The Right Opinion

A Compilation of News Articles on the Global Cooling Scare of the 1970's

By Anthony Watts · Mar. 4, 2013

Does the bullet point list for solutions to global cooling at right look familiar? It reads almost like some of the manifestos we get from warmists today, including the suspension of Democracy as the article in the Owosso Newspaper clearly demonstrates.

(Thanks to Poptech for the compilation.)

During the 1970s the media promoted global cooling alarmism with dire threats of a new ice age. Extreme weather events were hyped as signs of the coming apocalypse and man-made pollution was blamed as the cause.

Environmental extremists called for everything from outlawing the internal combustion engine to communist style population controls. This media hype was found in newspapers, magazines, books and on television.

News articles:

1.) 1970 - Colder Winters Held Dawn of New Ice Age - Scientists See Ice Age In the Future (The Washington Post, January 11, 1970)

2.) 1970 - Is Mankind Manufacturing a New Ice Age for Itself? (L.A. Times, January 15, 1970)

3.) 1970 - New Ice Age May Descend On Man (Sumter Daily Item, January 26, 1970)

4.) 1970 - Pollution Prospect A Chilling One (Owosso Argus-Press, January 26, 1970)

5.) 1970 - Pollution’s 2-way ‘Freeze’ On Society (Middlesboro Daily News, January 28, 1970)

6.) 1970 - Cold Facts About Pollution (The Southeast Missourian, January 29, 1970)

7.) 1970 - Pollution Could Cause Ice Age, Agency Reports (St. Petersburg Times, March 4, 1970)

8.) 1970 - Pollution Called Ice Age Threat (St. Petersburg Times, June 26, 1970)

9.) 1970 - Dirt Will .Bring New Ice Age (The Sydney Morning Herald, October 19, 1970)

10.) 1971 - Ice Age Refugee Dies Underground (The Montreal Gazette, Febuary 17, 1971)

11.) 1971 - U.S. Scientist Sees New Ice Age Coming (The Washington Post, July 9, 1971)

12.) 1971 - Ice Age Around the Corner (Chicago Tribune, July 10, 1971)

13.) 1971 - New Ice Age Coming - It’s Already Getting Colder (L.A. Times, October 24, 1971)

14.) 1971 - Another Ice Age? Pollution Blocking Sunlight (The Day, November 1, 1971)

15.) 1971 - Air Pollution Could Bring An Ice Age (Harlan Daily Enterprise, November 4, 1971)

16.) 1972 - Air pollution may cause ice age (Free-Lance Star, February 3, 1972)

17.) 1972 - Scientist Says New ice Age Coming (The Ledger, February 13, 1972)

18.) 1972 - Scientist predicts new ice age (Free-Lance Star, September 11, 1972)

19.) 1972 - British expert on Climate Change says Says New Ice Age Creeping Over Northern Hemisphere (Lewiston Evening Journal, September 11, 1972)

20.) 1972 - Climate Seen Cooling For Return Of Ice Age (Portsmouth Times, ‎September 11, 1972‎)

21.) 1972 - New Ice Age Slipping Over North (Press-Courier, September 11, 1972)

22.) 1972 - Ice Age Begins A New Assault In North (The Age, September 12, 1972)

23.) 1972 - Weather To Get Colder (Montreal Gazette, ‎September 12, 1972‎)

24.) 1972 - British climate expert predicts new Ice Age (The Christian Science Monitor, September 23, 1972)

25.) 1972 - Scientist Sees Chilling Signs of New Ice Age (L.A. Times, September 24, 1972)

26.) 1972 - Science: Another Ice Age? (Time Magazine, November 13, 1972)

27.) 1973 - The Ice Age Cometh (The Saturday Review, March 24, 1973)

28.) 1973 - Weather-watchers think another ice age may be on the way (The Christian Science Monitor, December 11, 1973)

29.) 1974 - New evidence indicates ice age here (Eugene Register-Guard, May 29, 1974)

30.) 1974 - Another Ice Age? (Time Magazine, June 24, 1974)

31.) 1974 - 2 Scientists Think ‘Little’ Ice Age Near (The Hartford Courant, August 11, 1974)

32.) 1974 - Ice Age, worse food crisis seen (The Chicago Tribune, October 30, 1974)

33.) 1974 - Believes Pollution Could Bring On Ice Age (Ludington Daily News, December 4, 1974)

34.) 1974 - Pollution Could Spur Ice Age, Nasa Says (Beaver Country Times, ‎December 4, 1974‎)

35.) 1974 - Air Pollution May Trigger Ice Age, Scientists Feel (The Telegraph, ‎December 5, 1974‎)

36.) 1974 - More Air Pollution Could Trigger Ice Age Disaster (Daily Sentinel - ‎December 5, 1974‎)

