about how the GOP again pulled its punches for fear of looking mean-spirited or because they, too, didn't believe their own rhetoric or possess the courage of their convictions.

Before Republicans reenter this process of what are sure to be futile negotiations, please let them put their case before the American people and force Obama to explain his actual intentions. It's time to have this out and to force a sober national assessment of where we are and where we're going.

Out in the open, perhaps we can discover whether a majority of Americans truly share Obama's goal of obstructing spending and entitlement reform and thus destroying America's future. The rest of us have a right to know.

COPYRIGHT 2012 CREATORS.COM

Appeal_patriots_day_4
17 Comments

Tapdaddy in Indiana said:

"Obama wants to keep spending and prevent entitlement reform so that he can complete his task of fundamentally transforming America."

To fundamentally transform, America is to make it unrecognizable to any who survive.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 10:51 AM

alex torello in New Haven, CT said:

Republican legislators: Quit the hand-shaking, back-slapping photo-ops. Treat the demagogue like the pariah he is!
Reminds me of Neville Chamberlain mugging it up with Adolph before the final treachery.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 10:56 AM

Gregory in Yakima Wa. said:

Um...the November election was about much of what Mr. Limbaugh thinks it wasn't. The problem for conservatives is the majority of voters understand conservative policies, oversight neglect and good old boy politics as usual created the economic free-fall that George W. Bush began. As usual Bush leaves the disaster for others to clean up.

Bush disaster has so many aspects and dimensions of depth and breadth it may take decades before all the damage is known. The Republican Party must acknowledge their collective failure and apologize.

Doubling down is the means of those who are desperate and in denial. Seeking escape from your well earned infamy by shirking responsibility will assure liberal dominance. But go ahead...make my decade.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 11:06 AM

Master of Obvious in FL replied:

Your right Greg, Pres. Bush should not have caved in to the Democratic Legislature so easily! He should have vetoed everything they passed and maybe we wouldn't have slipped so far down the slope and sliding Faster Now with more Dem control.

Sunday, December 2, 2012 at 9:31 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

If we survive four more years of Odumbo and the Demorats I wonder how long it will take to overcome the disaster that has been his administration. Probably not in my few remaining years but maybe in my grandchildrens and great-grand children lifetime (Providing my grandchildren decide to have kids in todays world). Dosesn't look lke a great future anyway you look at it.

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 11:13 AM

Old Desert Rat in Las Vegas, NV said:

Where did Greg in Yak get his MBA? In Berkeley coffee houses, or watching MSNBC?

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 12:07 PM

Tad Petrie in Westerville, OH said:

Mr. Limbaugh, I wholeheartedly agree with the title of your artice, it is LONG past time for Congressional Republicans to expose the agenda of the President and his liberals. But what really needs to see the light of day is that NONE of the Republicans in Congress have the courage to do that! Most of the Republicans in Congress are marching in lockstep with Boehner and McConnell’s Agenda of Compromise and the ones that aren’t apparently don’t have the nerve to stand up to them! This could have been avoided if Boehner had just stood up to the President from the beginning and said, “No sir Mr. President! You will end your profligate spending, we will have a proper budget, we will not increase the national debt limit, and if you do not agree sir, the government will shut down and it will stay shut down! Because the government does not spend money without House approval, so no money unless you agree to get our financial house in order Mr. President!” Instead Boehner took the path of COWARDICE and APPEASEMENT and cheerfully handed our economic future over to the President and his liberals the same way Neville Chamberlain handed Czechoslovakia over to the Germans in 1938 at Munich! Untill Boehner, McConnell, and the rest of the current Republican leaders; and the rank and file members who support them are voted out of office, NOTHING is going to change! The President and his liberals will have a rubber stamp to do anything they want to do, no matter how many Americans suffer for it!!!

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 1:06 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Tad, you have it correct. GOP does not stand for God Owful Party for nothing. Boehner and McConnell and company should be kicked out on their asses. Maybe they will join the democrap party that is where they belong.

Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 1:19 AM

Brandt Hardin in Clarksville said:

Will we ever see bipartisan politics in our country again? The fringe element within the Republican Party has pushed them all to the far right of the isle where they’ve gridlocked our government for two years now. Will the next two be any different? They’ve been very public about their main goal being to block and bamboozle the President’s every move. It takes many hands to paint the Blackface on Obama. See my visual report of his makeup session at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2012/10/bamboozling-obama.html

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 3:59 PM

Tad Petrie in Westerville, OH replied:

Actually Brandt, in the Republican Party, the conservatives are VASTLY outnumbered by the liberal establishment types. The reason conservatives are working to block the President's agenda is because the President's agenda is wrong! The President wants to turn America into a Socialist state and he does not care how many people suffer in the process! Socialism does not work Brandt! History has shown again and again and again that Liberal/Progressive/Socialist ideology as a form of government is incapable of producing anything except misery and destruction for the ordinary citizen! Yet for some inexplicable reason, Americans keep buying into the lies of people like Barack Obama and electing people like him into positions of power! But as the saying goes, “Empires rise and fall.”. Obama will leave office in 2016 and hopefully there will be something left of our once great nation to rebuild. And once it is rebuilt, someone like Obama will be re-elected and we can start over again. I’m really understanding how Sisyphus felt now.

Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 10:46 AM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

Too bad Paul Ryan ain't gonna be our vice Pres..The fringe element of the LEFT, is hellbent on the destruction of free market Capitalism. A hostile takeover of GM,Chrysler, Housing/Real Estate, Toilets, light bulbs, Chimney smoke, food regs, student loans, and Student Loans! These entities belong in the private arena, where wealth/prosperity, originate! Trillion dollar deficits are immoral and wreckless--Smelly Rats!!!

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 5:36 PM

The Old Man 35 in Foothill Ranch, CA said:

Doesn't the Koran allow muslims to lie if necessary to get the end goal. So who is the Mulim among us?

Friday, November 30, 2012 at 6:40 PM

Robinius in Broomfield, Colorado said:

When it comes to a vote all Republicans need to vote "present" and let Obama and the Democrats own the tax rate increase. I doubt this will happen as the Republicans in Congress don't have the spine needed to even do this. They will cave and tax rates will rise and we will all be surprised when the spending cuts don't happen. It is hopeless.

Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 11:35 AM

Robinius in Broomfield, Colorado replied:

Sorry, I forgot to thank the "mainstream" media for making this all possible. Posterity will not be kind to these Obama boot lickers and ass kissers.

Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 11:38 AM

Tex Horn in Texas said:

Gregory, dude, you must be one happy liberal. And, like other liberals, you have set up the notion that Bush will be responsible for our nations's condition for decades. Hm-m, not a word though, on how much worse it has gotten since. The fiscal situation that Obama inherited in his second term is exponentially worse than when he took office. No word about that? No admittance that we are more in debt, that the games Bernanke is playing with currency is taking us nowhere but Greece? No mention that Obama is actually seeking to eliminate the need to justify talking about raising the debt ceiling without asking anyone? No mention that the mere 80 billion or so that will be collected from the rich in additional taxes will actually run the government for only 8-9 days? No mention that it is simply class warfare? Gregory, bud, take off those rose-colored glasses and you'll be scared out of your wits. Oh, and please forgive us children for wanting someone to take some responsibility. Have a good day in la-la land, bud.

Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 11:53 AM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

Yes, Bernanke is incompetent, like Jarrett, Geithner, Pelosi, Reid, Axelrod, Holder, Vilsack, Jackson, Sebelius, LaHood, Leon {Panhandler} Panetta, etc.Foward off the cliff neo-marx pagan reprobates; w/o wisdom,w/o vision, w/o hope, w/o a future!!

Sunday, December 2, 2012 at 2:58 PM

electedface in ardmore, pa said:

Estimates show that marijuana is America’s number one cash crop. However, marijuana remains untaxed. This is a new source of income for our nation, an income we desperately need.

Over 500 of the nation’s top economic professors have shared their opinion in supporting the removing the prohibition and imposing the taxation and regulation of marijuana as a way to slow the federal deficit.

Ending marijuana prohibition would save the US $7.7 BILLION annually. That is nearly as much as Congress’ proposed Budget Control Act. Think of the jobs it would create, the court time I would save and the jail space it would free up for actual criminals.

Sign the petition in the video description.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_tUy6fylQs

Monday, December 3, 2012 at 12:48 PM