The Right Opinion

Moving Forward

By Burt Prelutsky · Dec. 10, 2012

There is a great deal of hand-wringing and finger-pointing going on in Republican circles after the recent election. Much of it is justified. After all, how is it possible that after four years of Obama’s policies that have resulted in a terrible economy, a weakened military and ObamaCare, Mitt Romney could possibly receive two million fewer votes than John McCain?

On the other hand, it’s not too shocking that Harry Reid and the Democrats picked up two additional Senate seats. Did nobody think to check Todd Akin and Richard Mourdock for signs of insanity before allowing them to win their GOP primaries? When one of these guys talks about legitimate rape and the other schmuck suggests that rape just might be part of God’s overall plan, they don’t belong in the U.S. Senate, they belong in a loony bin. For those who can’t see the difference between the two places, I’m referring to the one with the padded walls.

Going forward, I would like to see the Republicans attempt to impeach the president. I wouldn’t expect to see Obama booted out of office, but I’m convinced that the GOP has to at least go through the motions. If they’re going to give Americans a reason to believe there is a real difference between the two parties, they have to take action against a commander-in-chief who places more importance on his own re-election than on our nation’s security.

The articles of impeachment should start with the leaks from his administration to the NY Times that, among other things, led to Pakistan’s imprisoning a doctor for 33 years for his role in leading us to Osama bin Laden.

Then there’s the matter of all the lies that Obama, Susan Rice and Joe Biden, told about the terrorist attack in Benghazi, pretending that a video had anything to do with the murders of our ambassador to Libya and three of his courageous colleagues. This cover-up not only makes Watergate seem like an innocent prank, but points out how biased the media is when you consider what a big deal they made of the earlier scandal and how little attention they paid to the one that resulted in the massacre of four Americans.

And, finally, there is the fact that the FBI was ordered to hold off going public about the Petraeus-Broadwell affair until after the election. Apparently, the CIA Director shared national security secrets during pillow talk with his biographer, which should lead to his imprisonment and not merely to a divorce. (If nothing else, the affair gives new meaning to a journalist being embedded with the military.)

Getting back to the election, the aftermath reminded me of the 1990 Super Bowl game. With eight seconds left in the game, the New York Giants were leading the Buffalo Bills 20-19 when Scott Norwood attempted a 47-yard field goal. If he made the kick, the Bills would have won 22-20. But his kick sailed right of the goal post by a yard. If it had hit the right goal post and bounced left, he would have been a hero and the Bills would have won the championship.

Instead, the next day all the football pundits were pondering the future of the Bills. What was needed? A new head coach? New assistant coaches? A different quarterback? An entirely different offense? None of these questions would have been raised if the football had gone 37 inches to the left.

Well, that’s how close the election was. Perhaps if Romney had chosen Marco Rubio as his running mate, it would have sucked enough of those Hispanic votes away from Obama to have changed the results. Or, perhaps if half of those two million Republicans who somehow imagined that a nincompoop like McCain would make a better president than Romney had gotten off their lazy duffs and voted, we wouldn’t be facing another four years of Obama, along with ObamaCare and God only knows how many new left-wing Supreme Court justices.

Clearly something will have to change over the next four years if we Republicans are going to have any chance of taking back the White House, but it might be something as seemingly insignificant as getting a new field goal kicker.

I will confess that the other day, I woke up convinced that it was November 3rd and that the election was still three days off. It just didn’t seem possible that America had actually re-elected Barack Obama. I can’t tell you how disappointed I was when I realized that the election had actually taken place and that it hadn’t been one of my infrequent nightmares.

Although I heard a few rumors of cheating having taken place on November 6th, particularly in Florida and Pennsylvania, where in certain counties, the votes apparently out-numbered the voters, I’m not sure if Obama’s victory was or wasn’t the result of cheating, as it surely was when Kennedy defeated Nixon, when Al Franken defeated Norm Coleman and when any number of Democratic congressmen have defeated their opponents. But I do know that nothing will change until Republicans start doing some cheating of their own.

Understand, I don’t approve of cheating, but so long as Democrats receive all the benefits and suffer none of the negative consequences, they will do everything they can to make certain the vile practice continues unabated.