37.) 1974 - Scientists Fear Smog Could Cause Ice Age (Milwaukee Journal, December 5, 1974)

38.) 1975 - Climate Changes Called Ominous (The New York Times, January 19, 1975)

39.) 1975 - Climate Change: Chilling Possibilities (Science News, March 1, 1975)

40.) 1975 - B-r-r-r-r: New Ice Age on way soon? (The Chicago Tribune, March 2, 1975)

41.) 1975 - Cooling Trends Arouse Fear That New Ice Age Coming (Eugene Register-Guard, ‎March 2, 1975‎)

42.) 1975 - Is Another Ice Age Due? Arctic Ice Expands In Last Decade (Youngstown Vindicator - ‎March 2, 1975‎)

43.) 1975 - Is Earth Headed For Another Ice Age? (Reading Eagle, March 2, 1975)

44.) 1975 - New Ice Age Dawning? Significant Shift In Climate Seen (Times Daily, ‎March 2, 1975‎)

45.) 1975 - There’s Troublesome Weather Ahead (Tri City Herald, ‎March 2, 1975‎)

46.) 1975 - Is Earth Doomed To Live Through Another Ice Age? (The Robesonian, ‎March 3, 1975‎)

47.) 1975 - The Ice Age cometh: the system that controls our climate (The Chicago Tribune, April 13, 1975)

48.) 1975 - The Cooling World (Newsweek, April 28, 1975)

49.) 1975 - Scientists Ask Why World Climate Is Changing; Major Cooling May Be Ahead (PDF) (The New York Times, May 21, 1975)

50.) 1975 - In the Grip of a New Ice Age? (International Wildlife, July-August, 1975)

51.) 1975 - Oil Spill Could Cause New Ice Age (Milwaukee Journal, December 11, 1975)

52.) 1976 - The Cooling: Has the Next Ice Age Already Begun? [Book] (Lowell Ponte, 1976)

53.) 1977 - Blizzard - What Happens if it Doesn’t Stop? [Book] (George Stone, 1977)

54.) 1977 - The Weather Conspiracy: The Coming of the New Ice Age [Book] (The Impact Team, 1977)

55.) 1976 - Worrisome CIA Report; Even U.S. Farms May be Hit by Cooling Trend (U.S. News & World Report, May 31, 1976)

1977 - The Big Freeze (Time Magazine, January 31, 1977)

56.) 1977 - We Will Freeze in the Dark (Capital Cities Communications Documentary, Host: Nancy Dickerson, April 12, 1977)

57.) 1978 - The New Ice Age [Book] (Henry Gilfond, 1978)

58.) 1978 - Little Ice Age: Severe winters and cool summers ahead (Calgary Herald, January 10, 1978)

59.) 1978 - Winters Will Get Colder, ‘we’re Entering Little Ice Age’ (Ellensburg Daily Record, January 10, 1978)

60.) 1978 - Geologist Says Winters Getting Colder (Middlesboro Daily News, January 16, 1978)

61.) 1978 - It’s Going To Get Colder (Boca Raton News, ‎January 17, 1978‎)

62.) 1978 - Believe new ice age is coming (The Bryan Times, March 31, 1978)

63.) 1978 - The Coming Ice Age (In Search Of TV Show, Season 2, Episode 23, Host: Leonard Nimoy, May 1978)

64.) 1978 - An Ice Age Is Coming Weather Expert Fears (Milwaukee Sentinel, November 17, 1978)

65.) 1979 - A Choice of Catastrophes - The Disasters That Threaten Our World [Book] (Isaac Asimov, 1979)

66.) 1979 - Get Ready to Freeze (Spokane Daily Chronicle, October 12, 1979)

67.) 1979 - New ice age almost upon us? (The Christian Science Monitor, November 14, 1979)

Author’s Note: A couple of the news stories are duplicates in different papers with slightly different titles. This is intentional to show that these types of stories were not isolated to a certain regional paper.

68.) And from the National Center for Atmospheric Research:

ScreenHunter_86 Feb. 24 04.50

ScreenHunter_89 Feb. 24 04.56

While a silent majority of the scientific community may have been more skeptical, you ironically find one of the most outspoken supporters of modern day Al Gore style global warming alarmism was promoting global cooling in the 1970s, the late Dr. Steven Schneider;

“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.” - Life of Reason, George Santayana

Related articles:

69.) CIA 1974 National Security Threat: Global Cooling/Excess Arctic Ice Causing Extreme Weather (climatedepot.com)

70.) 1974 Shock News: Global Cooling To Kill One Billion People (junkscience.com)

71.) NCAR 1974 : Global Cooling And Extreme Weather Is The New Normal (stevengoddard.wordpress.com)

Anthony Watts is a former television meteorologist who now operates the most viewed website on climate change and global warming in the world at wattsupwiththat.com.

