The Right Opinion

Boy Scouts: A Disheartening Betrayal

By Rebecca Hagelin · Jun. 3, 2013

This past week has been pretty devastating for me as a long-time supporter of the Boy Scouts. My own two sons grew up in Scouting, and, with their hard work and encouragement from my wonderful husband who was a Scout Master, they both achieved the rank of Eagle Scout.

I treasure the time our family spent involved in Scouting – and always will. My heart is broken to realize that the finest institution for young men our country has ever known has grown cowardly, disappearing into the great vast wasteland that is modern popular culture.

The recent decision by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America to allow “openly gay” youth to become members of the Boy Scouts was nothing short of a betrayal – a betrayal not only of the values scouting has represented for decades but also of the families whose support for the Scouts has spanned generations.

The roughly 1200 delegates who voted on the proposal represent but a fraction of the Boy Scouts' membership. Their decision was not motivated by a strong and insistent clamor from their membership to change things. It was brought about by the strong-arm pressure tactics of the homosexual lobby, using the contrived protests of a few members for symbolic effect.

Council members assert the fiction that their decision is not a statement about the morality of homosexuality, but merely a compassionate decision to open wide the doors of scouting to even boys that reject scouting’s core values.

The blunt reality is that young boys who “come out” are implicitly, and perhaps explicitly, embracing a whole set of “givens” that conflict with the Scouts' promise of being morally straight. And the moral standards the scouts proclaim on paper will be drowned out by the homosexual advocacy that comes with being “out.”

Does anyone really think that the homosexual pressure groups are going to stop with the admission of kids who declare their homosexuality? Of course not.

Contrary to public perception, the proposal to admit adult homosexuals into leadership was not voted down, it was simply not voted upon. It’s just been taken off the table for now, in a nod to the incremental approach.

The Scouts have lost any coherence in their original mission and message. It’s worth noting that the law does NOT require the change in Scouts' policy: the ban on homosexual members was upheld as constitutional by the Supreme Court, which affirmed the right of the Boy Scouts to remain true to their mission and decide, on a principled basis, who may become a member of their group.

How ironic: After years of successful battles to maintain timeless principles, the BSA has fallen by their own hand.

How to Save Your Family: Embrace Courage, not Appeasement

Some argue that the Boy Scouts' decision was inevitable, a reality-driven move in light of declining corporate contributions (again, because of pressure tactics), shrinking membership numbers, and changing public positions on homosexuality.

Those are weak, unprincipled positions not worthy of the Boy Scouts I knew. Just when our culture needs courageous voices to uphold traditional standards of morality, the Boy Scouts have chosen instead to appease the insatiable demands of homosexual pressure groups. They have decided to teach our children that political expediency matters more than principle.

So what to do?

Scouts and scouting families must search their hearts and find the courage of their convictions to decide if they are going to stay and fight to try and resurrect the BSA – or if it’s time to take a hike from scouting for good. No amount of political pressure or million dollar publicity campaigns can change the fact that homosexual behavior is neither “morally straight” nor personally liberating, and we need to continue to make that case whether in or out of the organization.

And all parents should use this sad moment to explain to young people, in particular, that the freedoms we hold dear will not survive if the moral fabric of our country continues to crumble.

As those of us who have left scouting and now mourn the death of the BSA, let’s bind up our broken hearts and resolve to continue to honor the many leaders, families and churches who worked so hard over the years to build the character of young men through scouting.

And to all former scouts – especially the Eagles – I urge you to write down your own treasured scouting memories so that you can share with your own kids one day what it was like when the Boy Scouts of America stood for principle and truth.

RIP, BSA.

View all comments

51 Comments

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY said:

This is a victory for the left, a significant one. As the author of this piece has stated there will be incremental challenges and changes to the BSA from an organization that teaches the traditional values of duty to God, country, family, and stress that is the individual that makes it all happen to the betterment of all involved. What will we see in the future? In all probability a twisted Marxist dream by using the BSA indoctrinate kids.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:23 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

another liar.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:09 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

As a former Scout and presently a Scout Leader I share your disgust. Right now I am weighing my options. Yesterday I attended an Eagle Court of Honor. I wonder how many more of these there will be?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:36 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

you should be disgusted by putting you own extreme bigotry above all else.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:47 PM

Chuck Anziulewicz in Spring Hill, West Virginia, USA said:

I'm Gay and I was in the Boy Scouts. My troop was sponsored by St. Raphael's Catholic Church in Potomac, Maryland. Admittedly this was back in the late 1960s to early 1970s, when the modern Gay rights movement was in its infancy, and the prospect of Gay youth "coming out" was unthinkable. But the fact remains that my sexual orientation was irrelevant to scouting activities, and I imagine the same went for the majority of boys who were Straight (i.e. heterosexual). The official Boy Scout Handbook was not heterocentric. The issue of sexual orientation, one way or another, was simply irrelevant.