It’s only when boxes of uncounted votes start turning up in the trunks of Republican cars, that white thugs start to intimidate black voters and that dead people finally start voting overwhelmingly for conservative candidates, that Democrats will finally have a reason to become morally outraged.

How is it that there are stricter rules governing baseball than politics? I mean, if they can keep cheaters out of Cooperstown, how is it we can’t keep them out of Congress or the Oval Office?

67 Comments

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

" But I do know that nothing will change until Republicans start doing some cheating of their own." Burt, WRONG, the Republican Leadership (still an oxymoron) have to grow a pair. Has any Republican said there was massive voter fraud? Did you ever hear a Republican leader call Barry a communist and a traitor? What about saying the birth certificate is a phony and where are the college transcripts? Also his social security card from CT. And the big item, he is not a natural born citizen and therefore not qualified to be President. Don't say if the Republicans said these things Barry would win, hey he won anyway. The Republican Big Shots (they are not leaders) are RINO's at best. Boehner, McConnell and company are negotiating a bipartisan agreement on the so called fiscal cliff. When are these idiots going to learn bipartisanship means giving in to the Democraps? Did anyone say not in our lifetime? How come they went along with continuing budget resolutions instead of shutting the government down? How come no call to abolish the unconstitutional Creature from Jeykll Island (AKA federal reserve board)? How come no call that the czars are unconstitutional? Etc, etc, etc. And the big question will they call for Barry to be tried for treason and executed? Fat chance.

The only thing I can say is keep your powder dry. The only hope is for the states to tell the federal government to get lost. The big question is what will the military do? As I see it the higher officers, being basically political appointees, will go along with the crooks and /or mental midgets. The line troops, if they follow their oath of office to support the Constitution, will join the thinking citizens. But Barry and company will probably call in UN troops. I pray I am wrong.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 1:06 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Call in the U.N. troops? I didn't realize you had such a gift for comedy writing, Howard, Those clowns in the blue helmets couldn't stop a bar fight in a Texas tavern on a Saturday night.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 1:15 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt, you are correct, they could not stop the fight. But they would burn down the tavern and kill everyone in it.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 1:31 AM

rab in jo,mo replied:

Just remember, blue helmets make excellent targets!

Keep your powder dry, indeed...

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 8:53 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: There you go again, seeing the best in people.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 11:48 AM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

Howard, them hosses has already escaped the corral. Some of them were stillborn - you really oughta avoid the conspiracy sites on the Web. We need Conservative politicians raising Hell about Benghazi and non-negotiable budget demands. Right now. Not treason.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:38 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Yes, Howard, it is time for action, actually long past time. Since the RINOs will not impeach, we need to motivate the younger generation to demonstrate like the French are doing. A large group of young French people who call themselves Generation Identitaire are protesting the massive immigration of Muslims, who are taking over parts of France and changing French culture. This is not unlike the Muslim communist dictator in the White House who is changing American culture with uncontrolled immigration from third world countries. The trouble here is that our younger generation have been carefully brainwashed to believe that diversity in everything except viewpoint is desirable. But there are some conservative young people who could emulate the French. We need them now.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:48 PM

HP in Kalispell, MT replied:

How bad has it gotten? We're hoping our young people will emulate the French. Pathetic!

Friday, December 14, 2012 at 10:26 AM

Cooneye in North Carolina replied:

I enjoy most of your comments Howard but do have a commentn to your latest one. Under the swearing in of officers for the military they take an oath similar to the Presidents in that they swear to honor and protect the Constitution of the United States. Enlisted service members are sworn in but are not required to this same oath regards the Constitution. I guess the reason is that the enlisted are subordinate to the officers and should act according to orders.

I personally don't believe, if push comes to shove, that the overwhelming majority of service members would support orders inforcing the rules of a socialist based regime along with firing upon and killing their fellow citizens regardless of what some armchair, desk general commanded from his perch in Washington.

I believe most of our service personnel join and risk their lives to protect our Constitutional right to freedom from tyranny and oppression from foreign or domestic means.

The liberal Democrats try every election cycle to roadblock with whatever means they can conjure up to suppress the Military absentee vote as they know the majority vote Republican.