View all comments

24 Comments

Rozann in Iowa said:

I so remember all this hype from my teenage years; which is why all the hype today about global warming and climate change doesn't phase me a bit. I've heard it all before. It's all about control and loss of liberty. We have to resist and continue to fight for life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Thanks for sharing and keep up the good work.

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 11:06 AM

Jim in Western NC replied:

@ Rozann - I was going to say almost the exact same thing, but you beat me to it and said it better. As one who was in high school during the early/mid '70s, I remember well the warnings of the coming Ice Age. I also remember the massive population explosion that was just around the corner. The Left always has some manufactured crisis that begs for government control.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 9:16 AM

HP in Kalispell, MT said:

Yes, I lived through this too. That's why they can't sell me any more of this crap. Unfortunately, to younger people, climate change is all new "science". And since the young know everything anyway, we old farts are just ignorant deniers. BTW, where's Nicole?

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 12:49 PM

Tod the tool guy in brooklyn ny said:

Marxist moldy bread and snake oil is all the greenies have. The Marxist must steal other people's wealth, because they are too ignorant, to make their own capital! the Capitalist invests their own money, at risk, in the market, to make profits.BIG DIFFERENCE in Philosophies!!!

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 5:26 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

There is a commercial running here about polar bears drowning because sea ice is melting. Polar bears are classified as marine mammals. They are routinely seen swimming in open ocean 100 miles and more off shore. A polar bear has the same chance of drowning as a salmon or a cod. The antarctic has more ice in the last few years. So maybe we should send the polar bears south.

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 7:50 PM

SkyHunter in California said:

I was a science geek in the 70's. The threat of cooling was from human emissions of aerosols. We passed the clean air act and the threat was solved.
But the deniers are still denying that any of that ever happened.

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 8:46 PM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

SkyHunter, did your parents have any children who lived? You may have been a science geek in the 70`s, but you`re just a brain-dead geek now.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 6:28 PM

Kevin from Arkansas in USA said:

What exactly are you saying? That banning aerosols fixed the "problem" of global cooling?

If so then why did this article from 2007 imply that had we not banned aerosols then the so-called global warming problem would be worse?

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,258092,00.html#ixzz2MdXRNm8b

"Global warming would be substantially worse right now if not for an international agreement in the 1980s that banned the use of ozone-destroying chemicals, a new study finds."

So which is it? Aerosol ban helped with global cooling (warming planet) or helped reduce global warming (cooling planet?) It can't be both.

Monday, March 4, 2013 at 11:40 PM

HardThought in Kansas said:

Climates change.

Check out the "Glacial Hills" region of northeast Kansas. All of the hills along the Missouri river were deposited by a glacier that disappeared over 10,000 years ago.

Why did the glacier disappear?

Trying to stop climate change is futile. Controlling pollution can be a good thing unless it stops economic development and impoverishes a nation. The sun is a bigger culprit that carbon.

Climates change.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 4:26 AM

Toby in Ireland said:

This is nonsense. Dr Stephen Schneider was not promoting "global cooling" in the 1970s. In the video he is quite moderate at a time when scientific opinion was divided. By 1974, scientists were by a clear consensus agreed that global warming was a greater threat.

As I remember there were fears in the 1970s also of overpopulation and nuclear holocaust. Where are the lists of articles showing that "global cooling" was considered a greater threat?

Newspapers and magazines can sensationalise, but an investigation of the scienctific papers from the 1970s shows that the vast majority were about global warming. http://ams.confex.com/ams/pdfpapers/131047.pdf

Having lived through the 1970s, and being an avid reader of newspapers, New Scientist and Scientific American, I have no recollection of scientists being exercised by "global cooling" to the extent they are by climate change thoday.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 4:50 AM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

Toby, are you shitting me? I too lived through the 70`s and have a vivid memory of the global cooling hoopla. We were going to freeze in a block of ice within 10 years, food would not grow, and we were all gonna starve, if we didn`t freeze first. I may be old, but I`m not the doddering idiot people like you seem to think we are.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 6:32 PM

Day in Sweden said:

The scientific evidence is clear: Climate change is happening now and human beings are to blame. In the 1960s and 70s, scientists knew that human activities were changing the Earth’s climate. But which factors would have a bigger effect? Global warming pollution, like carbon dioxide? Or pollution with a cooling effect, like the particles that make up haze? And would human activities override the natural factors that affect our planet’s climate? By the end of the 1970s, most scientists were coming to the conclusion that the world would indeed warm because of carbon pollution. This consensus grew even stronger over time: Today, 97% of climate scientists with Ph.D.s who are actively publishing in their field agree that humans are warming our climate.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 5:27 AM

Torp44 in Ione, Wa. replied:

......& about the same percentage of the "educated" folk a few hundred years ago were convinced the world was flat.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 10:32 AM

Viney in Bremerton replied:

Climate change has been on-going - even after the end of the last ice age. The Roman Warm Period and the Medieval Warm period were times that were warmer than present - and civilization benefitted. Cool periods had crop failures, more sicknesses (plagues, etc.), and in general - were not conducive to growth of society. The 'mini-Ice Age' of the 1600's coincidentally coincided with very low solar activity (the Maunder Minimum)...So there is a lot of data to look at and consider.

