The Right Opinion

Boy Scouts: A Disheartening Betrayal

By Rebecca Hagelin · Jun. 3, 2013

This past week has been pretty devastating for me as a long-time supporter of the Boy Scouts. My own two sons grew up in Scouting, and, with their hard work and encouragement from my wonderful husband who was a Scout Master, they both achieved the rank of Eagle Scout.

I treasure the time our family spent involved in Scouting – and always will. My heart is broken to realize that the finest institution for young men our country has ever known has grown cowardly, disappearing into the great vast wasteland that is modern popular culture.

The recent decision by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America to allow “openly gay” youth to become members of the Boy Scouts was nothing short of a betrayal – a betrayal not only of the values scouting has represented for decades but also of the families whose support for the Scouts has spanned generations.

The roughly 1200 delegates who voted on the proposal represent but a fraction of the Boy Scouts' membership. Their decision was not motivated by a strong and insistent clamor from their membership to change things. It was brought about by the strong-arm pressure tactics of the homosexual lobby, using the contrived protests of a few members for symbolic effect.

Council members assert the fiction that their decision is not a statement about the morality of homosexuality, but merely a compassionate decision to open wide the doors of scouting to even boys that reject scouting's core values.

The blunt reality is that young boys who “come out” are implicitly, and perhaps explicitly, embracing a whole set of “givens” that conflict with the Scouts' promise of being morally straight. And the moral standards the scouts proclaim on paper will be drowned out by the homosexual advocacy that comes with being “out.”

Does anyone really think that the homosexual pressure groups are going to stop with the admission of kids who declare their homosexuality? Of course not.

Contrary to public perception, the proposal to admit adult homosexuals into leadership was not voted down, it was simply not voted upon. It's just been taken off the table for now, in a nod to the incremental approach.

The Scouts have lost any coherence in their original mission and message. It's worth noting that the law does NOT require the change in Scouts' policy: the ban on homosexual members was upheld as constitutional by the Supreme Court, which affirmed the right of the Boy Scouts to remain true to their mission and decide, on a principled basis, who may become a member of their group.

How ironic: After years of successful battles to maintain timeless principles, the BSA has fallen by their own hand.

How to Save Your Family: Embrace Courage, not Appeasement

Some argue that the Boy Scouts' decision was inevitable, a reality-driven move in light of declining corporate contributions (again, because of pressure tactics), shrinking membership numbers, and changing public positions on homosexuality.

Those are weak, unprincipled positions not worthy of the Boy Scouts I knew. Just when our culture needs courageous voices to uphold traditional standards of morality, the Boy Scouts have chosen instead to appease the insatiable demands of homosexual pressure groups. They have decided to teach our children that political expediency matters more than principle.

So what to do?

Scouts and scouting families must search their hearts and find the courage of their convictions to decide if they are going to stay and fight to try and resurrect the BSA – or if it's time to take a hike from scouting for good. No amount of political pressure or million dollar publicity campaigns can change the fact that homosexual behavior is neither “morally straight” nor personally liberating, and we need to continue to make that case whether in or out of the organization.

And all parents should use this sad moment to explain to young people, in particular, that the freedoms we hold dear will not survive if the moral fabric of our country continues to crumble.

As those of us who have left scouting and now mourn the death of the BSA, let's bind up our broken hearts and resolve to continue to honor the many leaders, families and churches who worked so hard over the years to build the character of young men through scouting.

And to all former scouts – especially the Eagles – I urge you to write down your own treasured scouting memories so that you can share with your own kids one day what it was like when the Boy Scouts of America stood for principle and truth.

RIP, BSA.