That is what I believe and I am ex military as well.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 8:35 PM

BlueShadowII in Texas replied:

I agree on all counts. As the Oath Keepers (www.oathkeepers.org) say, "I have never been released from my oath to "preserve, protect, and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, domestic and foreign." And, as to obeying orders, it was very strongly impressed on me that 'following orders' is no defense (think Nuremberg).

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 8:41 AM

M Rick Timms MD in Georgia said:

It should be clear by now that Republican "moderation" will not help us. We need some of those "Bold Colors", and a lot less of the pale pastels stained with the tears and nicotine stains of the "speaker".

I have always felt that we must take over the Republican party by voting for the most conservative guy in the primaries -- make it our conservative party. But after watching the GOP lock -out the Tea Party at the convention, and gerrymander Allen West out of his district in Florida, I am thinking that it is time for a TEA PARTY party - focused on limited federal government. But just like the Libertarians, who always pick a strange guy and focus on legalizing marijuana, the Tea Party keeps drifting into the social issues which get people all confused.

Time to buck-up boys, and save this country. It's the spending - stupid. We need to cut the Mr. nice guy stuff and call it like it is. We are pissed-off and it is time to start acting like it. Obama is a liar, the Democrats are fiscally irresponsible ( no budget in 4 years ) and yet they blame the GOP for blocking a deal..

You can bet when it hits the fan, and things get really bad, the left will still be blaming George Bush and maybe, just maybe, that "half-white" Obama guy.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 2:41 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA said:

I wouldn't be surprised if Sen. Jim Demint in resigning the Senate is setting himself up to run for President with executive experience (running the Heritage Foundation) and/or resigning the GOP and running as TEA Party while making overtures to the Constitution and Libertarian Parties.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:07 AM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

To Do list for Republicans: (1) Grow a pair of Huevos. (2) No new spending! (3) Vote on Impeachment procedure. (4) Make Pelosi write, 100 times, "I will not sign any new bill w/o first READING IT, hee haw!"

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 6:36 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Tod: If I'm not mistaken, "huevos" are eggs. If the Republicans grew a pair of them, wouldn't that defeat the purpose you have in mind?

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 11:51 AM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

Here you go, Burt, some clarification from the Urban Dictionary:

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=HUEVOS&defid=1450573

and Major League II

Tanaka: You have no... you have no...
[looks in translation book]
Tanaka: marbles! You have no marbles!
Cerrano: Marbles? Huevos?

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:40 PM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

I believe that the idiots who voted for Odumbo would suffer more than anyone else because a large number of them rely on the governement for their existence. Let the economy collaspe and we just might be able to pick up the pieces and go back to the rule of law and the Constitution. The bigger problem might be Odumbo's opportunity to nominate more liberal judges to the judiciary and most important of all two or more to the Supreme Court. Even if the Demorats are defeated in the House and Senate in 2014 we still have to deal with the liberal wing in the Supreme Court and the Circuit courts. They will continue to over-ride the will of the people on major issues. It all boils down to the mind-set that they know better than we do how we should live our lives. That "living document" that we know as the Constitution will be subverted according to their liberal view of the world.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 9:05 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Old Sarge: I was hoping that the fear of Obama's appointing more justices like Kagan and Sotomayor to the Supreme Court would have been incentive enough to get every Republican off his duff on November 6th, but, as we saw, it wasn't. He still couldn't even achieve McCain's numbers. So we all save some of the contempt we level at Democrats for those of us who refused to get past Romney's religion or who are now collecting food stamps.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 11:58 AM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Burt: Are you sure it was the Republican voters who stayed home? Don't you know Joe Stalin's famous remark about it's not who votes that counts -- it's who counts the votes.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:55 PM

Rich in Providence said:

Burt,

One thing no one has brought up regarding the lies about the video causing a riot in Benghazi is that the lies by Hillary, Obama, and Rice actually did spawn riots in other Muslim cities where a lot more than 4 people were killed. Where's the media on this?

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 9:07 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Rich: Where are they? Where they always are...lined up behind Obama, waiting their turn to kiss his fanny.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 11:59 AM

Chris in Alabama replied:

Haha, that is funny. I lived in the U.K. for 7 years, and married a British woman in the bargain. So I obviously assimilated into the culture and language to some extent.

