The Right Opinion

Some Really Inconvenient Truths

By Burt Prelutsky · Feb. 9, 2013

Barack Obama would like you to believe that it's white guys with assault weapons and NRA memberships that commit most of the murders in this country. But the truth, and he knows it, is that although whites comprise 67% of the population, Hispanics 16% and blacks, just 13%, blacks are responsible for roughly half the murders in America. The murder rate among blacks is eight times as high as among whites. Sadly, it is one area in which they truly overachieve.

But do you ever hear Obama, Biden, Bloomberg, Feinstein or Cuomo, mention it? Of course not. They would rather grab headlines by running their mouths off about guns with large magazines instead of urban punks with a lot of attitude, but no brains and even less compassion.

If we ever wanted to get serious about gun violence, we would send the military into places a lot more violent than the Middle East. I refer to Chicago, L.A., Philadelphia, Detroit and Houston. But even Bill Clinton, “the first black president,” had to retreat from dealing with the black gangs in Somalia when he realized how badly it would play on CNN. It's one thing to be seen playing Lady Bountiful with other people's money in Haiti and quite another to deal with blacks the same way one would if they were white Croatians.

Frankly, what people do with their own money is their own business, but why an American would bother sending dough to Haiti when our physically and mentally wounded war veterans are going begging is beyond me. But I also can't begin to fathom why, at the same time we are going down the fiscal drain, we keep sending billions of dollars to the likes of Egypt, Russia, Jordan, the Sudan, Pakistan, Iraq and to terrorist groups in Gaza. And why on earth are we sending hundreds of millions of dollars to Mexico when they not only refuse to shut down their side of the border, but recently arrested and imprisoned an ex-U.S. Marine on trumped-up gun charges, and then ignored repeated calls from the State Department. They simply refused to spring the poor guy until Bill O'Reilly threatened to put a big hurt on Mexico's tourist industry. One has to suspect that if, instead of coddling the Mexican goons, Obama or Mrs. Clinton had threatened to cut off their annual bribe, it would have taken Mexico about four seconds to release Jon Hammar, not four months.

Getting back to guns for a minute, the number of accidental gun deaths in America averages around 1,500-a-year. The number of accidental deaths caused by physicians and hospitals is over 120,000. I leave it to you to decide which poses the greater danger, guns or healthcare providers.

I do think the NRA has gone about fighting those who would revoke the Second Amendment pretty much the same stupid way the U.S. has waged every war since 1945 – as if it were being conducted by the Three Stooges.

Traditionally, the NRA contributes a ton of money to politicians who support them and perhaps even more to defeating those who oppose them. Well, I happen to think the NRA is wasting its money by ignoring the PR battle it should be waging and winning. Instead of funding individual campaigns, they should be more concerned with public opinion. They should be running TV commercials featuring the actual men and women who have used guns to defend themselves and their families from violent criminals.

The way things are now, the other side simply waits for the next massacre. Then they troop out the survivors – people like James Brady or Gabby Giffords or the parents of the Newtown kids – and, thus, they inevitably win the battle on emotional, if not Constitutional, grounds.

But if the NRA would simply wise up, we would soon begin seeing the gun-toting mothers and fathers on TV, the folks you never even hear about in the national media. They're the folks who didn't just wait around for the cops to draw chalk outlines of their dead bodies on the kitchen floor, but, instead, put their guns to the use for which they were bought and paid for.

Once they've won the hearts and minds of the American public, the NRA won't have to worry so much about whether the right person gets elected; the public will see to it.

Although God knows we already have too many laws on the books, one I would like to see enacted is that nobody who is injured or killed during the commission of a felony is entitled to sue. That would of course preclude his relatives from suing his intended victims. Think of it as an extension of the Good Samaritan Law.

Speaking of legislation, the 2011 Former Presidents Act provides Carter, Clinton and the two Bushes, with a $3.7 million slush fund. The idea that our tax dollars are paying anything towards the upkeep of these millionaires is revolting. It doesn't get any better when you discover that Clinton uses a portion of this windfall to connect 10 TVs in his office to DirecTV. It doesn't seem like a stretch to imagine that he's regularly tuned in to “Busty Coeds vs. Lusty Cheerleaders,” “Sex Games Cancun: The Last Temptation of Hank” and “Hotel Erotica.”