Gay boys and men have always participated in the BSA and always will, regardless of the official policy. I'm just glad the when boys in the scouts start coming to grips with a different sexual orientation (usually while in their early teens), they will not be kicked out when they need that social support structure the most.

This is not to say that individual Boy Scouts, regardless of their sexual orientation, shouldn't be held accountable for inappropriate behavior. They should be. But sexual orientation in and of itself should not be a barrier to scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:46 AM

mark in charlotte said:

the boy scouts should have gone farther and allowed gay adults. gays have long been the victims of unjust bigotry and hatred.

now hateful parents and churches are abandoning the scouts and they say its not because of hate. are you kidding me? its deep, extreme hatred against gay people.

you, rebecca, are a ultra radical hatemonger.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 10:56 AM

PH in DE said:

What I want to know is how did those men on the BSA Board get their positions and keep them when they obviously do not believe in the Boy Scouts or the Scout Oath and Laws they are pledged to follow and uphold? They have destroyed the Scouts by pushing this mistaken vote on the membership, when only a year or so ago it was affirmed that BSA must stay with his traditional principles.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:12 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

ph in de, where did you get your hateful bigotry from?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:16 PM

carl fleece in fort worth, tx replied:

you obviously do not know what scouting is all about, so please do not comment further

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:05 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

you obviously don't know another. in your mind, its bigotry above all else. a couple of my good friends earned eagle scout and more were close. i could have been in scouting but i was busy with other interests.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:51 PM

mark in charlotte said:

rebecca, you are adept at spreading extreme hatred and bigotry. it is still a very scary time for my gay friends with such blatant hatred and discrimination. why not form your own scounts if you hate the boy scouts so much? there's several bigots posting here who would gladly join. you can call them the bigoted scouts of america or something.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:15 PM

Sue in Barrington, IL said:

As a scouters for the past 30 years, I am extremely upset with the stand BSA has taken. I see a youth protection nightmare ahead of us. Sex and politics do not belong in Scouting. We are in the business of developing our youth into strong leaders for tomorrow, teaching skills, providing experiences that can be had nowhere else. It is a travesity the vocal lobby of a few and the weak knees of the voting members dovetailed into what I hope is not a fatal blow to the organization I hold so dear.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:52 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

sue, you are the one putting the most radical form of politics in scouting. blinded by hatred and bigotry, falsely claiming that gay people will attack your children. i'm not gay but i know plenty of gay people. none attack anybody, but over half have been made fun of and some have been threated.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:55 PM

Sue in Barrington, IL replied:

It is such a shame that the response to a comment such as mine has to be that I embody hatred and prejudice. And if you truly knew scouting you would understand youth protection. It is limitations such as yours that has brought us to where we are now. Hatred and bigotry are not in my makeup. Those are characteristics you are ascribing with out knowing me and that is the greatest sin of all.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:18 PM

Eagle Scoutmaster in USA replied:

Unfortunately it will only be a short time until some Gay scouts turn 18 and become Gay Scouters. There will be no way to stop this given the events and people surrounding the recent decision to allow gay scouts.

The BSA has truly lost its direction and will crumble over the next few years as it is molded by destructive forces.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 8:05 PM

carl fleece in fort worth, tx said:

was a scout for several years, was the Scribe in troop 201, and will send all my medals back if I can find them

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:03 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

to you, hatred are bigotry and more important than scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:56 PM

Bob in Austin, Tx replied:

Protecting young boys from gay predators or fom gay recruitment is what's right. Face it, your bigoted hatred of what's normal and good is pathetic.

Gay troll

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 11:09 PM

Willard in Toledo replied:

Homosexuality is wrong. It doesn't matter how many times homosexuals shout scream and proclaim that homosexuality is good right and normal, it will never be so. It is an unnatural thing to be a homosexual. If you are a homosexual I suggest you keep yourself in the closet instead of in people's faces with you gay filth and perversion.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 at 12:03 AM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Go for it. You obviously show none of the values of a Scout to begin with.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:54 PM

Brandy Elkins in Harvest, Al said:

While I am saddened about the new policy the BSA is about to enact, I as a parent of one Eagle Scout, a current Boy Scout and a Cub Scout will remember that this program and what it offers my sons far outweighs the on going politics. This is the time when we need to band together the most, so that scouting and all of the good things it offers our young men continues. All the back biting about scouting being dead ect... All that does is play into those who would like to see scouting gone for good. Now we need to remember scouting is about the boys and not some political thing. So if you are disappointed about something in scouting, use your editorials to help scouting not to condemn it for there are still many fine scouters out there doing their jobs ever day, to make sure my sons learn what it is to be strong principaled young men and carry on the tradition of scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:40 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Would you not consider one of the good things it offers to be support for young men who are figuring out who they are?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:54 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia said:

It's pretty disgusting that this is what scouting has become. Everyone should be accepted for who they are, even if the idea of same sex lovemaking frightens you so. Grow up, America.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:22 PM

Leaping Spark in Brandon said:

Communism has finally taken the boy scouts. They are now going to be taught that Homosexuality, Perversion, Promiscuity, and all forms of evil and deviant behavior are both normal and acceptable.
Wonder what kind of merit badge they will get for being good little commie rump rangers!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:43 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Thank you, Leapman, for bringing your aggressive, crass hatred into this forum!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:51 PM

MAJ USA Ret in Saint Louis said:

Just one more step toward complete collapse of the bedrock institution of social order: the family.
Slowly the homosexual revolution is destroying society one step at a time. Their advocates may sincerely believe their cause is just and righteous, but they have been deceived.
Three unequivocal, irrefutable and absolute witnesses testify no society can long endure without strong defense of the family. Those three witnesses are respectively: unequivocal science, irrefutable history, and absolute TRUTH Who is GOD.
Science is unequivocal. Homosexual conduct is without any favorable outcome to the preservation of the species. Only biological behavior that benefits the advancement of the individual and the species is of value. All else must stop else the species will suffer. This absence of favorable benefit leaves only an unfavorable outcome.
History is irrefutable. Across the centuries, around the world, among the vast variation of human societies that have come and gone there is only ONE standard that was common to all: the family with a man and woman as the parents. History records NO society that endured that did not also protect and favor the preservation of the family as the most ideal and foundational institution. What insanity caused us to even imagine this nation, or this self-exalted modern society, could be the very first in history to treat the human family as nothing more than a convenience for the purpose of mutual pleasure?
TRUTH is absolute. NONE of the world’s major religions endorse homosexual conduct, let alone “marriage.” Followers of Christ acknowledge that ALL of us were “born-that-way” – with sinful natures. But those who know Christ know He has forgiven, and more importantly, know He can change our behavior, permanently. No, the desires may never die completely, but we know He has changed us. Our response is to walk in Him and rejoice.
Let us stop the acrimony and lead with TRUTH. Repent, enjoy His love and rejoice!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 5:16 PM

BigMG in Podunk, US replied:

Which begs the obvious question:

Why aren't homosexual orgs demanding access to Al Queda?

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 6:41 AM

BigMG in Podunk, US said:

This hasn't been the Boy Scouts for some time now. Radical elements push society into accepting and backing attacks upon institutions in order to infiltrate them.

At this point Scouting is given a Hobson's choice where they can either capitulate and be destroyed from within; or resist, and be destroyed by the lawyers.

Of course, public support for the Boy Scouts is collapsing and they are being hollowed out from within, thanks to the incessant disinformation campaign being waged by the Media.

So, we need to ask ourselves, "How many more boys can we save from the fire before the building completely collapses?" This is not an issue whether we can 'save' the Boy Scouts, but the individual boy.

How long can we preserve any integrity therein before the masses destroy it is up to the dwindling remnant.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 6:37 AM

Graham in TX said:

Why does this decision change anything about the BSA aside from allowing more people to join a great organization? It seems silly to damn the whole organization simply because it's opening its doors to more people.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 10:42 AM

Ted R. Weiland in Nebraska said:

"Scouts and scouting families must search their hearts and find the courage of their convictions to decide if they are going to stay and fight to try and resurrect the BSA [AT THE COST OF POSSIBLY ENDANGERING THEIR CHILDREN?] -- or if it's time to take a hike from scouting for good."

What is their to decide? This is NOT a difficult decision--not if you love and fear Yahweh, God of the Bible, above everything else. And parents need to make this decision so that their children can see it's a "nobrainer." To Yahweh, sodomy is a capital crime (Leviticus 20:13). Consequently, this decision should be no more difficult than if the Boy Scouts were opening their doors to self-professed murderers.

"The Boy Scouts of America are being pressured by today’s perverse society to renounce their long-standing policy and allow sodomites to join. This would not even be a consideration if this organization were still truly righteous. [Now that they have changed] their policy to accommodate homosexuals, they ... find themselves fulfilling King Solomon’s proverb:

'Like a trampled spring and a polluted well is a righteous man who gives way before the wicked.' (Proverbs 25:26)...."

For more, see "Will the Boy Scouts Fawn at the Feet of the Wicked?" at http://www.constitutionmythbusters.org/will-the-boy-scouts-fawn-at-the-feet-of-the-wicked/.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 1:30 PM