Appeal_patriots_day_4

View all comments

85 Comments

wjm in Colorado said:

And so it goes with the marxist statist aberrant filth. Scouting is dead, and if these traitors are not stopped, so is America.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:19 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

is your religion bigotry? i think it must be.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:10 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

What is yours Sodomite love fest? I recognize aberrant behavior, and just because the marxist statist faggot lovers rewrite some books and call a turd a rose, the stench remains. What I am not is homophobic, I fear them not, and I recognize they exist and I live and let live. What I am not is PC, and I will not be terrorized by a group of immorral and aberrant filth that would force their abberation into organizations founded on ideals that don't recognize immorral and aberrant behavior as right and just. That is not biggotry, that is FREEDOM. Take your biggotry and sodomize yourself with it.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:55 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

wjm, look in a mirror and you'll see aberrant behavior. you use gay slurs and deny being homophobic? get real. you are ultra homophobic and a disgrace for using those slurs. there's finally going to be freedom in the boy scouts. they voted to lift the hideous bigoted ban and because you're a bigot to the extreme you just can't take it.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:44 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

You will rot in hell, and I fear no queer. I don' t use slurs, but will call out what I see clearly, that anyone who supports aberant behavior is a deluded fool at best, and criminially insane at the worst. Which is it for you mark? You get real. You have no ability to diferenciate between freedom and tyranny, may your chains lay lightly on you. I can take it, I just find it abhorent that their are people of your ilk able to vote for the destruction of the Country. Since when is being heterosexual happily married aberrant? Go to hell sodomite lover. Mark, I hope never to have the pleasure of a personal meeting with you. Hope you don't get aids from one of your sycophants.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:54 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

you used hateful slurs here. do you live in an alternate universe? domestic partnerships are legal in Colorado, aren't they? that must make you miserable because you are such a bigot.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:11 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Mark, so sad, it must be hard to get through life being such and idiot. You only deserve derision for your delusion. I am quite happy, I would be miserable if I thought I had to be PC and a slave to tryanny, but that is not the case, I live free and will die a free man, you, enjoy your slavery.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 3:43 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Mark in Charlotte,

Shouldn't you call yourself Charlotte in Mark? Fudge packers are boys who feel like girls inside.

You and your kind are part of the problem. Don't you know that until the American Psychiatric Association was pressured by those gender disoriented groups, their list of diagnoses included homosexuality. It is still a mental disorder no matter what you think you were born with.

Until those of you with gender disorientation realize your mental pathology, stop trying to interfere with American traditions like the Boy Scouts.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 7:20 PM

Doktor Riktor Von Zhades in Western KY said:

This is a victory for the left, a significant one. As the author of this piece has stated there will be incremental challenges and changes to the BSA from an organization that teaches the traditional values of duty to God, country, family, and stress that is the individual that makes it all happen to the betterment of all involved. What will we see in the future? In all probability a twisted Marxist dream by using the BSA indoctrinate kids.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:23 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

another liar.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:09 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Another idiot....

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:56 PM

Howard Last in Wyoming said:

As a former Scout and presently a Scout Leader I share your disgust. Right now I am weighing my options. Yesterday I attended an Eagle Court of Honor. I wonder how many more of these there will be?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:36 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

you should be disgusted by putting you own extreme bigotry above all else.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:47 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

I am disgusted by aberrant filth.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 3:46 PM

Chuck Anziulewicz in Spring Hill, West Virginia, USA said:

I'm Gay and I was in the Boy Scouts. My troop was sponsored by St. Raphael's Catholic Church in Potomac, Maryland. Admittedly this was back in the late 1960s to early 1970s, when the modern Gay rights movement was in its infancy, and the prospect of Gay youth "coming out" was unthinkable. But the fact remains that my sexual orientation was irrelevant to scouting activities, and I imagine the same went for the majority of boys who were Straight (i.e. heterosexual). The official Boy Scout Handbook was not heterocentric. The issue of sexual orientation, one way or another, was simply irrelevant.

Gay boys and men have always participated in the BSA and always will, regardless of the official policy. I'm just glad the when boys in the scouts start coming to grips with a different sexual orientation (usually while in their early teens), they will not be kicked out when they need that social support structure the most.