For a while, I figured it was a toss-up when it came to the most disgusting athlete in America. One day, being a baseball fan, I would think that it came down to Roger Clemons, Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa or Mark McGwire. But then I'd see a list of all the illegitimate children sired by the over-paid goons who populate the NBA, and they'd fast break into the lead. But I kept overlooking Lance Armstrong. That was probably because the notion of considering a bike rider an athlete goes against everything Americans hold dear. It's no accident that he had to go to France to get anyone's attention in the first place. Leave it to the French to get excited about a sport even duller and sillier than soccer.

In the good old days, when it was time to atone, people paid a visit to their priest or minister, or at least showed up at an AA meeting. Now they confess all to Oprah. Of course in Armstrong's case, he was less concerned with his soul than he was with his brand. Sponsors, a notoriously touchy bunch, don't usually want their product associated with a cheat and a liar, especially one who has spent the past decade viciously slandering anybody who dared question his integrity.

The real mystery to me is how anyone, particularly a schmuck with the looks and personality of an embalmer, could get that rich and famous riding a damn bicycle.

View all comments

77 Comments

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA said:

Maybe when they come to collect our guns, they'll issue each of us the outline chalk. Can we chose our own color?

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 12:42 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

enema: Don't get pushy. You'll use white and like it.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:07 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

Oh, oh. There it is in print. Burt's against the colored. Somebody call Eric Holder.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:08 PM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

WTD, now that`s funny: I don`t care who you are.

Sunday, February 10, 2013 at 4:14 PM

JPL in Marlboro, NY said:

Another giant elephant in the room that Democrats run from is the astonishing out-of-wedlock birth rate of the black community. This is a direct result of Lyndon Johnson's "Great Society". Have more children, get more welfare, don't get married or don't have your husband living at home, and be trapped in a system that deliberately had no exit program. You can't raise generations of boys with no fathers present and expect them to know how to behave as responsible adults. Women and men do not react to life situations in the same way and a rebellious teenage boy(as we all were) needs male guidence. If the only men around are dead-beat dads, thugs or felons, there isn't much hope. And God forbid that that a white man brings up this subject...Racist! Racist! is shouted from the rafters and the elephant is ignored even harder !

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:01 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

JPL: I have brought up this topic more than once. Being called a racist by liberals is a compliment, and it's time that conservatives accepted that fact and began taking pride in it.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:08 PM

GordAuch in Hampton Roads replied:

Bill Cosby is ignored by most blacks, why should Burt be any different?

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 3:38 PM

G. Daylan in Peoria, IL said:

As you are aware, the reason we are sending billions in "annual bribes" to the "goons" in the countries that you have named is that congressmen and senators get some of that money back (indirectly of course). Check out Sen. Menendez, Dr. Melgen and the Dominican Republic.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 3:05 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

G. Daylan: I think it's a bit of a stretch to include Melgen and Menendez in a vent about misdirected foreign aid.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:10 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

I think it usually works this way: The gummint sends our tax money to the American hating countries, who then use it to buy military equipment made by big indiustry. Big industry then gets paid indirectly by gummint, so-called business welfare payments. Big business then donates some of this dough to the scumbags in Washington to get them reelected. And so it is a vicious cycle using our money.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:19 PM

DaneChile in Unknown said:

"Leave it to the French to get excited about a sport even duller and sillier than soccer."

Priceless, Burt.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 3:36 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Dane: Thank you. I liked that one, too.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:10 PM

DaneChile in Unknown said:

"No, mon amor. I don´t wish to do snuggle-bunnies with you and your body odor and hairy legs and ´pits. There´s a bike race on TV!"

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 3:39 AM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA replied:

And, after the bike race, a Jerry Lewis film marathon!

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 9:13 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Kevin: So true.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:11 PM

DaneChile in Unknown said:

Non, mon amour, je ne veux pas faire l'amour avec vous et vos jambes poilues, les aisselles et les odeurs corporelles.

Or something like that. Perhaps I said your ears look like seabass, Burt.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 3:48 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Dane: They do, but I didn't think you'd broadcast it.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:12 PM

Mark in Fullerton said:

I suggested that the NRA have a TV show to our regional head and he said that they don't do that; yet in their magazine, The American Rifleman, they have a feature called The Armed Citizen, where they collect stories of people who protect themselves with arms.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 4:47 AM

DaneChile in Unknown replied:

And NRA could easily use its PR budget on a thirty-second commercial recounting two or three of those stories. I think it would do far more good that what it is doing now.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 5:08 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Mark: As I have had occasion to observe, the worst thing about most groups are the ninnies who tend to head them up.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:13 PM

WTD in AZ replied:

Current example, the "head up and locked" top brass of the Boy Scouts !