Anyway, 'over there' "fanny" means something slightly different from our usage*. The British slang meaning of the word seems to fit with the whole "mom jeans" and "throws like a girl" meme.

By the by, Amazon has not issued a Kindle version of your recent "67 Conservatives..." as yet. I have asked twice. Same still goes for "Barack Obama, You're Fired...", though I will likely not get that one now due to a near-complete loss of faith in my erstwhile countrymen (present company excluded, in the main - not you though, Gregori in Yakima).

* In the interest of propriety, I shall leave it to you and your readers to learn the difference on your own if you choose. Suffice to say, I giggle a little every time I hear a 'Yank' say fanny.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 6:39 PM

Gregory in Yakima Wa. said:

Akin and Mourdock did plenty of damage but they didn't lose the war all by themselves. Conservatives were badly damaged by the damage done to the country by G.W. Bush and the neo-cons. Pretending they had nothing to do with the tragedy of Bush was a mistake. They should have taken responsibility, acknowledged their specific mistakes pf omission and co-mission and apologized.

The strategists were hoping the public might forget. They were way wrong. Blaming Akin and Mourdock now is too little, too late and misleading. But scapegoats must be found and slain so these chumps will work for that purpose.

I am delighted to see so many conservatives watch Boehner twisting slowly in the wind. It isn't the first time. Obama made the mistake of negotiating in earnest prior to Cantor undermining Boehner and a deal the R's would eagerly agree to today.

The President has the upper hand because of the public understands what those in control of the Republican Party do not. Until the Republican Party sheds itself of the nutters Democrats will grow stronger.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 10:49 AM

Tapdaddy in Indiana replied:

And that is why your area of domicile is referred to as the left coast.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:01 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

Now, just what did the neo-cons do (or fail to do) that caused the "tragedy of Bush," Greg?
And what is it that the public "understands" that has caused Obama to have the upper hand?
Honest questions, Greg. I have no idea what your answers might be.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:48 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Here Yak ,,,!,,,

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:02 PM

Norge in Ohio said:

Burt,

Maybe we should have the umpires moderate debates.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 10:54 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Norge: Or perhaps they could give me a shot at it.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:01 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

But Burt! You're an ideologue. You'd have to be unbiased. Like Candy Crowley.
You'd also have to gain about eighty pounds to be like her.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:50 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

The Republican Big Shots were the ones that enabled Barry to be elected. Bush the Younger signed McCain-Feingold which the Republican controlled Congress voted for, bye bye Freedom of Speech. Gave us the unconstitutional No Child Left Behind. Banned incandescent light bulbs. Pushed for amnesty for illegal aliens (oops undocumented workers). Gave us Medicare part D. Gave us the Thousand Standing Around (AKA TSA) when we could have had the same security system Israel uses successfully. Expanded FEMA instead of abolishing the incompetents. Gave us the Dept of Homeland Security, don't you feel safer? Karl Rove the architect (of defeat) was Bush's adviser and Romney's adviser. Anyone remember the Peter Principal? If the Republicans keep this up they will become irrelevant like the Whigs. What they are already irrelevant!

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:02 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Howard: I not only remember it, but I recall it was the Peter Principle, not his Principal. You raise some good points, but keep in mind that it's only the big shots who have any chance at all of undoing the harm Obama has done to America. Also keep in mind that if Romney had received as many votes as McCain, he would be the president-elect and we all wouldn't have to worry about the jackasses Obama will appoint to the Supreme Court over the next four years.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 1:44 PM

Dioneikes in Colorado replied:

Burt - unfortunately Obummah will probably get to appoint at least two if not three more justices to the High Court. Then all of our rights will be screwed. Probably best to prepare for a modern day Lexington and Concord by us old fogies who still love our freedoms ( you know ... the Great Unwashed here in flyover country bitterly clinging to our guns and religion ), the gummint sure as heck is getting ready for it. They ordered millions of rounds of hollow points for many of their agencies, so I'd say all bets are off. Guess we'll have to play it just as dirty on our side. As for the UN, those clowns will probably be the one's they send around to try to collect the guns - we didn't like it when King George tried it, and we won't much care for it now.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 2:43 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

SoL (sorry), did you ever hear of Justices Brennan, O'Connor, Kennedy, or Souter? At least Miers didn't make it onto the Court. "Our side" has played it pretty dumb in the past. Bury your gun in an oilcloth. Not too deep, though.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:03 PM

