Tom Fitton / January 11, 2016

Retrieved Emails Show Top Clinton Aide Prioritized Advertising Design over the Deaths of U.S. Personnel in Benghazi

As noted above, this week the State Department Office of Inspector General report confirms that the State Department under Hillary Clinton knowingly violated the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) by hiding Hillary Clinton’s emails and the emails of her top staff — including Cheryl Mills. What was the Clinton gang trying to hide?

As noted above, this week the State Department Office of Inspector General report confirms that the State Department under Hillary Clinton knowingly violated the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) by hiding Hillary Clinton’s emails and the emails of her top staff — including Cheryl Mills. What was the Clinton gang trying to hide?

Well, this week we alerted the world to new State Department emails in which then-Clinton Chief of Staff Cheryl Mills quickly moves past condolences over the slaying of Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens to focus her attention on the design of her private company’s logo by a prominent international advertising firm — GSD&M. Incredibly, these emails were written 24 hours after the Benghazi terrorist attacks!

Once again, it was Judicial Watch’s Freedom of Information (FOIA) litigation against the State Department that forced Mills and other Clinton aides to turn over emails from the non-State.gov accounts they improperly used to conduct government business.

The emails, obtained under a court order in a JW lawsuit, reference the logo design for the “cdmillsGroup,” a private company set up by Mills on January 3, 2013, a month before she left her job at the State Department. The Mills “cdmillsGroup” logo discussion includes another government employee, Jean-Louis Warnholz, then-State Department senior advisor to Hillary Clinton. (Warnholz would go on to be a business partner with Mills in another company.)

The Judicial Watch lawsuit was filed on September 4, 2014, seeking:

  • All records related to notes, updates, or reports created in response to the September 11, 2012 attack on the U.S. Consulate in Benghazi, Libya. This request includes, but is not limited to, notes taken by then Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton or employees of the Office of the Secretary of State during the attack and its immediate aftermath.

On September 13, 2012, at 4:31 p.m., Judy Trabulsi, a co-founder of the GSD&M advertising firm, sent Mills the following email:

Cheryl — I haven’t stopped watching the news and my heart breaks for Ambassador Stevens’ family, for Hillary (and you) and all those who worked with him. What an amazing life he lived and he had to be among the best Ambassadors in the Foreign Service.

I was going to give you the printouts of the new logos tomorrow (I think they are great) but thought you’d like to look at them over the weekend.

Sending a “heart hug” to you.

Much love — Judy

Trabulsi also attached for Mills another email describing proposed logos:

The first has the cdmillsGroup logo in the sans-serif and the second has it in the serif font. Adjusted the burnt orange color to be more accurate. Both pdfs show the logo, letterhead, business card and envelope. The tag line is printed like a watermark on the letterhead. In addition, as we discussed, you’ll find the “double-globe endeavor branding element” used on a brochure cover and two powerpoint slides. Don’t hesitate to email me back with any questions.

Mills responded to Trabulsi on September 13, 2012,  at 11:32 p.m.:

Dear Judy

The bough bent and nearly broke this week — Chris was truly one of our best — HRC had picked him especially to go b/c of who he was and what he represented. And Sean was a rising star. Tomorrow we will welcome their remains home wondering how this would be possible. Thank you for your kind words. And thanks for these — I really like them.

I think my preference is the one that is sans serif font. I will scan some comments on them this weekend — I think it’s exactly what I would want so would have only a few tweaks. Thank you so very much.

Mills also forwarded the logo discussion to Jean-Louis Warnholz that night without comment. Warnholz, a senior advisor to Mrs. Clinton at the State Department, responded the next day, September 14, 2012, at 1:06 p.m.:

I really like the cdmillsGroup in sans serif font (first attachment) with the slogan. It’s clean and compelling. I still have reservations about the two globes. It just feels a bit too generic to me.

Separate Judicial Watch FOIA litigation uncovered documents that show that Cheryl Mills used the cdmillsGroup to represent Hillary Clinton in communications with the State Department about Mrs. Clinton’s separate email system.

The cdmillsGroup is apparently still in business. The Hillary For America campaign’s September 3 FEC disbursement report lists a $28,500 payment to the “CdmillsGroup LLC.”

I’ve previously reported to you about documents we released revealing that between 2009 and 2011 former President Clinton spoke to more than two dozen leading international investment firms and banking institutions, many of them on more than one occasion. At least one of the documents shows that Mills used a non-governmental email account for the Clinton ethics reviews. Mills reportedly negotiated the “ethics agreement” on behalf of the Clintons and the Foundation that required the Clintons to submit to rigorous conflict-of-interest checks. Despite this, and in apparent violation of Obama administration ethics rules, the documents reveal that Bill Clinton’s requests for speaking engagement approval were invariably copied to Mills, who was involved in ethics reviews as chief of staff for Mrs. Clinton at the State Department.

The Washington Post reported that Mills was unpaid for her first few months at the State Department and “officially designated as a temporary expert-consultant — a status that allowed her to continue to collect outside income while serving as chief of staff.” (In fact, we just filed a FOIA lawsuit for the ethics and employment records of Cheryl Mills and Huma Abedin, another longtime and ethically challenged Clinton aide.)

These new Benghazi emails are almost obscene. That Hillary Clinton aide and confidante Cheryl Mills was focused on the font for the logo of her new company — as our Benghazi facility was still smoldering — is unconscionable. And it is no coincidence that Mills used her new business to help Hillary Clinton cover up her email scandal.

Thankfully, Fox News and other media outlets covered our latest find. We expect more emails on Benghazi next week, so stay tuned.

Start a conversation using these share links:

Who We Are

The Patriot Post is a highly acclaimed weekday digest of news analysis, policy and opinion written from the heartland — as opposed to the MSM’s ubiquitous Beltway echo chambers — for grassroots leaders nationwide. More

What We Offer

On the Web

We provide solid conservative perspective on the most important issues, including analysis, opinion columns, headline summaries, memes, cartoons and much more.

Via Email

Choose our full-length Digest or our quick-reading Snapshot for a summary of important news. We also offer Cartoons & Memes on Monday and Alexander’s column on Wednesday.

Our Mission

The Patriot Post is steadfast in our mission to extend the endowment of Liberty to the next generation by advocating for individual rights and responsibilities, supporting the restoration of constitutional limits on government and the judiciary, and promoting free enterprise, national defense and traditional American values. We are a rock-solid conservative touchstone for the expanding ranks of grassroots Americans Patriots from all walks of life. Our mission and operation budgets are not financed by any political or special interest groups, and to protect our editorial integrity, we accept no advertising. We are sustained solely by you. Please support The Patriot Fund today!

★ PUBLIUS ★

“Our cause is noble; it is the cause of mankind!” —George Washington

The Patriot Post is protected speech, as enumerated in the First Amendment and enforced by the Second Amendment of the Constitution of the United States of America, in accordance with the endowed and unalienable Rights of All Mankind.

Copyright © 2021 The Patriot Post. All Rights Reserved.

The Patriot Post does not support Internet Explorer. We recommend installing the latest version of Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, or Google Chrome.