This is not to say that individual Boy Scouts, regardless of their sexual orientation, shouldn't be held accountable for inappropriate behavior. They should be. But sexual orientation in and of itself should not be a barrier to scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:46 AM

wjm in Colorado replied:

You sick faggots just don't get it. Scouting doesn't abide aberrant behavior. If you want inclusion in your own soddomite saddle tramp organization, then form one, but the Boy Scouts are Morally Straight! You should have learned better in your scouting experience, but like most abberant filth, feelings trump what is right. You are a sick individual.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 10:22 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

wjm, you are the sick one, a hateful bigot.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 10:58 AM

Bob in Austin, Tx replied:

Mark, not bowing to the gaystopo and accepting abnormal and abhorrent behavior as "OK and normal" does not a bigot make.

Look in the mirror to the the bigot and hater.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 11:38 AM

mark in charlotte replied:

being gay is natural and normal. you didn't just skip church, bob, but you skipped science class too.

bob, you sir have are consumed in hatred and recbecca, your hate article is a primary reason for this hatred.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:08 PM

DJ in Phoenix, AZ replied:

Point 1: To say that "being gay is natural" is to suggest that being attracted to the same sex in a specific species, is always an Innate goal option that occurs instinctually and without effort. It is not. It can (and does in my opinion) happen "naturally" in a developmental anomaly, such as hermaphroditism or mutationally, in examples of genetically feminine males or genetically masculine women. BUT this is not "natural by design" but rather genetic mutation. ALL species, by design require procreation to advance their kind. If it were "natural to be gay" this would cease.
Point 2: To say "being gay is normal" is to say the above AND it's the way it should be. It is neither. "Normal" is NOT defined by social acceptance patterns or prevalence in society, BUT rather... BY PHYSIOLOGIC DESIGN! It is NOT a "normal design" to be gay. ALL species that adhered to this would die out.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 3:23 PM

Orf in Pittsburgh replied:

Charlotte in Mark,

Being queer is as natural as sheep humping, which you no doubt practice. What don't you understand about the term "gender disorientation?" It's what you got, idiot!

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 7:47 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Freedom is not biggotry Mark, The Boy Scouts do not recognize aberrant behavior, and should not be forced to do so, that is Tyranny. You have no clue. I don't hate anyone, well, maybe marxist statist traitors.....

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:59 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

wjm, you are full of extreme hate. you are free to join the bigot scouts of america.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:49 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Mark, last time I checked I was in perfect health, what stage of AIDS are you experiencing?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:57 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

no stage. you're not in perfect healthy. you are riddled with bigotry and hate.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:08 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

You are a deluded fool. You maintain your treason and you and your ilk will be riddled, guranteed.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 3:51 PM

Dan in New York replied:

There is no need for us to start another BSA. The BSA has changed it's stance on gay kids, and we all know that it will do the same with adults in the near future.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:34 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

The only people that will be left in the BSA will be gays, evil filth who have ruined a once great organization.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 10:41 AM

Dan in New York replied:

Most of the church's that host the BSA, like the Mormons, Catholics and Methodists have decided to remain.

You may think of them as "evil" if you like, but like most human institutions, there are good and bad tendencies in everyone.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 7:05 PM

mark in charlotte said:

the boy scouts should have gone farther and allowed gay adults. gays have long been the victims of unjust bigotry and hatred.

now hateful parents and churches are abandoning the scouts and they say its not because of hate. are you kidding me? its deep, extreme hatred against gay people.

you, rebecca, are a ultra radical hatemonger.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 10:56 AM

PH in DE said:

What I want to know is how did those men on the BSA Board get their positions and keep them when they obviously do not believe in the Boy Scouts or the Scout Oath and Laws they are pledged to follow and uphold? They have destroyed the Scouts by pushing this mistaken vote on the membership, when only a year or so ago it was affirmed that BSA must stay with his traditional principles.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:12 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

ph in de, where did you get your hateful bigotry from?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:16 PM

carl fleece in fort worth, tx replied:

you obviously do not know what scouting is all about, so please do not comment further