Dioneikes in Colorado replied:

DT - the worst thing we face is the Republicans "giving" Obummah his picks because "he's the Prez and we'll play nice." They allow these liberal sleaze bags to lie to their faces, and then state "We find them to be truthful and upstanding justices." I wrote to my Senators protesting Kagan's appointment and the reply I received was "I have reviewed her qualifications and IN MY OPINION I find her to be extremely qualified." I am thoroughly disgusted with both parties and am of the firm belief we need to do a deep house cleaning to get all the rats, cockroaches, and lice out of the house! The pols are only concerned with linig their own pockets with our hard earned money. Then we have a spineless jellyback like Boner (Boehner) ready to give the Obummah everything he wants. How much more are we willing to take?

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 5:17 PM

Cooneye in North Carolina replied:

SOL..Colorado....Amen and I agree with you 100%. I have a file about 3 inches thick of letters I have sent my Congressmen/women over the last few years and without exception my concerns and questions have gone without meaningful answers. I get political obfuscation, mumbo jumbo and downright lies if I get an answer at all.

I am through with trying to affect any change through citizen action such as this anymore as it means nothing nor accomplishes anything. Just more of the same stench wafting from Washington throughout our country. And the Vietnamese thought Agent Orange was bad.

I have wiped off the cosmoline from my weapons and just now sit back and observe while being prepared for what is to come..

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 10:16 AM

billy396 in ohio replied:

It's a crying shame that the country that produced "the Greatest Generation" has devolved into a nation of fat, lazy, half-blind fools who woldn't pick up a gun to defend their rights if they were hanging over a pot of boiling oil. The fellows of McMinn County found the Dumbocrats taking over when they returned from WWII and they stopped that foolishness dead in its' tracks. Too many Americans are ignorant of the objective facts and far too many people believe the pap that's fed to them on the nightly news. Freedom, liberty and the rule of law may, in fact, be dead in this country.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:35 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt, I am an Engineer and not an English Major, so I can't spell. Many if not most Engineers can't spell. It has to do with the way our brains are wired.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 12:42 PM

Tad Petrie in Westerville, OH said:

Mr. Prelutsky, like you, I would very much like to see the President impeached, he has committed more than enough crimes to choose from! And there certainly enough votes in the House to get an indictment. The 1st problem we face is begins with the Speaker of The House John Boehner, who is INCOMPETENT and a COWARD! The 2nd problem is the current make up of the Senate; there is little chance of a conviction during the trial phase! Even if there were a majority of Republicans, McConnell is every bit the INCOMPETENT COWARD that Boehner is! If the President were to be impeached, I am quite sure that during the trial phase, McConnell would do everything in his power to PREVENT the President from being convicted and removed from office! NO ONE in the Republican leadership in Congress has the courage to impeach the first black POTUS!!! Of course, technically it has already happened, people have been calling that thrice-damned IDIOT Bill Clinton the first black POTUS for years! So for the next 4 years, Barack Hussein Obama will be allowed to wreak havoc on our economy and our freedoms as citizens, and break the law whenever he feels like it, simply because the Republican leaders in Congress are INCOMPETENT COWARDS who REFUSE to stop him!!!

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:06 PM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA replied:

Tad, I agree that we don't have so-called Republicans with the guts to push impeachment. There is one thing they could do instead if again they had the guts to do. The House controls the purse strings in this country so all they have to do is cut off the funding. However, I won't hold my breath until they do!

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:30 PM

Tad Petrie in Westerville, OH replied:

Sarge, I wouldn't hold my breath either! :) That is where Boehner's incompetence is the most glaring! He could simply let the government shut down until the President and his liberals sign on to a proper budget! That is one of the most frustrating things about this whole mess! We should never have gotten here in the first place! If Boehner had done his job properly to begin with, this would not have happened!

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 5:05 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Tad, you are absolutely correct about Boehenr and McConnell. Remember when just before the trial of kommandant klinton, Chester Lott saying lets get this thing over with we are not going to remove him? BTW, before anyone criticizes me for calling him Chester, that is his name.

