The Right Opinion

Here Comes the Cliff

By Michael Barone · Dec. 24, 2012

Last week, Republicans proved they are not a governing party. Next week we will see whether Democrats are.

A governing party would have, reluctantly, passed Speaker John Boehner's Plan B, which would have preserved the current tax rates on everyone with incomes under $1 million.

Passage would have put Senate Democrats on the spot, since they voted for a similar measure in 2010. They might have engaged in negotiations with Boehner that could have been more productive than his negotiations with Barack Obama this month and in the summer of 2011.

Then, as Bob Woodward reports in his book “The Price of Power,” Boehner and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid fashioned an agreement after Obama had broken off his grand bargain talks with Boehner by increasing his demands.

But Boehner could not get enough Republicans to vote for Plan B to pass it in the face of united Democratic opposition. He could have afforded to lose 23 Republicans and still prevail.

He must have been well short of that goal. House leaders usually take measures to the floor on which they're short only a few votes and squeeze out the last votes there. It's not a pretty process – House Republicans held the roll call open for three hours to pass the Medicare prescription drug bill in 2003 – but it's one way laws get made.

Some may wonder why we are in a situation in which tax rates will automatically rise if Congress doesn't act. Why do current tax rates expire?

The reason is that George W. Bush and congressional leaders made a gamble when they cut taxes in 2001 and 2003. They could probably have gotten 60 votes in the Senate for a smaller package of tax cuts.

Instead, they decided to go big and pass them under budget rules requiring only 50 votes but which also required that the rates would expire after 10 years. The economy was weak back then, and you could argue that the stimulative effect of the cuts before and after the 2008 crash was worth the gamble.

And you can note that the tax cut policy has endured for some considerable time. It survived the Democrats' capture of both houses of Congress in 2006 and the presidency in 2008.

It survived the period from July 2009 to January 2010, when Democrats had a supermajority in the Senate and probably had the votes to raise tax rates. And it survived two more years when, after Republicans' capture of the House in November 2010, Obama felt obliged to continue the tax rates a month later.

Obama's re-election meant that they couldn't survive any longer. Public policy is not eternal; it can always be changed. Bill Clinton's tax increases of 1993 lasted only eight years. George W. Bush's tax cuts have lasted longer.

Now the question of whether we avoid the fiscal cliff – tax rate increases, sequestration, the full imposition of the Alternative Minimum Tax – is up to the Democrats. Specifically, the Senate Democrats.

Boehner's rollout of Plan B last Monday reflected his judgment that negotiation with Obama was futile and that the only way forward was through regular order in Congress.

“The House has already passed legislation to stop all of the Jan. 1 tax rate increases and replace the sequester with responsible spending cuts that will begin to address our nation's crippling debt,” he said in his terse statement after pulling Plan B off the floor of the House. “The Senate must now act.”

You can see this as an attempt to influence public opinion. Current polling shows that voters say they will blame Republicans more than Democrats if we go over the fiscal cliff.

But people are not always good predictors of their future opinions. The failure of the grand bargain negotiations in summer 2011 was followed by downturns in opinion toward both Obama and Republicans.

Senate Democrats have been avoiding tough votes on fiscal issues for some time. They haven't passed a budget resolution for three years, though the budget act requires them to do so.

That likely reflects a reluctance to make their policies clear to the public and, perhaps, differences in their caucus making it as hard for them to muster a majority as it was for Boehner Thursday night.

Are we going over the cliff? Looks like it to me.

COPYRIGHT 2012 THE WASHINGTON EXAMINER
DISTRIBUTED BY CREATORS.COM

Appeal_patriots_day_2
7 Comments

Robinius in Broomfield, Colorado said:

I welcome the cliff. I am eagerly awaiting the actions of Obama and Senate Democrat's after January 1. Forward!

Monday, December 24, 2012 at 2:07 AM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

The smelly rat Demokrat party is the confiskator of the wealth kreated in the private sector of OUR free market Capitalism. Freidrich Engels would be proud of the Amerikan Left! Conservatives---pleaze get out of the way of the EVIL SOCIALISTS and LET THEM FAIL! Unfortunately WE THE PEOPLE must feel the equalized MISERY that results.Foward!

Monday, December 24, 2012 at 6:50 AM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

It's kind of amazing the number of idiots in this country who have no concept of history and of what happened in China and the old Soviet Union. They can't see that Odumbo is doing his dead level best to take us down that same old failed road. Every country where the government had complete control of the economy has either failed or changed their policies enough to institute somewhat of a free market economy. China is a prime example of that. I believe like most of you, let the cliff happen and let Odumbo and his worshipers own the collaspe and the ensuing suffering that will take place. I realize we will suffer right along with them but maybe, just maybe, it will open their eyes to what it taking place. The welfare parasites will never change their minds but hopefully some of the others will. We can only hope!

Monday, December 24, 2012 at 10:40 AM

Dan in The People's Republic of MD said:

The Republicans truly deserve the "Stupid Party" name. They should have passed reasonable bills every day that included major spending cuts, which polls show people want, even if the bills included increases in revenue. For example, propose 2:1 spending cuts to tax increases ($667B :$333B ) & balance the budget this year w/no debt ceiling increase. I could come up with a new one of these every day and I think most people would look at these as reasonable & would make the Dems look unreasonable. Heck, go for 1:1 (i.e. jump off the cliff but w/equal spending cuts) & let that sit on Reid's desk and/or Obama Veto it. PUT THEM ON THE DEFENCE!

Monday, December 24, 2012 at 11:02 AM

Dan in The People's Republic of MD said:

True...It's all marketing and its very difficult to get the message across with the MSM an arm of left.

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 at 12:37 AM

William in Florida said:

When are people going to open there eyes!!!! Democrats nor Republicans do not care about us because if they did the budget would never be overspent and America would not be losing economic footing. The simple answer is to get rid of the party game and insist all these idiots stop taking pay-offs for votes and vote the peoples vote which is what our founding fathers intended!!!!!!!!!!!

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 at 6:56 PM

William in Florida said:

The last good President we had was Ronald Reagan which took the peoples position in this free country seriously! Go to President Reagans farewell address to see how a real leader of a free nation thinks!!!!!!!

Wednesday, December 26, 2012 at 7:04 PM