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:16 PM

Arabiascott in Indiana said:

In politics it's getting to the point where every truth is inconvenient. Every promise is sure to be broken. Every assurance is a con. Remember the boy who cried "Wolf"? At what point will our people stop believing the jokers? The end is near, but it won't be a blessed relief. It will be a shocking catastrophe because that's the practical opposite of the progress they're promising. When they said Hope and Change, they really meant keep wishful thinking, Chump.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 8:13 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Arabia: You're right. And I would even take some comfort in that fact if the coming catastrophe would spare those of us who have done what we could to warn of its fast approach.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:15 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Warning ain't e'nuf, Burt. Paul Revere warned the British were coming, but the people had to act. I don't see any of us acting -- get the tar and feathers to Washington where they will do some good. How about tossing the pinheads into the Potomac for a winter swim? How about something even simpler, like refusing to pay income taxes? We need at least a million people to cooperate. How do we do that?

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:54 PM

Barack Obama in Washington, D.C. replied:

Now Orf, I do not think that you have the proper perspective at all. We all have your best interest in mind. Perhaps you and I should have a beer summit or even a skeet summit to get past the racist mentality that you are harboring. Or perhaps I can send the IRS to help you with your attitude ;-)

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 11:55 AM

G Dub45 in Lee's Summit, MO said:

Another spot on column Burt.
Re your thought: "But if the NRA would simply wise up, we would soon begin seeing the gun-toting mothers and fathers on TV, . . . "
I am an NRA Lifer. When I receive my American Rifleman each month, I take three actions. I look at the Cover and the Table of Contents for the picture or the article of an AR platform in 6.5 Grendel or Creedmore ( just wishing here ), then I turn to the page of "The Armed Citizen". I read those stories with relish - they truly ARE one of the basic reasons we as Citizens deserve the 2nd Amendment.
TV commercials featuring these types of vignettes would do a lot to inform the ill-informed.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 9:48 AM

JJStryder in realville replied:

G Dub: Or how about a weekly program dramatizing these stories, narrated by Ted Nugent?

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:39 AM

JJStryder in realville replied:

Written by Burt Prelutsky? He wrote for Dragnet after all? Would you be interested Burt?

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:44 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

JJ: I would certainly consider it.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 6:57 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

G Dub: I would have kinder feelings about the magazine if when, in the past, I had submitted articles I thought would be of interest to its readers, the editors had at least shown me the courtesy of a rejection.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:18 PM

JJStryder in realville said:

Burt:I agree with the PR battle that you suggest be waged by the NRA. They should also place them on the most popular dumb shows they can find. All the shows we conservatives avoid like the plague, that should be their target audience. Not Fox News and the Outdoor channel. I believe that strategy may work for conservative causes as well. Getting liberal upset about a commercial they find offensive is the best guarantee of viewership.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:35 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

JJ: I couldn't agree more. As I said up above, the trouble with most groups is that the wrong people run them.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:19 PM

Tex Horn in Texas said:

Some states, like Texas, have as part of their Castle Doctrine law, or "no retreat" law, a section that states that in a case of a legitimate shooting (such as a house invasion), neither the criminal (if he lives) nor his family can sue the legitimate shooter for damages. Other states have adopted the "no retreat" law, but some of the specifics may differ. Other reader's might shed some light on this.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 10:55 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Tex: As with most things, Texas is right about this. The tragedy for America is that most states take their lead from California, not Texas.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:21 PM

Wayne in Hinesville, GA said:

The sad truth about the black community is the lack of morals among the young. This dovetails right into what JPL was saying. When you are raised without a father in the home chances are pretty high that you will turn out to be a hoodlum or a gangbanger. Even if there is a male figure around it's usually a lazy drug addict living off the welfare given to the mother. Some of these people live better than the working poor. Check out the birth announcments in the local paper and you'll find Mom has three to four kids, all with different last names, and no mention of a father. Even if one is mentioned he doesn't live in the same town or in some cases even in the same state. I am becoming more and more of a racist if that means I don't believe the taxpayers should foot the bill for immorality in the black community and that illegal aliens should be deported and not given citizenship. End foreign aid today, fight the damn war in Afghanistan to win, get out of the UN, and keep charity at home to help our own people. When is the last time any country sent us aid when we have a natural diaster? America first and everbody else stand in line and we'll get to you after we have taken care of our own citizens. I know this is along rant but I am so tired of the politically correct BS.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 11:01 AM