Also remember during the vote on Medicare Part D in the House, Tom Delay keeping the vote open in violation of House rules so he could break (oops twist) enough arms to get it passed. And who was in favor of Part D why that communist (oops left wing) group AARP. When was the last time AARP backed an actual Republican and not a RINO? Did anyone say NEVER.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 12:41 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Tad: The good thing about it is that the Republicans will be blamed by the media, which is the only blame anyone in Washington cares about, no matter what happens. So they might at least have a little fun at the expense of Obama, Pelosi and Reid. Everyone complained that the GOP prevented Clinton from doing anything during his second term because he was busy fighting impeachment. It would be great if Obama could be thrown off his agenda that easily. Besides, for all the blame laid at the feet of the Republicans, it didn't help Gore or Kerry get elected.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 1:49 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

Burt, a recession that started under an unpopular President did help Obama get elected. Will the same will prevent Hillary's election in 2016? Depends upon whom the Republicans nominate, and their recent record is not good.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:08 PM

Tapdaddy in Indiana said:

"How is it that there are stricter rules governing baseball than politics? I mean, if they can keep cheaters out of Cooperstown, how is it we can't keep them out of Congress or the Oval Office?" Because they are the commissioners of political trash.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 2:55 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

TD, Congress quite literally writes its own rules. Baseball players don't.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:09 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

David: True, but when you realize that a closer gets credit for protecting a 3-run lead for one inning, it can seem as if they do.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:24 PM

Cooneye in North Carolina replied:

Tapdaddy.....These are the same congressmen that can subpeona baseball players or anyone else to testify under oath over something they have no business in to begin with then if lied to, or they think so, bring charges of lieing to congress but at the same time lie to us on a daily basis with no consequences.

Go figure!

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 7:07 PM

d.w.hudson in Michigan said:

Shucks, we've only seen the warm-up bouts so far. The main attraction is about to begin. The Republicans, after having deluded themselves into believing that the message of "jobs, jobs, jobs" was actually standing up for constitutional principles and lost because of it, are now in the process of caving in on all the REAL principles because they're apparently absolutely SURE they lost the presidential election because they didn't support amnesty for illegal aliens, didn't negotiate with the democrats, wanted to overturn Obamacare, and wouldn't allow taxes to be raised on the "rich". So I expect the republicans will have every excuse in the book and stand proud telling American they can now vote republican because, as you can see, they've negotiated our nation away the same as the democrats.
Burt, I know you've said that a vote for anyone other than Romney was just another vote for Obama. I held my nose and put aside my own principles to vote for Romney, and the only result is that I'm ashamed of my own vote. I'll not do it again.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:07 PM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

"jobs, jobs, jobs"

Who? Moi? Surely you jest. Not with all this "free" stuff roaming around. Besides I have it on good authority from Nancy that unemployment checks are a super, duper all-around great stimulus for the economy.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:40 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN replied:

Why don't we take up San Fran Nan on her word and put a couple million government bureaucrats out on the unemployment roles and provide a super duper stimulus to the economy?

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 1:50 PM

countrygirl in Texas replied:

"Burt, I know you've said that a vote for anyone other than Romney was just another vote for Obama. I held my nose and put aside my own principles to vote for Romney, and the only result is that I'm ashamed of my own vote. I'll not do it again." Thank you d.w. - that's exactly the way I feel now too.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:41 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX replied:

I don't get it, DWH and CG. Does your shame - your honor - depend on whether or not Romney won? If it makes you feel any better, Obama didn't win either of your states by just one vote. Your vote didn't hurt or help anyone.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:16 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

David: Well said! I really don't understand these people. On top of everything else, they had to hold their noses to vote for a guy who's a smart, honest, patriotic and perfectly decent, human being. Too bad Jesus wasn't on the ballot, so they could have felt better about losing the election.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 10:37 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

Burt, Wyoming is overwhelmingly Republican by better than two to one. A friend of mine Lynn Hutchings won election to House District 42 by over 72% of the vote. So a vote for a third party candidate will not prevent the Republican Candidate from getting the Electoral College vote. Romney lost because he is Barry lite. If his picture was in the dictionary the caption would say "RINO".