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:05 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

you obviously don't know another. in your mind, its bigotry above all else. a couple of my good friends earned eagle scout and more were close. i could have been in scouting but i was busy with other interests.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:51 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Do your interrests include the Communist Manifesto? Rules for Radicals? The Communist Party of America? By your opinions you show your true colors traitor.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:59 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

communist, hardly. 2/3 of my votes are for democrats and a full 1/3 have been for republicans.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:05 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Thanks for proving my suspicions, in voting Democrat, you vote with the Communist Party of America. You are a traitor. I further suspect the Republicans were Rinos, who attempted to compromise with the traitors, which makes them traitors as well. Pathetic mindless fool

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 3:58 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

haha how on earth does treating treating not-straight people with a level of dignity and respect make someone a Communist? Do you understand what these words mean?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:49 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

You should be hospitalized for your level of incomprehension.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 10:45 AM

mark in charlotte said:

rebecca, you are adept at spreading extreme hatred and bigotry. it is still a very scary time for my gay friends with such blatant hatred and discrimination. why not form your own scounts if you hate the boy scouts so much? there's several bigots posting here who would gladly join. you can call them the bigoted scouts of america or something.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:15 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

Mark, you are adept in cluelessness, and can't see the difference in liberty of the Souting system, and the tryanny of being forced to accept those who don't abide by those principals. If you queer lovers want to go camping, form your own organization of abberant values, the GIBLET Adventurers or something, leave Souting to those who accept their own values unintruded upon by tryanny.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:08 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

you form your own organization or join a hate organization. you are full of hate and you and your ilk are the ones pushing politics and discrimination.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:58 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

If I and many others formed a new Scouting Organizaiton, you queer lovers would try and invade that too, wouldn't you? Go to hell.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:02 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

go form your own organization. what would your activities be line. see how many gay people you could make fun of in a day? see how many times you could lie in a day? i promise i will stay away and keep my kids away if i have any.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 2:20 PM

wjm in Colorado replied:

If you value your life you would definetely stay away from me, My tollerance for the stupid gets used up real quick.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:01 PM

Sue in Barrington, IL said:

As a scouters for the past 30 years, I am extremely upset with the stand BSA has taken. I see a youth protection nightmare ahead of us. Sex and politics do not belong in Scouting. We are in the business of developing our youth into strong leaders for tomorrow, teaching skills, providing experiences that can be had nowhere else. It is a travesity the vocal lobby of a few and the weak knees of the voting members dovetailed into what I hope is not a fatal blow to the organization I hold so dear.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 12:52 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

sue, you are the one putting the most radical form of politics in scouting. blinded by hatred and bigotry, falsely claiming that gay people will attack your children. i'm not gay but i know plenty of gay people. none attack anybody, but over half have been made fun of and some have been threated.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:55 PM

Sue in Barrington, IL replied:

It is such a shame that the response to a comment such as mine has to be that I embody hatred and prejudice. And if you truly knew scouting you would understand youth protection. It is limitations such as yours that has brought us to where we are now. Hatred and bigotry are not in my makeup. Those are characteristics you are ascribing with out knowing me and that is the greatest sin of all.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 9:18 PM

Eagle Scoutmaster in USA replied:

Unfortunately it will only be a short time until some Gay scouts turn 18 and become Gay Scouters. There will be no way to stop this given the events and people surrounding the recent decision to allow gay scouts.

The BSA has truly lost its direction and will crumble over the next few years as it is molded by destructive forces.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 8:05 PM

carl fleece in fort worth, tx said:

was a scout for several years, was the Scribe in troop 201, and will send all my medals back if I can find them

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:03 PM

mark in charlotte replied:

to you, hatred are bigotry and more important than scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:56 PM

Bob in Austin, Tx replied:

Protecting young boys from gay predators or fom gay recruitment is what's right. Face it, your bigoted hatred of what's normal and good is pathetic.