Honest Abe in North Carolina replied:

"When you are raised without a father in the home chances are pretty high that you will turn out to be a hoodlum or a gangbanger". So much for the high hopes of 150 years of social evolution. In reality, the immorality does not confine itself just to the inner cities. As Burt points out, the black millionaires of the NBA, other sports associations, and the entertainment industry are just as much moral midgets as their brethern in the ghettoes. So much for the higher hopes of social evolution AND money. Since the Democrat despots are now entrenched in office forever,we are left with them as the only ones who can fix the problem. Since they never will, the eternal minority class of "racists" will be paying for their behavior until the end of American civilization, which might be before or slightly following the next election.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 12:41 PM

enemaofthestatistquo in Monroe, GA replied:

Israel sent us aid for Hurricane Sandy.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 1:41 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Wayne: So long as blacks continue to give 95% of their votes to Democrats, nothing will change. Thanks to FDR, union members, Jews and socialists, became Democrats. Thanks to LBJ, blacks joined the bloc. Thanks to Clinton, single women and Hispanics got hooked. And with Obama, college students and gays joined the carnival of idiots.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:26 PM

PH in DE replied:

Hear, hear! (Unfortunately, our so-called representatives and public servants will not hear and will refuse to do any of it. It makes sense, so the government can't possibly do it. Universal rule,)

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 at 12:51 PM

wjm in Colorado said:

Maybe if the NRA had their own network, they could more adequately inform the sheeple. Giving money to campaings has failed to produce the desired results. Until conservatives make inroads in the media, the ministry of propoganda has us outgunned.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 11:01 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

wjm: If the NRA had its own network, only NRA members would tune in...occasionally. The NRA doesn't need to change the minds of conservatives; it needs to change the hearts of those without minds...liberals.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:30 PM

Rod in USA replied:

ROTFLMAO. That's a keeper.

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 11:26 AM

Anton D Rehling in Olympia, WA replied:

"change the hearts of those without minds...liberals."
Yeah, Good Luck With That!

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 12:07 PM

Holmes Simons in Tampa said:

Burt, I just have to say, "Duh". Didn't you hear Jamie "Django" Foxx proclaim that black people are the most talented people in the world? Doesn't that explain why they commit a disproportionate share of murders? And, you know what, I'd bet it's those talented affirmative action docs who kill the vast majority who die within the healthcare system. Perhaps Our Lord and Savior, the Black Obama should use his talent as the most intelligent person in the world to help out the poor, stupid white people by acting like a egomaniacal jackass so we don't all end up with low self esteem. Oh, that's what he's doing? White people just aren't talented enough to notice.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 11:07 AM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Holmes: I suggest that you and everyone else watch the video of Dr. Benjamin Carson's address at the Prayer Breakfast...while Obama sat nearby and quietly fumed.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:32 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

This was a great video, Burt. All here should see it. And your comments about the NRA changing direction to influence libtards is a great idea. Too bad they won't do it. Maybe it's more fun for them to battle the likes of Dieanne Funstine, Horry (or that spelled with a W?) Reedy, and the Brady Bunch.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 3:06 PM

READY4ACHANGE in ILLINOIS replied:

Burt - I just watched Dr. Carson's address - that was the most amazing speech I have heard recently! I couldn't watch the traitor or his moose, but I sat mesmerized by every word Dr. Carson said. Thank you for the suggestion!

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 11:41 AM

PH in DE replied:

I have not yet watched Dr. Carson's address yet, though I have read part of his remarks. Dr. Carson is a great man, and he should be the inspiration for people, black, white and purple. I was frankly stunned when I read Cal Thomas' opinion piece (http://patriotpost.us/opinion/16684) on the subject. A prayer function is definitely the right place to speak of moral issues that prayers need to address. And no way does Dr. Carson owe anyone, especially the Traitor-in-chief, an apology

Tuesday, February 12, 2013 at 12:56 PM

Merry in Cave Creek, AZ said:

Burt--- In AZ we just passed a law that "victim/criminals" cannot sue the REAL victim if they are killed or injured while committing a crime. You need to be a real idiot to try and enter someone's home in AZ as most people do have arms. Just yesterday a man came home to find four "young people" ransacking his home---in broad daylight! One 16 year old learned his lesson the hard way---he's dead. The other three escaped and probably didn't learn a thing.