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 12:38 AM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

Burt. I Fear you may be correct, had Jesus been on the ballot he may well have lost- in this culture, and with the rampant voter fraud.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 8:50 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

D.W.: You're free to do as you like, but just because Romney lost is no reason to take leave of your senses. The Democrats never splinter their votes, so if our side does, it won't get a strict Constitutionalist elected; it will merely make it easier for liberals to get their own people elected.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:27 PM

David Thompson in Bellville, TX said:

Burt, please don't let Hillary Clinton escape mention in the Benghazi cover-up. She told just as many big, fat ones as the people you named. And we're going to hear a lot of her in 2016, though not subsequently, I pray.
By the way, do you call it "pillow talk" when it occurred under a desk?

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 3:26 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

David: I would never let Hillary escape unscathed. But I figure I should wait and hear what lies she spouts at the hearing.

And who's to say there wasn't a pillow under the desk?

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:29 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN replied:

I'm still waiting for her to tell us who hired Craig Livingston.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 1:52 PM

Stephen in NH said:

"Did nobody think to check Todd Akin and Richard Mourdock for signs of insanity before allowing them to win their GOP primaries?"

How about checking the sanity of the people who voted for this duo? And why not? All costs are likely covered under ObamaCare.

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:20 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Stephen: Even I would have voted for either of these clods before I would have voted for McCaskill. A vote for McCaskill, after all, is a vote for Obama and Reid. But unless the Tea Party wises up about some of the candidates they keep foisting off on us, they will doom the movement to becoming nothing more than a minor footnote in the history books.

Burt

Monday, December 10, 2012 at 4:32 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN replied:

I voted for Mourdock because the alternative, Donnelly, was a Pelosi hand-puppet who would come back to his home district after voting for Obamacare and say he was for repealing the Medical Device Tax, which takes 2.3% of gross revenues of the biggest industry in his district. He could have held out, e.g. Bart Stupak, and gotten concessions, but he was a good little Pelosi clone and did what he was told. Now he's a Senator, thanks to the GOP failing to coach a candidate who was leading by 14% prior to the debate on how to answer gotcha questions about abortions. There's a reason they're called the Stupid Party.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 1:55 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Major: I'm afraid it's a label the GOP has earned over the years. It's like in the commercial market place...you can have a great product, but you still have to know how to sell it. There are arguments that can be made against abortion, such as how stupid does anyone have to be in 2012 to become pregnant by accident when every eight-year-old in the public school system has been taught how to prevent it.

And when asked about rape, no politician should ever suggest there is something called "legitimate rape" or that "rape is part of God's master plan." If rape were part of God's plan, what would there be left for Satan to do besides lie around and work on his tan?

Burt

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 2:28 PM

MajorStu in Peru, IN replied:

Agreed. But if they can't see these gotcha questions coming in their debate preparations, they will keep falling into the same pitfalls, hence, the stupid moniker. I sincerely believe that if Romney had gone into the 2nd & 3rd debates with Obama and challenged him half as vigorously as he did Newt going into Florida, there might have been a bigger difference. He never refuted the media caricature that he was just this big rich doofus business guy who was the Mormon version of Gordon Gecko. With a target-rich environment (military lingo) like the Obama Administration, Fast & Furious, Benghazi, Trillions in unfunded liabilities in addition to deficits, unfair taxes, foreign policy snafus, and geniuses like Biden, Holder, Van Jones, Browner, Sibelius, Napolitano et al. to attack, how the GOP managed to pull defeat out of the jaws of victory simply amazes me. Muzzling Ryan on the budget front was a master stroke, Mr. Rove.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 3:49 PM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

But Burt: "There are arguments that can be made against abortion, such as how stupid does anyone have to be in 2012 to become pregnant by accident when every eight-year-old in the public school system has been taught how to prevent it. " knowing how to prevent pregnancy is iseless if the prevanatives are not free. 8*))

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 8:56 PM

L.L. Smith in Savannah, Tn. said:

Burt: Someone said a poilitician is like a banana. He goes in green,shortly turns yellow and then rots.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 11:50 AM

Howard Last in Wyoming replied:

L.L., I disagree slightly. Most politicians are rotten from the beginning.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 12:32 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

L.L. Smith: While I wouldn't say that's true of all of them, I'm afraid it's true about (please don't hate me) a bunch of them.

Burt

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 2:31 PM