At present, no climate change modeling can model the many warm and cold periods that have occurred in the past. Recent models have failed to explain the LACK of warming over the past 10 years. If the models are flawed ...we might have another classic case of GIGO. (Garbage In/Garbage Out.)

So ..then if we examine the trillions of dollars of costs that could be imposed on the US ....and at the same time, India and China do NOTHING ...and we see that the proposed changes demanded by alarmists would change NOTHING ...but at GREAT cost.

BTW - your 97% is BS. The most recent claim I saw showed only about 37% support AGW (and then the question is - how many of them are afraid to speak out against the insanity of forced consensus or lose the job, lose the grant study, etc.)

The bottom line is that climate change has occurred in the past - without man's involvement. The existing climate changes can't be properly modeled (unless they cook the books, the way was shown by the leaked e-mails from Hadley), the consensus is limited (and the leaked e-mails showed the techniques to intimidate any dissent). And - any attempt to avoid climate warming would cost thousands of times more than the cost to 'adapt' to any warming.

Besides ...the last ice age was about 15,000 years ago...and if we start moving into another ice age...I suspect the alarmists would still try to stop coal burning (hyping how the dust leads to more cooling, deciding that CO2 and global warming is so .....yesterday).

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 4:33 PM

richard ryan in Lamar,Missouri replied:

Just what we need, a lying Swede on this site. Spare us the BS. I just recently read that the data was in from 30,000 data collection sites around the globe, and we have had no, I repeat, NO global warming for fifteen years now., Of course you warming alarmists will never admit that piece of information.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 6:36 PM

John Higgens PHD in NY replied:

Do you really believe that? How then may I ask did the entire earth, once covered in ice, warm and melt without man around driving SUVs?

Tuesday, September 10, 2013 at 4:43 PM

August in DC said:

If you want your kids to grow up with the same opportunities you had, the time for solving climate change is now. http://clmtr.lt/cb/pDo0On

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 5:40 AM

DukeLeto in Canberra said:

So your logic is, a few people were alarmist in the past, and they turned out to be wrong, so all alarming facts can be safely ignored forevermore? That... ahem... makes no sense. The arctic ice is melting and the warming trends are clear. Those who understand the science deserve more respect - modern proponents of AGW are not the same guys that were wrong in the 1970s about cooling, and most scientists back then did *not* argue that the world was in danger of cooling. Do a little bit of research, and you'll see that the Earth is warming over the long run. And yes, it's alarming. http://clmtr.lt/cb/pD30I6

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 7:04 AM

Bruce R Pierce in Owensboro, Ky replied:

"Global Warming" by definition started at the end of the last "Ice Age", at the time man was not even a blip on the map and barely influenced his existence. Now days the only difference is some have a higher opinion of themselves and the actual effect we as a species have in relation to the world we live in. When it comes to what some call "manmade gasses" more are produced by natural causes, more species have come to an end by other means than by man. To understand how important man is to the planet let alone the universe remove his achievements from the brief moment in history he has been around and you will see that neither is affected by his existence.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 8:19 AM

rippedchef in sc said:

"peer review" circle jerks,posting"highly researched"opinion papers on the net,indoctrinating students,refusing to look at any facts that may endanger tenure,grants or other funding-what's not to trust??

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 12:51 PM

Tapdaddy in Indiana said:

At the time of the Arab Oil embargo in the mid '70s when we were told that we were running out of oil on planet earth was also the time that we were being told that a new ice age was imminent. Now, the apocalypse has gone from ice to heat but the purveyors are still supplying the same lies.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013 at 3:36 PM

HP in Kalispell, MT said:

It's useless to argue with these idiots. The Marxists, after the collapse of the USSR, and the failures of Communism move to the environmentalist movement. The believers are true useful idiots but the final goal is world domination and total control. True 'Scientists' are well employed making money and playing with real toys. The wanna-bes are clinging to this climate crap. Remember, those that can, do. Those that can't teach. Those that can't teach need grants and unions. Both require keeping the masses riled up.

Wednesday, March 6, 2013 at 1:38 AM

james in Los Angeles said:

This just proves that the scientific efforts to combat the ice age succeeded! It worked so well that we're now in a warming period or something...

Monday, March 18, 2013 at 8:36 PM