Gay troll

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 11:09 PM

Willard in Toledo replied:

Homosexuality is wrong. It doesn't matter how many times homosexuals shout scream and proclaim that homosexuality is good right and normal, it will never be so. It is an unnatural thing to be a homosexual. If you are a homosexual I suggest you keep yourself in the closet instead of in people's faces with you gay filth and perversion.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013 at 12:03 AM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Go for it. You obviously show none of the values of a Scout to begin with.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:54 PM

Brandy Elkins in Harvest, Al said:

While I am saddened about the new policy the BSA is about to enact, I as a parent of one Eagle Scout, a current Boy Scout and a Cub Scout will remember that this program and what it offers my sons far outweighs the on going politics. This is the time when we need to band together the most, so that scouting and all of the good things it offers our young men continues. All the back biting about scouting being dead ect... All that does is play into those who would like to see scouting gone for good. Now we need to remember scouting is about the boys and not some political thing. So if you are disappointed about something in scouting, use your editorials to help scouting not to condemn it for there are still many fine scouters out there doing their jobs ever day, to make sure my sons learn what it is to be strong principaled young men and carry on the tradition of scouting.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 1:40 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Would you not consider one of the good things it offers to be support for young men who are figuring out who they are?

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:54 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia said:

It's pretty disgusting that this is what scouting has become. Everyone should be accepted for who they are, even if the idea of same sex lovemaking frightens you so. Grow up, America.

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:22 PM

Leaping Spark in Brandon said:

Communism has finally taken the boy scouts. They are now going to be taught that Homosexuality, Perversion, Promiscuity, and all forms of evil and deviant behavior are both normal and acceptable.
Wonder what kind of merit badge they will get for being good little commie rump rangers!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:43 PM

Carter Davis in Caledonia replied:

Thank you, Leapman, for bringing your aggressive, crass hatred into this forum!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 4:51 PM

MAJ USA Ret in Saint Louis said:

Just one more step toward complete collapse of the bedrock institution of social order: the family.
Slowly the homosexual revolution is destroying society one step at a time. Their advocates may sincerely believe their cause is just and righteous, but they have been deceived.
Three unequivocal, irrefutable and absolute witnesses testify no society can long endure without strong defense of the family. Those three witnesses are respectively: unequivocal science, irrefutable history, and absolute TRUTH Who is GOD.
Science is unequivocal. Homosexual conduct is without any favorable outcome to the preservation of the species. Only biological behavior that benefits the advancement of the individual and the species is of value. All else must stop else the species will suffer. This absence of favorable benefit leaves only an unfavorable outcome.
History is irrefutable. Across the centuries, around the world, among the vast variation of human societies that have come and gone there is only ONE standard that was common to all: the family with a man and woman as the parents. History records NO society that endured that did not also protect and favor the preservation of the family as the most ideal and foundational institution. What insanity caused us to even imagine this nation, or this self-exalted modern society, could be the very first in history to treat the human family as nothing more than a convenience for the purpose of mutual pleasure?
TRUTH is absolute. NONE of the world’s major religions endorse homosexual conduct, let alone “marriage.” Followers of Christ acknowledge that ALL of us were “born-that-way” – with sinful natures. But those who know Christ know He has forgiven, and more importantly, know He can change our behavior, permanently. No, the desires may never die completely, but we know He has changed us. Our response is to walk in Him and rejoice.
Let us stop the acrimony and lead with TRUTH. Repent, enjoy His love and rejoice!

Monday, June 3, 2013 at 5:16 PM

BigMG in Podunk, US replied:

Which begs the obvious question:

Why aren't homosexual orgs demanding access to Al Queda?

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 6:41 AM

BigMG in Podunk, US said:

This hasn't been the Boy Scouts for some time now. Radical elements push society into accepting and backing attacks upon institutions in order to infiltrate them.

At this point Scouting is given a Hobson's choice where they can either capitulate and be destroyed from within; or resist, and be destroyed by the lawyers.

Of course, public support for the Boy Scouts is collapsing and they are being hollowed out from within, thanks to the incessant disinformation campaign being waged by the Media.

So, we need to ask ourselves, "How many more boys can we save from the fire before the building completely collapses?" This is not an issue whether we can 'save' the Boy Scouts, but the individual boy.

How long can we preserve any integrity therein before the masses destroy it is up to the dwindling remnant.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 6:37 AM

Graham in TX said:

Why does this decision change anything about the BSA aside from allowing more people to join a great organization? It seems silly to damn the whole organization simply because it's opening its doors to more people.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 at 10:42 AM