As to Bill Blowhard O'Reilly getting that Marine out of Mexico, pfffft. I got my man released from a Nogales prison in 49 days in July 1998. After I realized it wasn't about law but really about money, I took Sheriff Joe's advice and went whole hog in the press. I wagered that if it was about money, the country of Mexico had more than me so I stopped the payola and turned the tables. The risk was a staged prison riot and his death but, facing 30 years to life it seemed we'd be damned if we didn't. I found McCain to be an addled, ineffective, and uncaring bureaucrat of the worst kind. Worse, the U.S. State Department is the ultimate in useless/worthless. They told me "he's in deep shit" -- literally. No visit in prison for over ten days and when they did they brought him a roll of TP! No help in translating, referrals to attorneys----NOTHING. At the same time our Arizona-Mexico Commission did all they could to dissuade me from rocking the boat. As a matter of fact, the Mexican consulate officer in Phoenix was more help than anyone in the U.S. gubmint. Mexico was so freaked that they flew me to Hermisillo to speak with the director of tourism who begged me to "be patient" for a few more weeks as it was apparent they wanted to save face and not publicly give into this gringa. He explained their plight of being in the middle of a 25 million dollar tourism campaign in AZ which I was hurting. BINGO! I smelled blood in the water! When I told him I expected he would be released the next morning or I would close the border station myself he insinuated this was not a wise idea. Yeah---right! He was released the next day. McCain had the audacity to offer me a military jet through our former Governor (Raul Castro -D) that would take me, my two young sons, and Jim home to Scottsdale. I DROVE HOME!

Lesson to those who think the gubmint or the U.S. Consulate gives a damn about you: They do not! There are plenty of stories where men are still in jail there for having just one spent casing in their vehicle.

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 12:17 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Merry: I would never think to compare O'Reilly to you. I was only giving him credit for doing what Obama, Biden, Clinton and McCain, couldn't or wouldn't do. Without his efforts, the ex-Marine would still be in jail or the cemetery.

Burt

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 2:44 PM

Merry in Cave Creek, AZ replied:

Oh heavens no Burt! I am certain you wouldn't compare me to Blowhard O'Really. My point, probably not clear in my anger at what happened to this Marine (and those Benghazi) is simply this:

Follow the money, or the motive in the case of Benghazi, in order to find the core motivation. In the latter I believe something was too damning about what the administration was up to that made saving those men a non-priority. In my case, it was about money---how much the local scum "lawyers" and jailers could get from me. Rarely are any of these cases about law or right and wrong. If it isn't about covering a higher up politicos's behind, it is certain to be about money. It can be as simple as my 100K plus or the larger economy of a country. No doubt the unpopular press was hurting or threatening to do a heck of a lot of damage in Mexico. Pretty grim when the State Department and ALL politicians did nothing except to try and take credit after his release. O'Really knows damn well that they did nothing but he is too cowardly to call them out on it. I'm shocked that he didn't take a bow though!

Sunday, February 10, 2013 at 3:48 PM

Burt Prelutsky in North Hills, CA replied:

Merry: I believe O'Reilly did call out the administration. But he definitely took a bow or two or three, both before the Marine's release and later, when he had him on his show.

Burt

Sunday, February 10, 2013 at 7:44 PM

William in FL replied:

Merry, Now that you had a taste of Mexico with political emprisonment get prepared for America under this new secretive govt. plans! We must stop this erroding of America NOW!!

Saturday, February 9, 2013 at 5:29 PM

Merry in Cave Creek, AZ replied:

Actually William it is economic terrorism. After my husband was released I went to confront McCain for having a press conference claiming how hard his staff worked on our behalf. When I stated the terrorism fact his response: "Yes, it's a war, a drug war." HUNH? This man wasn't all there.

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 1:18 PM

Diane in Tx replied:

I visited Mexico a couple of times15-16 years ago - I won't be back and I will explain to my kids (when they are older) why they should never go there - even on a cruise. Your story is one more cartridge in my ammo box. If more tourists went somewhere else instead, the economic drain would force them to clean up this mess.

Monday, February 11, 2013 at 10:18 AM